1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] CM7 Nightlies EVO Community

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SHO_ONE, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. Droidster

    Droidster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    92
    21
    18
    Chicago Burbs
    Well, I think I'm gonna jump ship and try other roms:( I read every response since last night at xda and me and 2 others posted we have a dialer wakelock. For me this started in release 37.. Apparently the kernel they used fixed many other users reboot issues, so I guess they had to go that route.
    I'll check back and try further releases for sure, but for now.... gotta try something thats rock solid for "my" Evo
     

    Advertisement

  2. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Can someone post a list of everything not working, I assume its only going to be hdmi and 4g but I would like to know about some other stuff such as tethering.
     
  3. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    I'm using the baked in wifi tether right now on my iPad with 0 problems. Are you using wifi tether from the market or the one baked in?


    My bad on that. If it makes things easier then mods can you please combine this thread with the CM7 nightly thread please.
     
  4. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    I'm digging the gestures for canned messages. A lot easier to just swype a gesture for quick replies to the other half.

    Menu>settings>templates>new template
    Then type in your canned response in the box.
    Draw the gesture below and save.
    ?????
    Profit

    Sorry if it's old news for CM. Just found it out myself.
     
  5. luxetical

    luxetical Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    109
    7
    36
    Student
    Arizona
    It's running perfect for me. No issues other then the wifi tethering.
    Other then that, awesome stuff :D
     
  6. Hellbound

    Hellbound Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Lux, does your visual voicemail work? Mine won't sync and I get texts saying I have a voicemail . Also at the dialer screen, when I hold 1 to call voicemail it takes me to a message saying the number I'm calling is not in service.... The only way to get my voicemail is by calling my number
     
  7. luxetical

    luxetical Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    109
    7
    36
    Student
    Arizona
    I actually think that's a different issue, not with CM itself.
    I've had the same problem before but since I use Google Voice for my voicemail I never really tried to figure it out.

    Edit:
    Hellbound, try what evoX2 says below this post
    I think that might solve your issue :D
     
  8. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    Under menu>settings>call settings>voicemail settings make sure it's your phone number and not the *86 or whatever it is. Then when you speed dial 1 it'll go to your voicemail.
     
    Hellbound and luxetical like this.
  9. Hellbound

    Hellbound Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    thanks i figured out how to get the visual voicemail to work... You have to go back to a rom where it works and use titanium backup and back up the .apk for the file. Than flash the new rom and restore it with titanium. works great now
     
  10. azevedo

    azevedo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I am currently running the cm7 RC with the snap turbo kernel, with turbo activated. Oc'ed with setcpu. Its running great on my evo.
     
  11. chum1600

    chum1600 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    172
    19
    58
    S. St. Louis County, MO
    I was using the wireless tether from the market. I didn't realize the one that was built it would work w/ CM7. Thanks for letting me know that. Flashing right now.
     
  12. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Hey everyone I was just wondering if there was a way to get HTC's smart dial in CM7, I don't know if this is possible but is there a way to back it up with TB and then restore it when you flash CM7?
     
  13. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    You would need the Sense dialer. I'm going to go out a limb, and say you'd need the Sense framework for that to actually work. I highly doubt it would work on CM (let alone 2.3) even if you could transfer it (which I'm sure you *could* do). That being said, there are a lot of dialers in the market that have similar functionality.
     
  14. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I have been using Dialer One on Evervolv but it doesnt come up as default. Would it be possible to rename the dialer.apk to .bak and rename the dialer one apk to dialer.apk or would that have some bad results?
     
    SHO_ONE likes this.
  15. dblue

    dblue Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    10
    4
    16
    I installed Dialer One and it worked great. To get it to be default you have to clear the defaults of your old dialer, or get a program to trigger the dialer from the outside.
     
  16. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Right, that is how you make the dialer the default, but if you're using the default launcher, you can't just change the dialer button. That will still go to the stock dialer. You can change that on any other launcher, obviously.
     
  17. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Thanks everyone, this is one thing I miss from Sense. Now I have one more question is there a way to get visual voice mail working in CM7?
     
  18. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    That was my reasoning behind possibly changing the file names. Might give it a shot....can always revert it if necessary. As far as a fix for VVM, there is alot about it in the AOSP threads at XDA but I just switched over to GV and have that annoying icon in the status bar
     
  19. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    I want to say you shouldn't do that, but like you said, you can try it and revert.
     
  20. kingp

    kingp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    162
    11
    48
    IT Systems Consultant
    Murfreesboro, TN
    So I've been using it since it was released, on my EVO, and I'm beginning to see some issues. So far, the biggest issue is sending MMS to my contacts. For instance, I'm trying to send a pic to a family member, but after I click "send", it just stays at "sending". The pic is only 1.38 megabytes and it's going out over WiFi, so this should be a breeze for it. However, the phone has sat here for nearly 7 minutes and hasn't sent the picture yet.

    I've tried re-sending it multiple times, and all have the same result. The picture is stored on my local gallery, not on the SD card.

    Is there anything I can do about this, besides switch back to my Sense ROM until the CM7 Final is released?
     
  21. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    try switching over to 3g and sending it and then back into wifi.

    on the few instances I have tried anything CM it actually sent mms via 3g, never wifi even while connected to wifi.

    it's just a theory, I don't use any of the CM roms anymore because I needed something more reliable, but it is possible that mms still works this way and it isn't initiating the 3g connection to send the mms.

    on a side note I am going to suggest that all of these CM7 rc1 threads get compiled into the one CM7 thread, similar to what we have all done with the other rom threads. ..just a suggestion..doesn't mean anyone will actually do it lol

    Things have the potential to get very cluttered up should everyone continue to make a serperate thread for each issue that arises on these CM roms...
     
    SHO_ONE and kingp like this.
  22. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Done!
     
    SHO_ONE and kingp like this.
  23. smokin3000gt

    smokin3000gt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    love it. Even though it's a nightly (#36 w/ kernel .37) it has been the smoothest, fastest, best battery life ROM my phone has seen.
     
  24. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    I believe there is an MMS fix going into an upcoming nightly. Im not sure if its going to make it into #41 or not. Just a lil something that i read over at the XDA side.

    For some reason or another i have been able to send and receive MMS on CM7. No reason why, I just never had an issue.
     
  25. Droidster

    Droidster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    92
    21
    18
    Chicago Burbs
    Commits on twitter ... seems they are merging wimp onto cm7 nightly... saw it posted @ xda
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...