1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [ROM]Cold as Ice for Optimus V [UPDATED] [A11]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cammykool, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    The original developer no longer supports this ROM so there will be no more updates
    the code has been merged with TDM's own Quattrimus ICS
    so please look there for updates!


    Well it looks like Cold As Ice is working on Optimus V. I take no credit for figuring any of this out, or even being a DEV. I just like using ROMs. So here's the steps you need to take to get Cold As Ice working on the Optimus V! Cold as Ice is a Optimus S rom that required no changed to run on the V besides the keyswap.

    Boot into recovery.
    Make a backup.
    Clear Data, Cache & Dalvik Cache.

    Install the Cold As Ice zip... Alpha 11D
    Download Link - [WIP][ROM]COLD AS ICE-CM9 Sprint LS670 6/3 ZVD basesband Alpha11 - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com

    Flash Gapps
    Download Link - Goo-inside.me Downloads - Downloading gapps-ics-20120317-small-signed.zip

    (DO THIS) Reboot your phone, it will take a while to start up.

    Once it starts up you'll notice a few things are still messed up so reboot back into recovery.

    OV fix for all sprint branding and MMS *INCLUDES KEYFIX* - Keyfix from thekraven

    Now boot up again and enjoy CM9!

    Note: no preview previous versions but alpha 10 has preview... still no camcorder

    Note: I don't know anything about building ROMs so I may not be the right person to ask, just posting this to help out!


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    With motoblur 4.0 launcher will release if people are interested

    [​IMG]





    what works as of now that doesnt work on quattrimus:
    Native USB
    PNGS updated so the entire rom looks better and not so choppy
    mic works on apps oither then Phone
    MMS half works (you can send not receive PMed jerry about it)
    the backing up of apps works so when you log into your account your apps automatically start downloading (disable this during setup if not wanted)
    3G is no longer choppy will stay locked in permentilly (unless on WI-FI)
    may or may not work with jerrys recovery (needs testers!)

    if you know my recent struggles and wish to help help me pay the bills!

    https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_donations&business=7X74QR6TT8UXY&lc=US&item_name=cammy%20services
     

    Advertisement

  2. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Oh cool I might give her this so she is kicking ics like me and the camera works that's better than what we got on the mt
     
  3. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Will this work with Jerry's Green CWM Recovery?
     
  4. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    not sure ill post screenshots now can you test and report back?
     
  5. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    If I wanted to test, I coulda answered my own question silly lol. ;)

    My question is really for anyone who has already tested it using Green CWM Recovery. :)

    Thanks for going to all the trouble for posting about this new rom, Cam!
     
  6. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    im on the bobz recovery the touch recoveries seem a little buggy but if kernels can be flashed on them then it should be safe

    i can comform the rom works ecelentilly
     
  7. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    348
    63
    53
    Cammy's spelling KILLS me :banghead:
     
  8. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    sorry :| this is why i dont post around here much
    my spelling bothers people and i donrt give back much
     
  9. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    348
    63
    53
    It's a joke. I actually find your spelling to be humorous. Btw I've seen you've taken a liking to Android central.
     
  10. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    alot more ROMS are developed there
     
  11. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Cammy's spelling makes me smile. ;)
    Jerry's recovery has issues flashing some roms due to the way the device tree was renamed in the sources for porting from CM. It's a simple fix I know he's implemented for his next release of his recovery. I'd love to test this, but I have too much on my plate as it is.
     
    cdunkle584 likes this.
  12. lilrob1213

    lilrob1213 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    164
    4
    36
    Hey, how's the battery life on this rom? :)
     
  13. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    ah-maz-ing
     
  14. lilrob1213

    lilrob1213 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    164
    4
    36
    yeah? like on the same level as backside? I'm gettin tons of battery here :)
     
  15. quacles

    quacles Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    55
    17
    38
    Doesn't work with CWM-Green Recovery yet, just comes back with E:Errror in /sdcard/alpha9d-cm9blahblahblah.zip

    Might have been a bad MD5sum or what ever. I will try again in a bit.
     
    Petrah likes this.
  16. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    It isn't going to work with that recovery. Not until Jerry releases the next build with a fix in it. Try VM670NH, that will do the job.
     
    Petrah and quacles like this.
  17. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    anyone wanna try with xiona? and MMS fix coming soon
     
  18. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    im soak testing a preview of alpha 10 thekraven sent me for OV users and he has camera preview working! will update here when more is known
     
  19. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Just when I got Quicksilver ported for you, too!:banghead:
    Well, it's in the Quicksilver thread now, it's for alpha9d.
     
  20. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    xD i have to go back to a9 thou TDMs buttion fix wont work on a10 no one will build a new one
     
  21. KidFr3sH

    KidFr3sH Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Can u pm the a10 build?
     
  22. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    a10 doesnt work for us noi keyswitcher will stick
     
  23. CuriousNoob

    CuriousNoob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    272
    73
    53
    The Web.
    Cammy. PM me the link plz?

    Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

    I also see that you have the Motoblur launcher. There's also a MIUI v4 launcher for non miui, but has to be ICS, roms.
     
  24. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    If you're having issues with the key mappings, you can try Button Savior from the Play store. I sometimes use it when I test a Rom with goofy key bindings.
     
  25. badboytoast

    badboytoast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    225
    32
    43
    Its really hard trying to switch you home key's when you don't know which one to switch since its the sprint key layouts, maybe someone could tell me which one to switch home and menu!

    Off topic is that the noob from AC the lewa Rom couriosnoob :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...