1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[ROM][BETA] CyanogenMod 10 for the LG Lucid

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stcarlso, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    171
    35
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Indian Land, SC
    Check out the second page.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lildark

    lildark Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012

    Aug 24, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Cyanogenmod 11? please
     
  3. felixjohan

    felixjohan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    Aug 25, 2013
    89
    18
    18
    Male
    Student
    Dominican Republic
    +1
     
  4. luqixian

    luqixian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014

    Mar 10, 2014
    3
    1
    6
    +10001
     
    felixjohan likes this.
  5. WhyMyAlly

    WhyMyAlly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    90
    9
    16
    Well, being that Cyanogenmod 10 for this phone is very buggy due to using ICS driver blobs for the adreno 220 chipset. Its rather dated and I highly doubt anyone has KitKat blobs for this chipset. This phone has issues with the charge drivers also in Cyanogen10. So these issues would be worse or non functioning in anything newer than ICS. Im sorry, this phone is junk. Its using earlier hardware exclusively for GB and ICS. The devs that designed this phone knew they would have issues getting the hardware to function in ICS and after updating knew that JB would be impossible and moved on to the lucid 2 and now LG's latest hardware. Im sure the snapdragon S3 chipset thats in this phone can more than handle Cyanogenmod 11 especially with 1gb of ram but using old dated drivers wont be possible. I really hope someone could rework the blobs and maybe find adreno 220 graphics drivers for KitKat and see if it would work. Again, none of this would be stable enough to make it a daily driver. Stock ICS is neck and neck with this rom but with its issues and lack of features the stock ICS had makes it a toss up. Im stuck with this because FastBoot is no longer functioning on my phone after updating the recovery. I cannot use the LG tools app to revert back to stock on here. I also have been running Cyanogenmod 10 on here for months and playing FFIV and heavy 3d intense games for hours with no issues. The charge reboot and the occasional sleep of death is annoying but they dont happen enough to bother. I really hope theres still support for this dying device because it has nice hardware and a lot of potential. Its like running windows vista drivers in windows 8. It may work partially but expect crashes and unstable operation. Windows XP drivers wont work in windows 8. So dont expect GB, ICS driver blobs to work in KitKat based releases.
     
    felixjohan likes this.
  6. felixjohan

    felixjohan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    Aug 25, 2013
    89
    18
    18
    Male
    Student
    Dominican Republic
  7. Vorticity

    Vorticity Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014

    Sep 2, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    This is the first time I have installed a new ROM and I am running into some problems. I have gotten through everything up to the point where I attempt to install the new ROM using ROM Manager. I have the ROM's zip file on my SD card and am able to select it in the ROM Manager. I then also select "Wipe Data and Cache" then "Reboot and Install" but reboot is very quick and I still have GB. Am I missing something simple?
     
  8. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    171
    35
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Indian Land, SC
    Have you followed my guide, you can find it in my LG Lucid Repository?
     
  9. m_p_v_13

    m_p_v_13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014

    Sep 16, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    I just want to use a Lucid vs840 on wifi for now. Maybe later use it on Page Plus. The phone came loaded with a version of 4.0.4 ( VS840ZV9 ) and I can bypass the "No SIM" screen to use the browser over wifi. That's GREAT.

    I have a second phone that I want to set up for my daughter to use (wifi only). It has, I believe, the original stock android 2.3 and it is stuck on the setup and emergency call screens.

    I want to try to get CyanogenMod onto this 2nd phone, partly as a learning experience (although I don't have a lot of time right now), and potentially to put it on the first phone.

    What big pros/cons would CM have over the 4.0.4 version I have?

    Would it be much more work to get CM on the second phone than to get a copy of the 4.0.4 version I have (or some other similar verizon? image) on that phone?

    I am computer literate (actually an unemployed c++ / java programmer) but new to smart phones and android.

    I got the phones for about $12 each (no battery or back) from ebay. They look unused. Somebody is auctioning (usually between $8 and $25) several of these per day for the last few weeks. It's amazing how fast this technology depreciates.

    Thanks in advance for any advice.
     
  10. phubarr

    phubarr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014

    Oct 9, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Can anyone confirm if the current baseband_v9.zip file actually works? I suspect maybe the file has been corrupted on the box.com servers, or that the file is for a completely different device.

