1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROM and recovery question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hortstu, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. hortstu

    hortstu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    548
    32
    68
    So I finally have the time to wipe and rerom. I'm still on clockwork. Switched to amon ra a long time ago, then read all the anti RA threads, apparently that's not the case anymore. Amon Ra is the preferred recovery. So i'm thinking I might as well make the switch while I do everything else.

    I'm in the process of doing all my backups, Ti, mybackup, a nandroid, a sync, save card to computer just in case...

    Then I figure I wipe a dozen times and use that wipe app or whatever it was. Need that link if anyone has it handy.

    Then flash the ROM... I'm just doing a reinstall of MikG...

    Then the kernel.

    Then the recovery.

    Then start reloading all the stuff I can't live without.

    Do I have the order right here?

    Any suggestions recomendations?

    I've done this a few times now but it's always at least a month apart from the last time so it isn't fresh in my mind. I know I can do it I just sweat losing something important.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    hortstu and ocnbrze like this.
  3. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    I would always flash the recovery first.. the reason being that your recover is where all your changes are being made... some alterations do not take with clockworkmod.
     
    hortstu and ocnbrze like this.
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah amon ra 2.3 just wipes way better then clockwork mod so it is better that you switch first, make a nandroid backup, wipe (dalvik cache, cache , and data), flash vr superwipe, then flash the rom and then finally the kernel.
     
    hortstu likes this.
  5. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Only thing I will add here is make sure you stay with Amon RA 2.3 and not Amon RA Syle 3.11 Some have had some issues restoring Nandroids from 3.11 now the nice thing about it is it compresses the nandroid so i hope they get the issues resolved for the next version.
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Haven't had any issues to speak of with 3.11.

    Any one see this? After I did a compressed backup, it was around 500mb, then I restored that compressed backup later in the week and when I went to see the size of the backup, it was back to its normal backup size, around 745mb:thinking:
     
  7. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp

    No I haven't. When I restored my nandriod the phone was acting like the first boot. I shut it back down cleared cache and dalvic then rebooted it then acted like a phone should act
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    So, you haven't seen this or you're not having this issue? I'm not going to use the compressed backup anyways since I don't keep nandroids around for very long and the 200mb difference isn't that big of a deal, imo. I was just curious if any others were seeing this.
     
  9. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp

    My bad no I haven't seen the issue with the compression issue you stated however when I restored I did not check the size
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I'm assuming its just to save time? Maybe its a bug I'm not sure.


    The file would have to be decompressed to restore your nandroid, and recompressing it after its finished would take a very long time.

    Just throwing thoughts out there
     
    argedion and andygu3 like this.
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    That's a good thought, thanks:)

    I guess then, what's the point of a compressed backup if it stays decompressed after restore, kinda defeats the purpose, imo.

    Oh, well, sorry to hijack the thread:)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...