1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] ApeX 1.3.1 for Droid X - Running, running, as fast as it can (12/16/10)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    214
    5
    36
    Arvada, CO
    I'm sure this has been asked many times before - BUT I can't find it. I'm ready to install ApeX 1.3.1, but wondering if the swype keyboard works with it? May be deal breaker, if not, cause that's the only keyboard that works for this old man.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Why, WHEN I WAS YOUR AGE... brats!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,953
    Posts:
    33,409
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,409
    26,147
    3,953
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    It's got swype and it works fine. :)
     
  3. bhavlo

    bhavlo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    70
    0
    35
    Electrical Engineer
    Montana
    I've got Apex reloaded and I have wiped my battery stats and I am getting better battery life now but not great. I read a thread that discussed the Droid X having a GPS issue stating that it won't shut off by itself and it keeps the processor running 100% of the time. I shut mine off and so things are better but I am still after more battery life.

    Can anyone tell me what are the best battery saving apps and/or thing I should do?
     
  4. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    946
    179
    103
    Male
    Home
    that gps bug was in 2.1 and has been fixed.
    i use Autostarts - Android app on AppBrain to stop a bunch of programs from being loaded on boot. starts the phone faster and helps the battery. (if anyone knows of a free alternative please post, but this one is worth the 95 cents.)
    I use Tasker - Android app on AppBrain to turn on gps when i am not home and to turn on wifi when i am home. it also sets my display from auto to dim at night.
     
  5. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
  6. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Long press on a text entry field and select "Input Method."
     
  7. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    214
    5
    36
    Arvada, CO
    ok, for my 10th "final question": once you go with a custom rom, other than sbfing, can you do a factory reset?
    also, should I try to go back to a saved backup before I install Apex?
     
  8. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    946
    179
    103
    Male
    Home
    depends on the rom, but it is best to SBF so there are not be multiple apps or services running that do the same thing, like two different messaging apps which can lead to reduced battery life and decreased performance.
     
  9. bhavlo

    bhavlo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    70
    0
    35
    Electrical Engineer
    Montana
    Not long ago I Apex'd after doing a stock restore not an SBF. I don't seem to get as good of battery life that others have described, do you think I should try it again doing an SBF first?
     
  10. packruler

    packruler Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    45
    3
    36
    The only way back other than sbf is to do a nandroid restore
     
    cbanning likes this.
  11. Serpentine

    Serpentine Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    64
    4
    16
    Male
    Internet based interstate commerce.
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Can someone tell me where the voice dialer settings are for this ROM?

    Somewhere along the line I had set it to default to "UK English," and now I would like to go back to US English and cannot find the settings.

    Edit: I don't know what you guys did, but it's fixed now!

    Thank you!
     
  12. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    214
    5
    36
    Arvada, CO
    so, I have a backup done via root manager (actually two - about 20 minutes apart) to "basic root". Under settings>Privacy there is an option there for factory reset. That'll get me there, right?
    again thanks to all for the help to an old sciardy cat!
     
  13. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,528
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,528
    149
    143
    South Florida
    settings => voice input & output => text-to-speech settings => language
     
    Serpentine likes this.
  14. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    Ive been tinkering with this and that as well as installing an removing loads of apps and launchers since the latest update and starting to notice lag no matter which launcher im using.

    Is there any reason I shouldnt do a factory reset and start over? Or should I say can Apex 1.3.1 be reset without causing issues?
     
  15. Shamrock13

    Shamrock13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    622
    117
    93
    Hermitage, PA
    I've been experiencing that reboot problem where it says that the system/launcher failed to start and needs to force stop or wait. What did anyone do to resolve this issue? I have to pull the battery to fix it.

    Thanks for a great ROM, Fab. I've been on this for as long as I can remember now. I love it.
     
  16. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    what launcher does this use as default?
     
  17. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    adw
     
    GandalfTehGray likes this.
  18. Scooter70

    Scooter70 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    237
    27
    43
    Have any ApeX users tried LibertyX? How does it compare? Did you put Liberty right over ApeX or did you start fresh?
     
  19. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    I am on liberty and really like it so far ...I am a huge apex fan though and has always been a rom of choice for me...how they compare...well I would suggest trying it...in apex I really like fabs scripts (maybe since I'm a Linux user)and in liberty you do the same adding or removing of apps and themes and such from the toolbox....like I said give liberty a shot and see how you like it. We all have different preferences but they are both very nice roms ..and to install liberty comming from any rom other than gummy 2.5 you will have to wipe data/cache and do a clean install
     
  20. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    I like it so far, haven't explored everything yet, but runs quicker, very easy to theme
     
  21. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    The install directions have you do a "wipe data/factory reset" so you just install with no additional steps. I was going to simply do a factory reset on Apex but got no answer if you could do it without issues so I just figured id try something different while I was at it. Its hard to say one is faster than the other when everything is nice and fresh. Apex hauled ass at the start from what I remember. There are a few tools to tinker with but I havent gotten to that point yet.
     
  22. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    I tried it out for a day but I'm back to ApeX. The blur alarm clock and dialer are nice to have and I hate losing them in straight blurless roms. :(
     
  23. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Did you check out the liberty tool box it allows you to add blur back in piece by piece. I loved apex but 1.3.1 never worked very well for me. Can't oc and I wasn't a huge fan of the new dialer
     
  24. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    I had major issues trying to get the toolbox to work. It would FC on me 50% of the time on opening and if I got past that it would FC on me when trying to change things around. I might check it out again since I made a backup before heading back to ApeX. During the work week it is just so hard to give new ROMs a fair shake.
     
  25. dwcasey

    dwcasey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    156
    9
    36
    Heading back to ApeX after running many AOSP ROMs. I like the plain, vanilla, make it your own, but I also miss the MotoBlur ( I know, I know, there are a lot of folks that hate it ).

    It's like when I had my old HTC Eris. I would run the CM ROMs and other "vanilla" type ROMs and always liked coming back to the HTC Sense UI with the extras that went with it.

    Also saw on the themes link that Watermarkd was ported for ApeX as well, very nice!
     

Share This Page

Loading...