1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] ApeX 1.3.1 for Droid X - Running, running, as fast as it can (12/16/10)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. idle0095

    idle0095 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    42
    0
    15
    thanks for the help with the question. TY. now can some help me with
    one more question. i didnt make a back up when i used rom manager to install apex. reason is because i had to try rom manager 10 times for it to finaly work. boot strap works so much better now and rom manager to me is too buggy because it wont but into recovery like its suppose to do. so i didnt make a back up of my droid x rom. if i ever want to go back to the stock rom how would i do that??
     

    Advertisement

  2. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Did you ever select the option "Flash clockworkmod recovery "in rom manager?that may be your problem .....open rom manager select it then select your device and then it should boot onto recovery .....
    also to return back to stock you can flash the .340 system sbf or use madderstocks zip found here
    maderstcok - OTA 2.3.340 update.zip
     
  3. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    Your correct about Rom Manager. Lots of people find it just doesn't work they way it should. :(:(

    I just use Bootstrap for all my stuff. I rename the file after i get it saved and restored using Astro file manager. IE: 2011-02-08Apex (keeps my date of backup that way)

    If you did not make a nandroid then you probably (most likely) would have to do a SBF on your phone. No issue at all..........just takes time.
     
  4. jaggy333

    jaggy333 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I've been running Apex 1.3.1 for a while now w/ADW Ex, etc and it runs great(can't wait for the next version)! I've finally decided to overclock. I got the Jrummy Droid Overclock app and set the scaling freq to LV 1.25GHz, and to set on boot, etc. I've also downloaded linpack and got a benchmark for 16.939MFLOPS. How do I know if my overclock is working?
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    quadrant standard will let you see how well it works, from just holding and playing with it, you may not notice but it is slightly faster, but other than that the naked eye really cant see it because the x is already a beast of a machine and you just basically gave it, its daily dose of steroids
     
    jaggy333 likes this.
  6. jaggy333

    jaggy333 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks, i just tried quadrant standard and I measured 1603(i think i'm satisfied). Just curious, has anyone seen differences in quadrant standard or any other tool after installing Apex 1.3.1?

    Also, are there known problems when using Ultra Low Voltage with 1.25GHz overclock?
     
  7. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    239
    16
    38
    IT
    Orlando, Fl
    I just started having a problem with the Gmail app not syncing correctly with Gmail when I mark something as Read. It doesn't change it on the website and then later it says that I have unread messages on the app but all are marked as read. Any thoughts?
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    before apex mine was 1200+ after apex 1400+ overclocked its between 1600and 1700+

    and i just use low voltage, not ultra low
     
  9. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Any update on the next version of Apex?
     
  10. Steven58

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,953
    Posts:
    33,457
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,457
    26,212
    3,953
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
  11. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Steven, you enjoyed saying that, didn't you.
     
  12. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
  13. MadMule

    MadMule Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    51
    5
    16
    Guys, the best way to stay on top of any update news is probably following his Twitter feed...
     
  14. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    you should post a link to it ^_^
     
  15. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    It's Andrew Xie (bigxie) on Twitter


    So, I'm going to be starting on the Blur restoring menu of the Toolbox in a bit. What are some common apps people like to restore from the removedapps archive?

    The only ones I can think of off the top of my head are like the hotspot app, status updating widget, and weather widget. Any others you want included?


    P.S. here's a little preview of how the toolbox interface is going to look like:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  16. Steven58

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,953
    Posts:
    33,457
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,457
    26,212
    3,953
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    BlurAlarm.apk
     
    ballisticn8 likes this.
  17. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    [​IMG]

    :D
     
    ballisticn8, llamakc, fatpomp and 2 others like this.
  18. novemberwhiskey

    novemberwhiskey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    491
    43
    43
    I'd really like to see a pulldown text editor (editing the "Verizon Wireless" in the notifications bar) like in Liberty.

    Also, if we can modify the background of the pulldown shade.
     
  19. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    215
    10
    38
    Is there a way to disable the music controls on the lock screen. I'm having some issues when skiing and the music stopping. Thinking it might have to do with the lockscreen, might be wrong?


    Thanks for the great ROM.
     
  20. Steven58

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,953
    Posts:
    33,457
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,457
    26,212
    3,953
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    Me too! Me too!!!!!!!!!
     
  21. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Sorry guys, that's a little beyond the scope of my programming skills ;)

    I can do that manually, but I don't know of a clever way to implement it methodically through a script.

    But, I've finished the majority of the script. The remaining features to be implemented (Blur Restoration, Services.jar tweaks, Goodies, and Links), I can finish tomorrow night. So I expect there to be a test release either Friday night or Saturday afternoon, if everything goes according to plan :D

    Good night!
     
  22. MikeAce00

    MikeAce00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    249
    30
    43
    Hey Fab are we going to need to wipe cache and data going from 1.3.1? Was on Lib for a while, not sure if I should start my Apex switch now or wait for new version...
     
  23. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    i love that it is named ghetto toolbox
     
  24. ericsch333

    ericsch333 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    The blurGallery please...
     
  25. PACAnesFan

    PACAnesFan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Blur email client as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...