1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM]AOSP ShiftTh3ory

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yeahha, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    Advertisement

  2. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    To answer Worm's question, how the heck should we know?? It's so confusing. Nonetheless, what I did was backup my perfectly fine running rom and completely wipe to install Shift. I'll do the mods from a clean system. Restoring apps now, back in a bit.
     
  3. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Well that wasn't needed as he said in his thread if you're coming from one of my AOSP ROMs you don't need to wipe data.
     
  4. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Just saw that this second. But I had so much junk flashed and flashed over I figured what the heck. TiB makes easy work of it. Email app is crashing, got to figure that one out now.
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    It's a known issue and he'll be fixing it shortly. It looks like he forgot to sign it
     
  6. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Saw he said that about Gmail, not sure if he meant the Email app too. Posted on xda, he'll fix it before I go on vaca in 3 hours!! Yeah, mountains, hiking, ProTourChallenge viewing. Oh yeah, and drinking. Day drinking. ;)
     
  7. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    He said if you can't wait to just flash gapps. Sounds like fun. I like any excuse to day drink
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    My excuse is usually I'm awake lol. Getting ready to flash this now my battery has been horrid today 80% loss in 2 hours
     
  9. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Wow, that is awful. Is something running in the background?
     
  10. ahoogst

    ahoogst Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    205
    37
    43
    Woah this is starting to get ridiculous. How does DT have so much time to work on all this? Is shift still using the eclipse kernel? I've been getting pretty good battery life on 1.5X.
     
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Not that I could tell. I never got around to removing comp cache but usually that doesn't affect battery life. My battery could have gone bad, if so that would make 2 of us here who had issues with batteries on burnt (hope that would just be by chance)

    Fashed over to Shift and got a random reboot, flashed to IMO's .8, I have never had luck with Tiamat's kernels and they always give me reboots. Noticed Theory said he doesn't overclock and Tiamat's kernel worked best for him so I am thinking it may be an overclocking issue :thinking: Overall nice rom, everything seems smooth, can't wait until I can get the burnt mod installed, last I checked it wasn't available.
     
  12. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Check again ;)
     
    Yeahha likes this.
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Good I have something to do when I get off work now..if my phone isn't dead. My kids were whiny today so I didn't have too much free time to mess around on my phone.
     
  14. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Burn Ignition still has the transparent menu bug (google maps, handcent black theme). DT said he'll look into it.

    Anyone successfully blocked ads on this? I've never been able to block ads on any AOSP ROM. Even though AdFree tells me I'm "ad free and my hosts are up to date" Not a big deal, just annoying
     
  15. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    WormDoes likes this.
  16. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    So what is included in the mods? Are they like themes?
     
  17. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Thanks, it looks as though it doesn't work properly yet. The OP said he's 50% done with a GUI app of the script so I'll wait for that. It appears a number of people are having issues with AdFree
     
  18. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Yea, basically. The "burn ignition" essentially turns shift into burn theory
     
  19. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    What do they day about people that keep trying the same thing and expect different results? Tiamat just does not work on my phone. I am using the modified 3.5.11 that has the wifi fix. I did not see noticeably better battery life with 3.5.8, so I am going to go with the latest.
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    The last time AdFree worked for me was october of last year :cool:

    Well no two phones are built alike, some can handle lower voltages than others and higher clock speeds. Tiamat may work well on my phone if I don't OC but I can't not OC :D and I can't live with reboots randomly either. I am using a unmodified 3.5.8 (or it could be the modified one with the volume fix I don't know) that works great, in fact just checked and I only dropped 4% in the last 3 hours, hopefully this will mean when I get off work I will still be around 70%, which was much better than the results I was getting this morning.
     
  21. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    Flashed straight over. Seems fine. In glad he moved from the eclipse kernel. It was trouble for me. I wonder though, seems like he really liked it why did he swap . Perhaps others were having trouble with it as well.
     
  22. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    This dude confuses me with all his new names. I give up.
     
  23. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i think this is efforts to make it less confusing.one base rom,same performance tweeks,flash addons to change the UI. are there updates from burth3ory? seems silly to update to shift and flash the burnt ignition mod just to get me back to the same rom im on :eek: im not giving up my transparencies,thats fo sho.

    guess i should go read the shift thread now and see if that updates question is allready answered :D
     
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    mmkay,DT said this:
    so,yes,less confusing. only 2 from now on :D

    he also said that this rom was "the NEW one and only AOSP TH3ORYROM, Fresh source, massive mods, tweaks..."

    dammit! downloading now :p
     
  25. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    It's painless really. Just wipe caches flash shift, caches again and ignition, Done
     

Share This Page

Loading...