1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM][ALPHA] CyanogenMod 10 for the LG Connect 4G MS840

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PlayfulGod, Mar 7, 2013.

  1. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    DISCLAIMER: This is a CUSTOM' ROM! Use at YOUR OWN RISK!!! By using this ROM, you understand that that I am not liable for any or all consequences of using this ROM. If you don't know what you're doing, DON'T TRY IT. Use at your own risk!

    Here ya go folks, CyanogenMod 10 for the LG Connect!!! Well, let's be honest, unless you're living under a rock, you probably know what Android 4.1 (Jellybean) is. Furthermore, you should know what the CyanogenMod project is. However, if a rock is really your home and you'd like to learn more, please visit their site: CyanogenMod | Android Community Rom based on Jelly Bean

    Version: 20130312
    Developer(s): PlayfulGod
    Description: CyanogenMod 10 for the LG Connect
    Source: github
    Forum: Unleashed Prepaids
    Wiki: Wiki - Will be updated first!!! ;)
    Status: ALPHA

    Note:
    These builds are not intended for daily use yet!! Use at your own RISK!!!


    CyanogenMod 10

    What is this?

    This is a build of the popular CyanogenMod 10 for the LG Connect 4G. This is built from source.

    People to Thank

    • koush - for his kickass recovery.
    • CyanogenMod - for the best ROM out.
    • tdm - for his kernel guru-ness.
    • stcarlso - for his mods to the lge-kernel-iproj src for the LGxx840.
    • adknight87 - for his dedication to trying to learning and work on this project and inspiring me to work on it.
    • jlede - for posting he boot.img he repacked. ;)
    • To anyone not mentioned!!
    • numerous testers - thanks for testing & keeping the faith. ;)
    • The Community in general, after all you all are why I do what I do. ;)
    • IRC - for the ongoing help and shared knowledge.
    • #oudhitsquad (Freenode)
    • #cyanogenmod-dev (Freenode)
    • #koush (Freenode)

    Whats Working?
    • Audio
    • Bluetooth
    • Wifi
    • Voice and text
    • Front & Rear camera
    • Data - for some, but not all... yet

    Whats Not Working?
    • Data
    • MMS
    • Video from Front camera

    Changelog
    • 03-07-2013
    • Initial Release

    Kernel
    • Source - [github]
    • Overclocked to 1.5Ghz

    Screenshots
    • N/A

    How do I install this?
    1. Download the .zip & copy to phone or sdcard (make sure 4g or wifi is enabled if dl'd from phone).
    2. Zip can be installed from either internal or external sd in CWM (Which ever you copied it too!)
    3. MAKE A BACKUP!!!
    4. DO A FACTORY RESET!!! - this will wipe data & cache!
    5. Go to install zip from sdcard
    6. Choose zip from sdcard
    7. Select cm-10-xxxxxxxxxx-UNOFFICIAL-cayman.zip
    8. Confirm
    9. Repeat Steps 5 -8 for gapps
    10. Reboot

    Downloads
     

    Advertisement

  2. jgarcia88

    jgarcia88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    130
    28
    43
    Orlando,Fl
    Can't wait for this to become fully functional!!!!! Thanks for all the hard work to everyone involved!!!!:D
     
  3. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    bout to grab some shut eye, but just got to figure out why its not booting with inline built kernel (looping at lg screen). My build boots with the boot.img from the zip jlede posted tho.
     
    webyrd and jlede like this.
  4. Adknight87

    Adknight87 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    185
    68
    63
    DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO

    I'm going to look at the changes and see how different they are.

    Anyways since I haven't met stcarlso I thank him/her greatly.

    and PG -flails like a dog- YAY!

    -ps theres no connect_defconfig on your git
     
    Shatterproof and bawlz mcnutt like this.
  5. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Your welcome pg I knew one day I would be helpful
     
  6. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    Thank you PlayfulGod, adknight, jlede and crew! Wish i could test this out, but at work with no root or CWM :( Anybody try this out yet?
     
  7. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Could some reupload this to drop box goo is really working for me
     
  8. carolcityboyz

    carolcityboyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    124
    31
    63
    Male
    Miami Gardens, FL
  9. jprosek

    jprosek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    86
    14
    18
    Cm 10... 0_o i had almost given up hope! Thanx pg! This may actually make the connect a great phone!
     
  10. bawlz mcnutt

    bawlz mcnutt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    92
    19
    18
    Good work getting a bootable CM10.

    After flashing the phone and rebooting, the screen went blank (turned off) for about a minute, which lead me to believe that something went wrong but then the boot logo appeared.

    Phone and Text seems works but its showing as connected to Verizon Wireless?

    Data doesn't seem to work.

    Gonna test some apps in a bit.

    Update: Tested a few apps (Final Fantasy 3, Rom Toolbox Pro and Plants Vs Zombies) so far they are working.

    I've also got a few random reboots (not sure what caused it)

    The Rom definitely has some kinks that need to be ironed out, but regardless good work getting this far with it, I'm seriously looking forward to the finished product.
     
  11. stcarlso

    stcarlso Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013

    Feb 26, 2013
    222
    90
    53
    That'll be my fault, as fbcbdb4ca339b049932272a01f933e1e3a5656a2 was no good and caused a bootloop. I reverted it on my github and it boots on a lucid again. I don't have a connect though so I can't vouch for whether it fixes this model.

    The version in my first test ROM that jlede linked was built on 36edc0c4ead2c94b1dea2f6376ff490029d5960b.
     
