1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROM chat - What ROM(s) are you using?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by g01851, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. g01851

    g01851 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    216
    48
    53
    Male
    IT
    just south of Los Angeles, CA, USA
    What ROM(s) are you using? What do you like about them? What don't you like about them? What would you like to see differently?

    Please be specific, and give links to the source for your ROMs. Add info about kernels too, if you're using them.

    PS this is also a prompt to get the Sticky updated... some of the ROMs shown don't seem to be being updated or developed (I go by the last modified dated of the original posts, and/or date of last build). Many are from mid November.
     

    Advertisement

    Mehta23 likes this.
  2. g01851

    g01851 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    216
    48
    53
    Male
    IT
    just south of Los Angeles, CA, USA
    NYCHitman1, Rxpert83 and Hook like this.
  3. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    648
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Yup, that's me too. I've also used Cataclysm 4.4.2 ROM, but now have gone completely over to DU. They are similar in that both are stable ROMs very much based on AOSP but adding features. I can't even tell you exactly why I prefer DU to Cataclysm, I just do --er-- DU :rolleyes: ;) It might be that DU comes up cleaner and seems less Google immersed although you can add in any GAPPS package that would put it all back.

    [ROM] [KitKat 4.4.2] [HAMMERHEAD] Cataclysm for Nexus 5 [Dec 12, 2013 Release] - xda-developers
     
    g01851 likes this.
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,139
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I run either cataclysm or OMNIrom. Cataclysm for a huge amound of useful features, but I like that OMNI is open sourced and is slowly incorporating the features I miss from cataclysm.

    For kernels I always run Franco
     
  5. lornaevo

    lornaevo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    155
    22
    38
    Male
    Queens, NYC
    I am running stock 4.2.2 with Franco Kernel r32 and GravityBox.
     
  6. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,279
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,279
    8,457
    1,053
    Drafter
    Dirty Unicorns. +gravity box for a few extra tweaks.
     
    NYCHitman1 likes this.
  7. 1234west

    1234west Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    261
    51
    53
    Male
    Cataclysm With Franco Kernel. Get Up To 13+ Hours And 5+ Hours Of Screen On Time :D
     
  8. Slickinator

    Slickinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    262
    14
    38
    Sacramento
    I was using Cata, then CM for a while, then AOKP, then Omni, then CM again, then Omni again but I kept getting a bunch of bugs so I went back to stock and am about to flash DU, sucks that most ROMs right now are on nightlies but they'll get more stable later
     
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,139
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Cata hasn't been updated till like Dec 12 if you don't like nightlies :p
     
  10. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Sorry had to point out this error I corrected in bold BTW I'm thinking of getting me the stormtrooper 32Gb nexus 5 I will definitely use the roms and other things stated
     
  11. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Still on the Cataclysm stable build running latest Faux Kernel using his FauxClock app to access tweaks. I get insane battery life on this combo. Yesterday I had 4.5 hours of screen all on lte and was still around 50% battery!
     
  12. Incakola

    Incakola Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012

    Nov 1, 2012
    537
    183
    103
    Student
    Lake Worth, FL
    Running on stock with aviate launcher, Franco, exposed, and gravitybox and I think I'm gonna stick with this setup for a while. I loved cataclysm until I discovered gravitybox.
     
  13. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    My ROM.. Dirty Unicorns.. because.. well, it's my ROM.
     
  14. YoungGun

    YoungGun Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    70
    4
    16
    What would I need to flash a custom ROM if Nexus is suppose to be pure/stock Android? I mean what benefits would I get? Really worth bricking it with minor improvements?
     
  15. 1234west

    1234west Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    261
    51
    53
    Male
    Paranoid Android Beta 6 With Franco Kernel
     
  16. OhSeven

    OhSeven Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    318
    65
    53
    I rooted not long ago and installed multi-rom, so at this point I've got a few different roms but I can't tell if any one is better for daily use. I've got DU, AOSB, Purity, and Omni (haven't used it much) and I'm pretty satisfied with them all.

    Risk of bricking is low on the nexus, and the best feature of a rom for me is Voice+ on CM-based roms to integrate my GV number and text apps. Multi-window is functional on some roms also, but I haven't had a need to use it yet. There have just been a handful of times when copying information from another app when I wished I had a multi-window feature. Most of the other features are just slight interface customizations
     
  17. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    Interesting would you mind sharing your settings?
     
  18. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    Currently using Slim. I like it a lot and they've incorporated a new Recent app panel that works as an overlay.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKMjpFgWH58

    Plus I build it for myself and change the DPI in advance. ;)
     
  19. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,139
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I bounce between cataclysm, omni, and carbon.

    They all seem to have one thing that bugs me enough to switch every few days.

    Cata- no charge led (I really don't like using apps such as lightflow), no camera quicktile

    Omni- no sprint menu (so no prl/profile updates to fix data issues)

    Carbon- lock screen bug where the colors are way off every now and then. Also uses cm device tree, but that's more of a personal preference rather than a bug

    Maybe I'll give slim a try today
     
  20. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,279
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,279
    8,457
    1,053
    Drafter
    Rx, have you tried DU? There's charge led and sprint menu.
     
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,139
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Well, you've converted me then. :)

    I've flashed it a few times to try it out, but I assumed it didnt have it since it was based on OMNI, and the OMNI devs are (understandably) against adding anything closed source
     
  22. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,139
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Hey, theres no sprint menu! :eek:
     
  23. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,279
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,279
    8,457
    1,053
    Drafter
    Look under settings>more>mobile networks

    Now you have me worried I was thinking about another rom. :/
     
  24. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,139
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yeah its "there", it just doesn't work :p
     
  25. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,279
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,279
    8,457
    1,053
    Drafter
    This is all I know Rx.... Sorry if I led you astray, I had no idea it wasn't working or I'd have mentioned that. :eek:

    If you bring it up in the DU thread, Josh may have something to say about it...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...