1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Angry Bean / CM 10.1 [build 08.08.13]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chairshot215, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. karlyy7x

    karlyy7x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    56
    6
    16
    Female
    Student/Employed
    NYC
    This is probably a hardware issue but my screen is flickering. Like its not sure what brightness to keep the screen on. I rebooted but it's still there so it may be a hardware issue.
     

    Advertisement

  2. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    Mirage works too
     
  3. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    5/1/2013
    ∙ Major Overhaul to repo
    ∙ Tons of CM updates, and included stability
    ∙ Kernel revert to Dastin
    ∙ msm8660-common revert to Dastin

    Tons of updates to the CM code. Also reverted a lot of the repo's back to Dastin, and CM as more fixes have been added into the CM 10.1 branch.

    Enjoy :D
     
  4. mrbenji

    mrbenji Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    11
    18
    Male
    Thanks for all the hard work! Installing straight away.

    Would you mind letting us in on why you chose the kernel you did? I've been shopping around different kernels, and seem to have found a solid performer in mrg666's MiRaGe (I'm using his latest test kernel), but would be happy to test the current one you include if there's a significant difference vs. the previous one. My main concern is battery life... I'm willing to forgo some performance for the sake of battery life.

    Another question: on the previous build I still had to flash the WiMax log fix to avoid the shrinking internal storage issue.... does this build include any additional fixes for that issue, or is flashing the separate fix still advisable?

    Thanks again for providing such an awesome ROM.
     
    g60madman likes this.
  5. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Since CM has updated so much in the code, and we stopped working on the kernel so our variant kernel is somewhat behind. I am not sure the difference from one kernel to another. By all means test them up. I still need to fix the WiMax script it's jacked up and does nothing right now. It needs to run after the fact.

    On some positive notes one thing I have noticed if Video playback is damn near perfect. I have yet to find a video that doesn't work from all the recordings I have done be it from Harmonia, Mobstergunz ROM's or some CM variant. It's the first time I have experienced the Gallery actually working properly. Also the camera button works now from the main screen. May need to push it once or twice but it works without Gallery crashing like before.
     
    greg_t, NeoGraven and mrbenji like this.
  6. mrbenji

    mrbenji Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    11
    18
    Male
    TWIMC, after two unsuccessful attempts it appears that Angry Bean 05/01 doesn't play nice with the MiRaGe 04/30 test kernel -- I get stuck at the white "HTC" screen. I'll proceed with the included Angry Bean kernel for now.
     
  7. gothicnerd1033

    gothicnerd1033 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    583
    151
    93
    Male
    Philli, PA
    I believe the mirage kernel is ICS only. It wont work on an AOSP ROM.
     
  8. jonny30bass

    jonny30bass Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    40
    3
    16
    Male
    College
    How do u get WiFi tether to work for this ROM?
     
  9. mrbenji

    mrbenji Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    11
    18
    Male
    The latest official build of MiRaGe, as well as yesterday's test build, worked perfectly with the previous Angry Bean release, and there are reports of success on other AOSP ROMs.
     
    Anonymo likes this.
  10. gothicnerd1033

    gothicnerd1033 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    583
    151
    93
    Male
    Philli, PA
    I wasnt aware of this. Ill have to do more research next time. :p
     
  11. mrbenji

    mrbenji Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    11
    18
    Male
    It's built into the ROM. I enabled the Toggle WiFi AP icon in the Power Widget (Settings > System > Notification drawer > Widget buttons), then long pressed the icon to change the SSID, password, etc.
     
  12. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    mac kernel doesnt work anymore now either.
     
  13. EHokie

    EHokie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012

    Feb 20, 2012
    284
    47
    43
    Charlotte, NC
    Same issue with 4.2 test build of ButteredToast.
     
  14. greg_t

    greg_t Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012

    Dec 4, 2012
    15
    1
    36
    Should I do a clean install or can I just wipe cache and dalvik?
     
  15. Solomongrundy

    Solomongrundy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013

    Feb 5, 2013
    26
    0
    15
    Male
    For latest update, I would need to flash correct? I can't just copy some files or do an update?
     
  16. mrbenji

    mrbenji Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    11
    18
    Male
    Do you have the previous Angry Bean version? I had success just doing a standard recovery-based install, then flashing the VVM and Wi-Max log fix zips over that. I didn't even need to re-install gapps, although YMMV. The install wipes clash and dalvik for you.
     
  17. greg_t

    greg_t Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012

    Dec 4, 2012
    15
    1
    36
    Yes, I do have the previous version. I guess I'll do nand backup and try to just do install+vvm+wimax and hopefully that will be all that I need :)
     
  18. Solomongrundy

    Solomongrundy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013

    Feb 5, 2013
    26
    0
    15
    Male
    I am going to flash the updated ROM, but I am running a Titanium back up. Restoring apps/data should work right?
     
  19. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
    Yes if you're talking about User Apps. Not sure what you're experience is but be careful about restoring any System Apps (usually listed in red in TB) unless you're confident you know what you're doing.

    If you have the paid version of TB you can create an update.zip and flash your user apps in recovery rather than one by one.
     
  20. Solomongrundy

    Solomongrundy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013

    Feb 5, 2013
    26
    0
    15
    Male
    Yea I created the update.zip. I would never restore system apps, just my user apps I downloaded/installed after the initial ROM flashing.
     
  21. bhoff15226

    bhoff15226 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    64
    12
    18
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Im having sms trouble. I was having it with the 4/9 version, and still with the new 5/1. I can send texts to people. They receive them, but I don't receive any. Any ideas? I wiped my phone clean before installing the 5/1 version today.
     
  22. bhoff15226

    bhoff15226 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    64
    12
    18
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I also have never been able to get voicemail app working. Did I do something wrong?
     
  23. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have had several SMS and text messages with my Wife today. Also just left myself a voicemail and it came right through. All I did was a full wipe of all partitions (except SD) and then installed ROM, Gapps, reboot (setup everything) Reboot back to recovery and flashed the VVM fix. Rebooted wait a few seconds to make sure the initial network VMM works. Then rebooted back to recovery and flashed the VVM fix again. Rebooted and checked to make sure the app was black and everything is working.
     
  24. bhoff15226

    bhoff15226 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    64
    12
    18
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Funny thing is, I did all that, and the VVM turned black, but still wouldn't pick up voicemails. I flashed another rom and got 27 text messages in a row. I am going to wipe all partitions again, and try the rom now. I love this rom. I hope it works! Thanks for everything that you do, btw.
     
    g60madman likes this.
  25. bhoff15226

    bhoff15226 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    64
    12
    18
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Update: Everything is working fine. Thanks again for a great rom g60!
     
    trilap5e likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...