  12. XDieAndGoX

    XDieAndGoX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    142
    58
    73
    Unemployed u.u
    Doral, Fl
    Great job PG!! :):)

    I am just in the early stages of learning more about the Linux system, even more so now that I accidentally deleted my Windows 8 and recovery partitions and I am now stuck with Ubuntu. :p Well.. Kubuntu. Ubuntu is just.. too simple for me. Kubuntu is amazing though. I want to get used to it more since the few hours I spent with it, I simply loved it. I will, however, one day buy WIndows 8 (since the pre-installed version was from the OEM, and so.. yeah. e.e) I am short of money as of late. .-. So don't really have a choice, lol.

    Anyways, pretty nice work in porting CM, not 7, not 9, but 10! :D I will definitively help in making this ROM better by messing with it, of course, if PG does not mind.

    For instance, one thing I could easily fix was the keyboard not working. WIthout it, you just can't dow much. (You can't get one from the Play Store because you need to sign in, thus requiring typing.) I simply mounted my SD card to my PC, extracted the same keyboard I used on the BrokenOut ROM and installed it on CM10. I enabled the keyboard and switched it to be the default input method and it worked. SO, maybe it is not a huge OMG WOW fix, but its a little something. :)
     
  13. carolcityboyz

    carolcityboyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    124
    31
    63
    Male
    Miami Gardens, FL
    Camera device not found and data doesn't work. Phone and sms is ok, but mms fails cause of data.
     
  14. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    the kernel boots, its something in the ramdisk. I repacked the kernel I built with the ramdisk from jledes boot.img and it boots and everything but the camera work (back or front). Running a new build now after editing my boardconfig a lil.

    What did you do to get the back camera working??? And have yall got cm-10.1 booting yet??? I get:

    Code (Text):
    1. W/SurfaceFlinger(  205): Timed out waiting for hw vsync; faking it
    2. W/Adreno200-EGL(  205): <qeglDrvAPI_eglCreateSyncKHR:4739>: EGL_BAD_ATTRIBUTE
    3. E/SurfaceTexture(  205): [BootAnimation] syncForReleaseLocked: error creating EGL fence: 0x3004
    4. D/overlay (  205): FROM_STATE = OV_CLOSED TO_STATE = OV_BYPASS_1_LAYER
    5. E/hwcomposer(  205): ioctl MSMFB_BUFFER_SYNC failed, err=Invalid argument
    6. E/overlay (  205): Failed to call ioctl MSMFB_OVERLAY_PLAY err=Invalid argument
    7. E/overlay (  205): MdpData failed to play
    8. E/overlay (  205): == Dump MdpData start ==
    9. E/overlay (  205): == Dump OvFD fd=34 path=/dev/graphics/fb0 start/end ==
    10. E/overlay (  205): mOvData msmfb_overlay_data id=3
    11. E/overlay (  205): data msmfb_data offset=0 memid=29 id=0 flags=0x0 priv=0
    12. E/overlay (  205): == Dump MdpData end ==
    13. E/overlay (  205): OverlayImpl p0 failed to queueBuffer
    14. E/overlay (  205): Overlay queueBuffer failed
    15. E/hwcomposer(  205): draw: queueBuffer failed for external
    16. E/hwcomposer(  205): hwc_set_primary: MDPComp::draw fail!
    17.  
     
    webyrd likes this.
  15. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    umm keyboard worked fine for me. lol
     
  16. XDieAndGoX

    XDieAndGoX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    142
    58
    73
    Unemployed u.u
    Doral, Fl
    It did? For me, it continued to crash. It would start automatically, but then it would crash again. Of course, I did run the ROM after wiping data and cache. I have no idea what could have caused the default keyboard to crash. By the way, in JB devices, the keyboard still is a systm APK, right? Because when I looked at the system apps, I could not find (or figure out) which APK is the keyboard [AOSP] as it appears in the device input list.
     
  17. OrKo

    OrKo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,059
    108
    143
    Male
    I Cook
    Boynton Beach, Fl
    By Odin's beard! Figures a week after I get my Spirit lmfao! Congrats connect users, I may have to try this out on the connect before I sell it to my buddy at work.
     
  18. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Yea I had to use to enter my wifi ssid. yea its a system app, LatinIME.apk I believe it is.
     
  19. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Lol I can't unlock it due to the phone force closing any idea should I flash gapps to fix this
     
  20. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    shouldn't have too no. A fact reset should work tho ;)
     
  21. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    Mine wont connect to the normal network, for sms to work, just keeps saying searching for carrier. Should I try something?

    Edit: Seems like it keeps connecting to the network random times but disconnecting less than a second after. :eek:

    Is there anything you'd like us to test?
     
  22. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    That one I dunno, I've only tested it on my dev device which has no service.
     
  23. XDieAndGoX

    XDieAndGoX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    142
    58
    73
    Unemployed u.u
    Doral, Fl
    No signal here either when I used CM10. Weird thing is though.. I still have no signal even after I restored the backup I made priot to flashing. Now I am not sure if I had signal before the flash, but I cannot make calls, use data, or send texts on BrokenOut after I restored from being on CM10.
     
    tcerealk likes this.
  24. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Same here, I couldnt get any signal with CM10 but everything else looked great loL!! now that I restored my backup i cant get signal at all, I managed to get the 4g icon but no bars.

    EDIT:
    It looks like the APNs are all blank does anyone know the settings?
     
    tcerealk likes this.
  25. carolcityboyz

    carolcityboyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    124
    31
    63
    Male
    Miami Gardens, FL
    [​IMG]

    Calling and texting works for me, but the phone needs to find metro's network for data and mms to work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...