1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] ApeX 1.3.1 for Droid X - Running, running, as fast as it can (12/16/10)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Sonic_44

    Sonic_44 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    2
    1
    6
    Valet
    Tejas


    See above posting, (Sorry first time posting in a forum and learning)
     

    Advertisement

    Buckeye Boy likes this.
  2. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    761
    158
    113
    Male
    Data Analyst
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hmm, for some reason as soon as I install the apex 1.3.1 goodies zip (wanted the battery percentages and the widget picker app to condense the menu) the moto messaging stops working for me. I've reflashed, wiped, flashed, wiped, and flashed for the third time. It works perfectly fine until I drop the goodies zip then for some reason it no longer works for me. Using the aosp app isnt that big of a deal I just cant figure out why it wont work for me. :thinking:
     
  3. MatJMonk

    MatJMonk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Thanks for the suggestion! I did try both K-9 as well as MailDroid and neither of them would work in the manner I want. K-9 stated that it doesn't work well with free hotmail accounts and the MailDroid will only support ActiveSync for Exchange 2007 which Hotmail doesn't use so I'll just have to live with having to mark my hotmail messages as read manually! :thinking:

    I was wondering if anyone has seen any issues with the browser in this ROM? I've had several instances where the browser just sits at the "loading" page and both arrows are lit indicating a data transfer is happening but the page never loads and occasionally if the page does load none of the buttons or links work on the page. Sometimes I can fix it by turning on/off airplane mode and other times I have to FC the browser and clear the cache for it to start working again. I'm also seeing quite a few "network error" messages when I'm connected to WIFI but I can't tell if its due to the crappy reception where I'm at or something with the phone. I am also seeing a few of these errors when I turn off WIFI and drop back to the cellular connection but that could be because cell reception in this room is also bad. Anyone have any ideas and/or suggestions?
     
  4. Brav1111

    Brav1111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    143
    25
    43
    I use K9 with hotmail fine, not sure what you are wanting it to do though.
     
  5. MatJMonk

    MatJMonk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Mark the emails as "read" after I've opened them on the Droid. Maybe I'm just too spoiled by the BB on this one particular thing.

    :rolleyes:
     
  6. Brav1111

    Brav1111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    143
    25
    43
    You are right, I guess that shows you how much I use my hotmail account.
     
  7. Brav1111

    Brav1111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    143
    25
    43
    You could just have your gmail account check your hotmail:

    How to Forward Hotmail to Gmail | eHow.com

    It works how you want, but can only check every 15 minutes.
     
  8. JiggaGeazY

    JiggaGeazY Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    131
    6
    36
    Construction/Engineering
    Nor Cal - The Yay
    anyone having trouble with pics from contacts showing up when a text or call comes through. I can't figure it out. The pics show up in my contact widgets and when I click in contacts the pics are there but when I recieve a call or text that contacts picture doesn't show up.
     
  9. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    For some reason I get double MMS (pics) but I only get one text message. I use Chomp SMS. As i said txt works fine but doubled up MMS.

    Any thoughts??
     
  10. k0smo86

    k0smo86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    373
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Florida
    This is probably a really stupid question, but is there a theme for 1.3.1 that has the aosp look that previous versions of Apex had?
     
  11. bhavlo

    bhavlo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    70
    0
    35
    Electrical Engineer
    Montana
    I am new at this so I just want to make sure that I do this correctly. I have been following another thread and I have rooted, backed up and have done everything else except load a new ROM. ApeX 1.3.1 was recommended so I am here almost ready to install it, however in the other thread (New to android new to rooting.....Advice and questions.) they are describing the installation as if I shouldn't loose all my data.

    In your installation instructions you say

    Place file on sdcard. Install ROM from sdcard in ROM manager. Wipe data and cache.

    Does the "Wipe data and cache" mean that I will loose all my contacts, sms messages and all my data?

    If so, can I install the ROM without the "Wipe data and cache" and it all still work?
     
  12. kishin14

    kishin14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    423
    121
    68
    Not a stupid question at all. I would like to know this as well.
     
  13. Shaggy

    Shaggy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    76
    2
    16
    Police Officer
    Dayton, Ohio
    Anyone have a solution for games not installing, i get a code 18 error when installing? I tried downloading can knockdown then the holiday theme for Dolphin HD and got shot down by that code 18 error. I love apex and everything else runs fine, just wondering if anyone ran into this and can help! Thanks dudes!
     
  14. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    hmmm havent ran into or heard of this issue yet...all of your media works good though ...songs etc?
     
  15. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    946
    179
    103
    Male
    Home
    try clearing out the data from the market app.
     
  16. pdsifd11

    pdsifd11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I installed the ROM and now my music force closes or doesn't load at all.
     
  17. pdsifd11

    pdsifd11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    nevermind, phone was running 2.3.15, my fault.
     
  18. lostwood

    lostwood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Col questions.
    Your powerbar has like 7 buttons how did u get that?
    The bottom bar that houses your app drawer has more then the standard three shortcuts, how did you do that as well
     
  19. kheovnien

    kheovnien Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    118
    4
    36
    there is an app-widget called "extended controls" that allows you to customize the widget with multiple options/colors/etc. as for the dock: i'm assuming it's launcher pro which has the option for 5 icons (including app drawer).
     
  20. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,771
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,771
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    I tried disable com.Motorola.phoneaddons as well as com.motorola.hiddenmenu just to see if those could be causing the UID 1001 sensor problem - no luck. I also froze the TTY services - still no luck...
     
  21. MatJMonk

    MatJMonk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Droid gurus,

    I got cocky yesterday and thought I had finally figured out how to comfortably get this thing to do what I want and I installed the ADW_Launcher_EX app as well as the DroidXChat_Nexolution_1_3_1 theme. Now I'm having a few problems:

    - I was seeing the problem with the error message that says the system is not responding so I dug back through this thread and performed the steps listed above, on this reboot I haven't had the issue reoccur, but I've only done a single reboot.

    -- I'm getting an error message after the system reboots and I clear the lock tab of "Application GMAIL (process com.google.android.gm) has stopped unexpectedly" and I have to do a FC on it. I looked back through the thread on the themes and saw that there was a change to the zip file for the theme due to some changes in GMAIL so I grabbed the new zip and installed it, still getting the same message on reboot. I also installed the REVOlution_ApeX_1_2 and REVOlutionBLU_ApeX_1_2 themes but again I'm still getting this problem, anyone have some ideas of what to try next?

    Also, since I'm a N00B who likes to putz with stuff, could someone point me to a list of terminal commands that I could play around with to get familiar with what I assume is the linux shell that is the magic behind the Droid?

    Thanks
     
  22. RedWingsFanEd

    RedWingsFanEd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    35
    13
    38
    CFO
    Redlands, CA
    Try this link How to Fix Market Error -18 | FabDroid

    :)
     
  23. Shaggy

    Shaggy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    76
    2
    16
    Police Officer
    Dayton, Ohio
    Yes sir, everything else works flawlessly, its really no big deal. Those are the only two downloads its failed to install.
     
  24. Shaggy

    Shaggy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    76
    2
    16
    Police Officer
    Dayton, Ohio
  25. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland

    Try this... menu>settings>applications>manage applications>press the "all" tab>scroll to gmail>clear data.
    See if that fixes your gmail fc issue.
     
    MatJMonk likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...