1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM][Beta][FINAL] CM7 Android For Triumph [Tickerguy Edition, Kernel: mine] 11/19

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tickerguy, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Attic - there may not be. This appears to be yet another one of the fun "features" of this phone where you need to poke registers to turn things on and off (e.g. the GPS LNA) and fortunately there was a reference to that in the source for the kernel that I was able to find.

    I have ZERO belief that such a reference will be found for the Wifi side of things, as that's all in the libra.ko loadable and we have NO source for it. I also have good reason to believe the same issue exists in the wifi module as other libra.ko files, which should work (same hardware) don't, and some throw errors strongly implying that the power is off to parts of the wifi chipset.

    There's certain things that are kinda hard without source but you can find pieces of what you need and then there are things that are just a real BITCH. The Wifi driver is a major problem and among other things is likely to preclude the hotspot working too.
     

    Advertisement

    AtticTRON likes this.
  2. Intercepter

    Intercepter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    124
    33
    63
    Electrician
    well, I took the plunge once TickerGuy got the gps working. All I can say is WOW! very nice. the whole install went so smooth exactly as described. gps works exactly as before cold lock within 30 seconds and instant afterwards. have not as yet experienced any bugs that have not been answered in this thread. I could probably use this build until the rest of the issues are worked out. Thanks TickerGuy.
     
    bradhoschar and CesarT like this.
  3. bing7625

    bing7625 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    152
    27
    43
    if going back to my stock nandroid backup. should i do a cache/dalvik cache wipe then format my system then restore the nandroid? im using isaacj87's latest build and i love the overclocking ability on it i just want gps to work... but i know that once the next build on here comes out with ext4 enabled we will hopefully get a link up for just the OC kernel from isaacj87's build that way the option will be there so someone (like me :) ) who doesn't have one of the oddball phones, or the oddball oddball phones, can use it at their own risk, and i gladly will!

    as it is this is what my phone looks like right now.

    [​IMG]

    IT'S AWESOME THAT I SET MY LOCATION TO NOWHERE AND I TOOK THE SNAP RIGHT AT 12:00AM LOL PERFECTION!

    one other question. does this build need the GAPPS zip file to complete google apps installation? or is it prebuilt into the install package?
     
  4. AtticTRON

    AtticTRON Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    318
    51
    53
    Los Angeles, CA
    That's a shame. Is it possible to get the chip maker to release the source? Maybe if we all email and ask for it? I really want to use this rom and I hate that something as little as wifi is keeping me from using it.
     
  5. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Hahahaha... yeah, good luck with that. Foxconn would be the folks you need to talk to. If you can bribe some Chinese guy that might work, otherwise, probably not.

    If you're plugged in on USB setting the phone to not sleep is trivial, incidentally, which keeps the Wifi up as the screen's on. That's how I have mine set so when it's plugged at my desk it's "on"
     
    blbeach likes this.
  6. boomer_jmoore

    boomer_jmoore Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    391
    37
    43
    Male
    Sales Associate at a Tech Store.
    Chicago, IL
    Quick question. Does anybody on here have the my account app apk from virgin? I actually like that app.
     
  7. hurricane3

    hurricane3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    15
    3
    16
    Haven't tried the new rom yet. I'll try it when it is officially Alpha (probably the next build). Two quick questions:

    1. Does it have built-in support for corded (USB) tethering?
    2. When the phone tries to connect to a WiFi router, is WiFi Protected Setup (WPS) an option?
     
  8. JETFIRE007

    JETFIRE007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Well Ticker, I don't know if this will help but...

    The Thunderbolt's Gingerbread Update was leaked today, and as far as I know, the specs. (I think its the same Qualcomm Chipset too) are nearly identical to the MT.


    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...build-2-11-605-2-ruu-for-the-htc-thunderbolt/

    I believe there was a leak before, but this one seems to be one of the final builds.

    Maybe that ROM can provide information as how to get the Sleep WiFi or the A-GPS working on the MT?

    I don't know if that would be of any help, just putting it out there.

    Thanks for all the work you've done Tinker!
     
  9. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    It's not the same hardware.
     
  10. JETFIRE007

    JETFIRE007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Well... damn...


    Pity.


    What is keeping you from getting the Haptic Feedback to work?

    Or is there no Documentation on that either?


    Pretty much the only thing keeping me now from making it my permanent rom.

    Thanks
     
  11. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    1,139
    1,793
    313
    Full-time college student
    Dallas, TX
    You have a nearly fully-functional 2.3 ROM and haptic feedback is thing holding you back? This is Android 2.3.5 (soon to be 2.3.7, I'm assuming). The latest version with all the security fixes, speed tweaks, and features... A version even Motorola hasn't given us.

