1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] ApeX V1.4.1 for Droid X & Droid 2 - Refinement and Ease of Use (2/22/2011)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    I went over 1.3.1 as well and everything is good. Toolbox tweaking worked quite well.

    I am a little sad it doesn't say "ghetto toolbox" anymore. :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    i hope we can get a whole new array of brand new themes, with new battery icons, new swype themes, pulldown notifications, just different in general, i love the circle battery, but sometimes a change would be great to have ^_^
     
  3. imronburgundy

    imronburgundy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    368
    24
    38
    Excited to try this when I get home. Going to have to multitask while trying to cook dinner for my wife for vday tonight.
     
    deftdrummer likes this.
  4. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I jumped over to the Liberty bandwagon but there were some annoyances that have added up. I'm gonna go back to my trusty Apex so long as this new version hasn't added in major bugs. :)
     
  5. ad720

    ad720 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    260
    14
    38
    Really leaning toward trying this out...with a rooted X I've so far not felt the need for anything but stock. (Coming from my old Eris with many different ROMs)

    I understand this ROM will come "baked" with ADW launcher. I prefer launcher Pro - can ADW be uninstalled?

    Also, I assume I will need to install the Droid X Recovery Bootstrap (for $2.00 from the market) and then I will be able to make a Nandroid of my stock ROM?
     
  6. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Yes, you can uninstall ADW and use LP instead, I prefer LP myself.

    And yes on bootstrap.
     
    ad720 likes this.
  7. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Yes you can remove ADW and use whatever launcher you would like.

    Bootstrap is somewhat required and is real handy for making backups.
     
    ad720 likes this.
  8. ad720

    ad720 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    260
    14
    38
    Super, thanks for the quick responses. :)
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Love love love love it. All the blur I want without all crap I don't. EVERYTHING works flawlessly!
     
  10. BIG CAT 7

    BIG CAT 7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    435
    34
    43
    MICHIGAN
    Has anyone tried the Clock removal? I was able to get it to work but got a force close on reboot. I then powered down and then started it back up and it worked ok. Just checking to see if it was an app I had doing it or if it was from the rom, thanks...

    BTW everything is running very nicely. :D
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    That seems to be a common prob/solution popping up.
     
  12. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    So, are you saying that you like it? :rolleyes:
     
  13. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    No I love love love love it can't u read :D lol
     
  14. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Dang it :mad: I downloaded the ApeX 1.4.0 zip file and after I wiped data cleared cache, dalvik, etc. I went to install ApeX 1.4.0 and it aborted....I had to restore my Liberty 1.5.

    Turns out I didn't get a complete download of ApeX 1.4.0. Maybe it's a sign that I should just stick with Liberty :p:D
     
  15. jguns112

    jguns112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    110
    1
    36
    Is there any way to uninstall Madden?
     
  16. beantown06

    beantown06 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010

    Dec 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    jguns - if you are rooted, DL uninstaller for root and you will be able to uninstall any programs that came with your DX
     
  17. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Same here. For me the only "problem" on Liberty was the battery life. ApeX is definitely superior in this regard.
     
  18. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    338
    38
    43
    So I have it installed. Go me! Now, are there any themes available? And if so, how to install. In this regard, Liberty was very user friendly.
     
  19. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    No themes yet, you will have to wait.
     
  20. jguns112

    jguns112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    110
    1
    36
    You have to flash new themes. Be sure to make a backup in case you don't like a theme. Also, I'm not sure what themes will still work with 1.4.
     
  21. jtpdx

    jtpdx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    California
    how do I change the keyboard to the above screenshot?
     
  22. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Open Terminal Emulator, SU, apextoolbox, option 1 (customize apps), option 4 (keyboard).
     
    jtpdx likes this.
  23. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    anyone know where or how to get the yellow circle battery mod?
     
  24. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Got everything set up and all is smooth as expected. It isn't as snappy as Liberty but I suspect it's because of the screen transitions. I think they are pretty enough to keep them on my phone. Now it's time to dig into that toolbox. Would love to have a UI based toolbox like Liberty but I'm not gonna complain any more than that. Thanks for writing all those lines of code Fab! I've been following you on Twitter. ;)
     
  25. cultldr

    cultldr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    307
    63
    53
    Houston, TX
    so glad I grabbed that .340 sbf and did just that this weekend. Clean stock, nandroid, now finally have that stock backup to do just this. Great idea and works so good!

    Have a ton of backups now, I swear my phone is heavier! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...