1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM BETA] Bugless Beast V0.4 Android 2.2 FRF84B (Fully Deodexed)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peteralfonso, Jun 29, 2010.

?

Poll closed due to new release for this ROM

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    80 vote(s)
    55.9%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    60 vote(s)
    42.0%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    3 vote(s)
    2.1%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    yes launcher pro is a top notch app and is totally safe :) no worries!
     

    Advertisement

  2. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    Yes,Launcherpro is safe. Been using it with bb 0.4 and cm6 With no issues. Works great
     
  3. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    Well I installed Launcher Pro but unfortunately it's just as laggy as the original launcher was for me. But I'm still keeping it installed b/c I can now have 5 horizontal rows of icons. I really hate how Android has 4 rows of icons with all the icons having a huge amount of space between the rows.
     
  4. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    I am running a FRG22 DeOdexed (not frg22D) and made the changes per your suggestion. I was getting updates every 2 to 5 days. I would hit install and clockwork would stop and I would reboot and all was well. We'll see if your patch works. One thing I did notice since the patch is that now Adobe Flash 10.1 is in my market? Weird huh? Thanks for the post. I will let you know if I get any more updates.

    Rich
     
  5. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    because 5 rows would be ugly in landscape.
     
  6. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38
    dusttones likes this.
  7. culpin

    culpin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    55
    3
    16
    So far so good EXCEPT I'm getting the OTA update alert...I've read most of this thread and haven't seen anyone else mention this problem.

    Nevermind - Found the posts talking about it.
     
  8. 96accord

    96accord Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    26
    4
    16
    Government
    Baltimore, MD
    Thanks for the info..

    I switched to CM6 ROM yesterday and going to test it out.
     
  9. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Dumb question, but once you put a theme on there, if you want to try out another theme, do you just load the theme? will it over ride the previously installed theme? or do you have to delete the other theme? IF you have to delete the theme,how do you do this? Thanks!
     
  10. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    I have a TIBU question. When I flash a new ROM and have wiped, do I have to go redownload TIBU? Where does it store the backups it makes? the SD Card?
     
  11. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,061
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    TiBU should automatically download again once you log into your Google account. The backups are stored on the SD card so you will not lose it when wiping from ROM to ROM.
     
  12. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    It should be, but I've had problems with apps syncing after a new ROM install in the past. If you install a new ROM Harley, and TiBU doesn't sync to your phone after an hour or so, go ahead and download it again, then restore apps and settings with it. Yes, TiBU backups are stored on the SD Card :)
     
  13. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    OK, so I had my first boot loop! BUT it wasnt with BB .04! I thought I would check out a different rom and loaded a theme that wasnt compatible I guess, so I reflashed back to BB with one of Fab's themes...

    But here is my real reason for posting..when I loaded that new rom, I was under the impression that TIBU would restore EVERYTHING including my icons on my pages, etc. do I need backup pro for that? TIBU did load all my apps, call logs, preferences, and texts back up, so thats awesome...is there a way for TIBU to set my screens and widgets back up? or is that not doable? Thanks guys and gals!
     
  14. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Oh, another thing :) sorry..I am having a problem with chrome to phone...it didnt work on the ROM, and i cannot delete it and reinstall it! Basically when I go click "register device" it says "Registering device" then "device not registered" any idea? Do i need to wipe and redo the ROM?
     
  15. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    How do you guys wipe multiple times? just control X and wipe/reset to factory a couple times? can you still do this if using ROMmanager?
     
  16. markc2

    markc2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    232
    20
    38
    Perrysburg, Oh.
    Boot into clockwork recovery, partitions menu, format boot, cache, data, system, careful not to wipe your SD card as it's on the same menu.

     
  17. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I just wanted to provide an update for everyone on the progress of BBv0.5. As you're probably aware, Pete has started college while still working, and he's been sadly lacking in spare time. However, on Friday evening, I received a new BBv0.5 FRG22D beta to test and, according to Pete, another beta version is ready for testing, as soon as he finds time to get it uploaded. Like the other BBv0.5 betas I've tested, this one is fast, smoooooooooth and flawless! So, the bottom line is that Pete is still actively working on it and progress is being made!
     