    Do yourself a favor if you're testing this, and not only do a nandroid backup beforehand, but also download baseband_lucid_v8.zip in case baseband_v9.zip does for you what it did for me (and maybe even use dd to backup your original mmcblk0p14 [baseband.img] and mmcblk0p1 [firmware.img] so you can restore your original firmware later).

    For me, the baseband_v9.zip file caused a soft brick boot loop (actually, it caused a partial hard brick, because it wouldn't even enter Emergency/Download mode after flashing v9, that's when I started to freak out). It would have been a legitimate hard brick if CWM didn't have the ability to establish a USB mass storage connection and allow me to upload baseband_lucid_v8.zip to it, which recovered the device.

    After recovering the device, Android seemed corrupted and I had to restore the nandroid backup. Then I downloaded baseband_v9.zip a second time using a separate connection and second device in case file corruption happened on my end, and both copies of baseband_v9.zip did the same exact thing to the device.

    Can anyone help? Does anybody even care anymore?

    P.S. What's incredibly odd is that before flashing baseband_v9.zip, I examined the contents of baseband_v9.zip, I could see that flashing it replaces firmware.img and baseband.img, so I used adb shell and the dd command to make backup copies of my original firmware.img and baseband.img. When v9 bricked my phone, I created a custom flashable zip that restored my original firmware.img and baseband.img, then I flashed back to my original baseband, but it didn't change or fix anything. Why would completely undoing the v9 baseband flash still not fix it? I've been flashing for years and this part I do not understand.

    P.P.S. I think I found an error in the changelog, or something, but maybe it's the source of this whole disaster. It says the RIL files for build B4 were updated to be used with baseband_v9 on 9/30/13. However the B4 filename indicates it was compiled on 8/23/13. That doesn't make sense.

    P.P.P.S. I can't get an LTE connection with baseband_v8, and I think it may be because I need baseband_v9. Either way, the changelog in post #3 recommends everybody use baseband_v9 with the latest release, and I simply can't get it to work (which build date is the latest release?), but it may be due to the B4 versioning issue that I just mentioned.

    Thanks for any help...
     
  11. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    171
    35
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Indian Land, SC
    I just compared the baseband_v9.zip on my box.net share with the one from stcarlso and they both have the same md5 checksum value (1eac6c43055d64f8b346237ae3228626) and size (22.5 MB).
     
  12. phubarr

    phubarr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014

    Oct 9, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you very much for confirming the file integrity, noseph.

    Does anybody have any information on the discrepancy between the changelog date of build B4 vs the filename date of build B4? Maybe that is the cause of this (refer to my P.P.S. section above).
     
  13. achilles1643

    achilles1643 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    81
    5
    26
    Male
    High school
    MN USA
    Can you build cynogen for the lucid 2 ? (Vs870)
     
  14. bobby89

    bobby89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014

    Dec 30, 2014
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Hey has anyone had issues with corrupt files? I've tried reformating, reinstalling, reflashing, clearing cache and data but I still can't download a file from the internet to SD. Also my pictures get corrupted, half to all of it is grayed out.
     
  15. natepcwizzy16

    natepcwizzy16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015

    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    I copied the framework jars and some system apps from a cm10.1 msm8660 build to my lucid's cm10 system folder, it showed the bootanimation. But it never got past the bootanimation, doing an ADB log shows something about audio hardware or audio_flinger failed.
     
  16. natepcwizzy16

    natepcwizzy16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015

    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    I noticed blue lines too, but only for at most 1/10 of a second, not an ENTIRE second.
     
  17. natepcwizzy16

    natepcwizzy16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015

    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    Is a build server for using if I don't want/can't use my computer to build it?
     
  18. natepcwizzy16

    natepcwizzy16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015

    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    Open terminal emulator, type "su" then press enter, type "cd /sys/class/leds/button-backlight" and press enter, type "echo 0>brightness" and press enter. Your lights should be off.
     
  19. natepcwizzy16

    natepcwizzy16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015

    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    This phone is not Junk! If my Samsung Fascinate (which I use as mp3 player) with CyanogenMod 10.1(Android 4.2.2) and Devil Kernel is awesome, and it is just a single core, And my lucid is a dual core, then this phone is really awesome. If someone wanted to go low level and make their own drivers, then this phone would be even better.
     
  20. natepcwizzy16

    natepcwizzy16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015

    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    404 error
     

Share This Page

Loading...