1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM BETA] Bugless Beast V0.4 Android 2.2 FRF84B (Fully Deodexed)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peteralfonso, Jun 29, 2010.

?

Poll closed due to new release for this ROM

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    80 vote(s)
    55.9%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    60 vote(s)
    42.0%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    3 vote(s)
    2.1%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    I think you're missing the point here on both counts - first, it's not about whether or not Pete *should* be developing for the D1, it's the fact that he *claims* to still be developing for the D1 yet has nothing to show for it, and second, it's not about what he can add to BB, it's the fact that, for many people, BB is the best combination of stability, speed, and features, and many of us have become loyal to that.

    But I do thank you for your negativity - you make me look like the Sugarplum Fairy by comparison.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dabrador

    Dabrador Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    328
    24
    38
    Bob Loblaw
     
  3. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    Who is Bob Loblaw :) no seriously people, newer phones will come out and as they do devs will have to divide their attention between them. The droid 1 and its users will have to face this. Its phone evolution so to speak.
     
  4. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    "The final #BuglessBeast V0.5 beta is being tested now, coming to your #Droid very soon! " -pete via twitter
     
    GirLuvsDroid likes this.
  5. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I can confirm this -- I'm testing it.
     
  6. meek_reese

    meek_reese Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    70
    15
    18
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Fickle forum users over at XDA practically ran Pete off of their boards. We should really be thankful that he is even still thinking about us at this point with everything going on in his life, even if it is taking longer for him to release his ROMs. We don't want to give Droid users a bad name, and have him stop developing for us.

    Its really not a big deal if you switch to CM, Sapphire, or UD while you're waiting for BB.5. I've been on CM6 for a while now and love it. I know that as soon as I see BB in rom manager, I'm going right back to that.
     
  7. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    Yeah, ever since I saw Pete's tweet come through, I've been checking ROM Manager about every few minutes - just in case. BB was the first ROM I flashed (back when we were all using 2.1), and it was sort of like losing your virginity... I've always had a special place for BB in the heart of my Droid. You really can't go wrong with Pete's work, and I have donated handsomely to him because this guy has earned it. Sure, I love CM6 - it's one of my favorites, but I will also go back to BB and run it as well.

    I wonder if Pete has found a way to compensate for the homescreen lag that seems to dog every single ROM out there... I mean, I've not tried a ROM yet where the *lag* did not stay away permanently. This would be the biggest improvement as far as I'm concerned, that - and being able to OC to 1.2Ghz without running my temps upwards of 130 degrees.
     
  8. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    I kinda hope it does not come out today...I don't have time to mess with it until Monday.:D This will force me to wait to see if there are any problems.

    On another note I am curious about your homescreen lag. I have not had that issue with any rom-ever. Perhaps it is something else on your phone. BB4 works fine for me as did my FRG22 that I was running before.
     
  9. Groid

    Groid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    358
    88
    53
    I have never experienced homescreen lag in bb v0.4 using LauncherPro (not plus). So many have commented on it I wonder if there are others who have, like me, never had any lag.
     
  10. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    It seems to be that the more widgets you load on your homescreens, the more likely you are to experience homescreen redraws. I've tried all the various tweaks. They have helped in reducing the frequency, but they still do occur for me everyday as I have 4 such widgets on my default homescreen, plus six other homescreens with widgets on all. I suppose since the Droid has a RAM deficiency for this, those of us who use lots of widgets still have to suck it up until we eventually upgrade to something else.
     
  11. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    So...this begs the question: how long is the testing phase?

    I'll happily eat crow if it means a new BB.
     
  12. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    So...this begs the question: how long is the testing phase?

    I'll happily eat crow if it means a new BB.
     
  13. meek_reese

    meek_reese Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    70
    15
    18
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Yeah, I've had to learn to live without a lot of widgets that I really loved. It would sometimes take 10-15 seconds to go back to the home screen from another app, like the browser. It got to be too frustrating. Removing beautiful widgets (which i LOVE) helped the most. Now after exiting the browser, it only take 2-3 seconds to re-draw my home screen.

    Not sure that any ROM could fix that, as you say, I think it is just a deficiency that the Droid has.
     
  14. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Gotta be something else. I run Digital Clock, Power Bar, and Weatherbug elite on my home screen and when I click out of browser it snaps back to the home screen-no delay. It did the same when I ran beautiful widgets ( had to drop it, the weather would never update).

    Have you ever done a complete factory reset before you wiped and installed a rom?
     
  15. meek_reese

    meek_reese Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    70
    15
    18
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Yeah, I do a complete wipe every time (heh heh). And I'm currently OC'd to 1.1GHz, so my phone isn't running slow. I know that if I clear the cache/history of the browser and delete text messages, the screen re-draw issues go away for a bit, that's why i think its a memory issue.

    Right now i have: pandora widget, digital clock, LauncherPro+ Calendar widget, power bar, and LauncherPro+ twitter widget running on 4 separate screens. Twitter and calendar are constantly updating, so that's also part of my hypothesis. When I had beautiful widgets and the LaunchPro+ bookmark widget (which is AWESOME, IMO) my phone would grind to a halt.
     
  16. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan

    Interesting...you did the wipe but did you also do the factory reset of the phone?

    I have only tried 3 roms (frg22, lfy 1.6, and BB40) and I have had no lag but I did have to do a factory reset of the phone a while back for another reason.
     
  17. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
  18. dallows

    dallows Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Hopefully someone can help me out. Ever since I installed this .04 version I get a pop up for my text messages.

    I do not want this. I can't find an option to disable it either.

    Thanks.
     
  19. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Go into the messaging app, press Menu, then Settings and uncheck Notifications.
     
  20. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    I would assume you've got a theme applied, because SMS Popup doesn't come as part of Bugless Beast, but I had a theme (or was it the Project Elite ROM?) that it came with. Go into Settings ---> Applications ---> Manage Applications and then look for SMS Popup and uninstall it or disable it. Disregard the advice offered prior to mine - I think the gir might've been a bit confused.
     
  21. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    You're right -- I thought he was talking about the notification in the status bar, but I see now that he was talking about an intrusive popup (which I've disabled myself in Handcent).
     
  22. dallows

    dallows Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    I have smoked glass, you think it's a part of that? Again there's no option and SMS Popup is not installed.

    I tried to installed Handcent and I had no options for pop up window type notifications checked and is still got it. This was with all notifications for the default app DISABLED.

    This is a huge bummer.
     
  23. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    I've never used that particular theme, so I can't say for sure. I have to say that I'm not totally out of ideas. I'm sorry.
     
  24. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    Is there a patch out to fix the search button + auto-brightness issues?

    For some reason, when google restored my apps, it gave me bettercut. It thinks I bought this for some reason (but I didn't). I looked at my bank account and I haven't been charged for it as far as I can tell. Now it keeps saying there is an update available for bettercut and I'm afraid to do it b/c afraid they might charge me for it :/

    I hate landscape. They should remove it imo o_O
     
  25. publicanimal

    publicanimal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    545
    88
    98
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I think you meant to post this in the BB V0.5 section, and yes, there are fixes for both of those issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...