  18. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    If these betas are so good, which I don't doubt, then why won't Pete just release them? His froyo BB 0.2 (or 0.3, can't remember) might as well have been a beta, and it was quickly replaced because it wasn't up to snuff. From your reports, these betas are at least that good, if not better, and there are a lot of Bugless Beast fans (myself included) that just want a BB based off of the latest official update. I actually switched to Pete's stock FRG22D ROM last week, and while I miss the bells and whistles that differentiate BB from stock, the improvements in the source code are clearly evident.

    Maybe I'm in the minority here, but if Pete's waiting to make 0.5 "legendary" or whatever, I'd prefer if he just released a stable BB 0.5 based on FRG22D and then put in all the "wow" features he mentioned on his website in 0.6 or 0.7 or whenever. Anybody agree with me, or am I the lone madman, like I've been so often in this thread?
     
  19. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,061
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I definitely look forward to it - my Droid was built for Bugless Beast!

    (<-- saves up some more money to throw Pete's way when it's released :cool:)
     
  20. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan

    Your'e MAD, MAD, MAD.... :D

    I just loaded 4 so I can wait for 5. Hopefully it can install right over 4.

    I have never developed anything so I would be the last person to complain about someone not giving me a freebie soon enough.
     
  21. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    You can try and just load it over BBv0.4, but do realize that we're now on FRG22D and you're likely going to experience issues if you don't do a clean install. The framework also has changed a bit, so the BBv0.4 themes won't work without some updating. I do a clean install, wiping all partitions, EVERY time -- even with all the versions I test. You just get better results that way.
     
  22. muab

    muab Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    337
    42
    63
    I can certainly understand your feeling. I would imagine though that the evolution of ROM's is such that you really need to release something that has some "legendary" cred if you are going to get any kind of interest in it. BB0.4 is so popular that he has some pretty high expectations to meet.

    I can imagine there is a lot of pressure to really make something pretty amazing.
     
  23. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    And I could certainly see that, if all Pete were concerned about was bringing in new users and attracting the fickle crowd that frequent these forums and flash EVERY new ROM that comes out.

    But what about those of us who use Bugless Beast exclusively and have been loyal to Pete, even as he jumped to the DInc, DX, and Galaxy S? You mean to tell me he can't even throw us a bone and release a 0.4.1 that's based on FRG22D with just the features from 0.4 so that we're at least on a ROM based on the official upgrade?

    I can see where it seems like I'm asking a lot of someone who provides us with this awesome ROM for free, but at this point Pete's treading a fine line between putting out "the next big thing" and losing a lot of people who have been loyal to him. I actually flashed Project Elite this morning, and barring some major malfunction (or piss-poor battery life), I'll be staying with it until BB 0.5 is released (and perhaps after that even). This marks the first time I've ever kept a ROM other than BB (or Pete's vanilla FRG22D, which I've used for the past week) for more than an hour.
     
  24. se7encrows

    se7encrows Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I agree with webeougher. According to Pete's Twitter, he's still working and putting out stuff for the Droid X as of last night. I've been a loyal BB user for some time now. I've jumped to other ROMs based on the official release, only to come running back to BB. Even though we're getting reports of people testing BB .5, I'm really starting to think it's taken a back seat to some of the newer phones. This is sad.

    Some of these newer ROMs look pretty enticing. I might try this Project Elite as well.
     
  25. virtus

    virtus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    It's been quite a while since I used BB v.4, so I am a ship-jumper. I enjoyed the ROM, but frankly, I don't see how or why Pete would stay competitive in the Droid arena.

    He's obviously very talented and skilled, so why would he split his time between an EOL'd phone and newer cutting edge phones? I'd rather have guys like him out there figuring out how to root my next phone and developing great custom ROMs. After seeing ROMs like cyanogenmod, it seems like he would be wasting his time on the droid. Really, what improvements can he make on the majority of the decent ROMs? More speed? It would be barely noticable. More features? It would be hard to compete with other ROMs and what would be the point? D1 users will be dropping like flies over the next few months (although I plan to keep mine).

    There aren't any major revolutions left for the droid until newer Android versions come out. Even then, the D1 is becoming more and more limited by its low RAM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...