    To each his own, I suppose.
     
    bradhoschar and LucaBrassi like this.
  12. LucaBrassi

    LucaBrassi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    64
    10
    18
    Adult Foster Care Group Home Manager
    Northern, MN
    Isaac I love your honesty and realism lol perhaps some one could shed some light... How would we go about using the oc kernel Isaac had in his ROM and still tether!?!? I can't seem to clamp at the moment
     
    IJOY94 likes this.
  13. elflip88

    elflip88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    49
    3
    16
    One question guys, i installed the umph kernel on my stock rom, and when i flashed the previous cm7 build, i could still set the processor up to 1.9 with setcpu, but this latest build it sent it back to only 1024mhz, did i do something wrong?? I formatted the system and installed this build like it said in the instructions
     
  14. JETFIRE007

    JETFIRE007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Don't get me wrong, its a GREAT rom!

    Its just that I have had issues with the touch buttons...

    On stock whenever they stopped working (almost always the god forsaken back button) Haptic touch would not activate, and I could notice whether it registered or not. (They stop working for 10-20 secs.)

    On CM7 I don't have that, and I end up exiting of whatever I was doing (posting, texting, browsing) and its aggravating (I'd tap it again, and again thinking maybe its stuck again, then it would back-up all those touches 1 or 2 secs. later)

    What I meant by "not my permanent ROM" was, I'd switch back to stock if these issues got unbearable.

    I don't want to come off as ungrateful or rude!
    My posts aren't like that!

    Again, great job guys!


    You've done what not many have been able to pull off in just a month!
     
  15. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    1,139
    1,793
    313
    Full-time college student
    Dallas, TX
    I'm just messing with ya. ;)

    I agree there's something wonky with the hard keys as I've had issues as well.
     
  16. Xerpocalypse

    Xerpocalypse Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    51
    4
    16
    I achieved this particular lock indoors in under 30 seconds with the "updated" GPS libraries for Gingerbread from XDA installed.

    [​IMG]

    Since installing CM7, I've noticed that my GPS fixes are consistently faster, as in under a minute. I'm unsure if the "updated" library that I installed is a contributor to this speed; however, the time until I get a lat/long fix is most certainly less than on the stock ROM, even without A-GPS.
     
  17. TheGeekRedneck

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    66
    13
    18
    Fantastic work! About the only thing I miss is the hdmi output but I don't use it enough for it to stop me from using this ROM. Overall speed and responsiveness are much improved over froyo and so far I've only had one spontaneous reboot... And I think that might have been the fault of Firefox for Android lol

    Thanks to tickerguy and issac for your continued work!
     
  18. zhengtli

    zhengtli Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    4
    0
    5
  19. rockneo

    rockneo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    116
    18
    38

    Now we know where you live >:)
     
  20. Synntax

    Synntax Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    6
    2
    6
    Im having a issue with the 3g cutting out after not using it after awhile. I usually have to turn airplane mode on and off to get it back on. Is anyone else having this issue and is their a simple fix for it? :eek:
     
  21. zhengtli

    zhengtli Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    This is a great job. Thumbs up for Tickerguy.

    I have a potential BUG to report.

    With the 9/20 version, is it possible to keep wifi on when screen is turned off?

    I tried to set "wifi sleep policy to never", it did not work.

    Did Tickerguy set the wifi to be turned off when screen is off to fix the wifi lockup bug?

    It was fine for the 9/5 version.

    Thanks.
     
  22. bryanjbenn

    bryanjbenn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    From Tickerguy.....

     
    bradhoschar likes this.
  23. mixedguy

    mixedguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    25
    6
    16

    I also have this issue and use airplane mode to remedy it.. I also noticed if I wake up the phone while WiFi is on the screen takes longer to turn on and sometimes it hangs and reboots my phone.. But with WiFi off the screen wakes up at it's normal speed with no issues other than the 3G not working that you mentioned..

    What's weird is I never had any of the Wifi lock up issues with the 9/12 version that people said was there. The WiFi actually functioned normally and never slowed down my wake up under the 9/12 version..

    Anyway this rom is still way better than stock and really gives the phone great performance! Good job Tickerguy!
     
  24. Only_Mike

    Only_Mike Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Well, I was hesitant to report the phone locking with the latest, 9/20 build, so I made sure to wipe cache, I did a factory reset of the phone, reinstalled the 9/20 build....

    It appears that the WiFi is still causing the phone to lock. I have my screen timeout set to 10 minutes, so I never let the phone "sleep" on it's own. I always push the power button manually to darken the screen.

    So last night, with the WiFi on, darkening the screen by pushing the power button, and after charging on A/C -- the phone would not wake-up and I had to pull the battery.

    I then kept WiFi on and kept the phone on A/C all night. I work in the basement of a building with no signal (not sure if this matters or not) -- so before going to the basement, I pushed the power button, got the the lock screen, and I got into the phone with no troubles.

    Then just now, while in the basement with no reception (WiFi set to on) -- I pushed the power button and only the softkeys lit up -- screen stayed dark. After attempting to push the power button numerous times, the phone rebooted and I was able to get into the phone.

    Not sure what else to say, but I guess that I'm surprised that nobody else is having this problem with the 9/20 build.

    EDIT: Oh wow, the person just before my post reports the rebooting of his phone to....so it's not just me.
     
  25. SamuraiFox18

    SamuraiFox18 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    263
    61
    53
    Stock Boy
    Spelter, Wv
    actually the longitude and latitiude is marked off so we cant know where he is. and the rest of the info on the screen wont help:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...