1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] CTMod 3.80 (04/07/13)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bloodawn, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. xaelith

    xaelith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    May 19, 2012

    May 19, 2012
    570
    266
    113
    Male
    Electronics assembly
    Utah
    Unfortunately, the only thing I can help you with is the lockscreen clock. It requires the framework-res.apk and theming the photos, but it is doable.
     

    Advertisement

  2. j61101

    j61101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    111
    13
    38
    Download an app called quickshortcutmaker. It will have some fun stuff that you can mess with in there but in there somewhere I spotted the setting that you are looking for. Its a setting that isn't really available any other way.
     
  3. gebraset

    gebraset Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    Aug 25, 2013
    7
    1
    6
    I just wanted to go ahead and make my first post here for this ROM, the Sprint version.

    As far as the interface and how it runs, it seems great! I love the simplicity over MegaTron, which I just switched from. However, I am experiencing a few issues that I figured I should report.

    1. The camera trick that you posted about did work. I had to take it out of the quickpanel and then clear the data for the camera application. So, good to go there.

    2. The 3D performance is horrendous at this point in time. On stock Android, I am using AnTuTu Benchmark. Overall, this ROM beats out the stock Android in almost every category. But with 3D graphics, it is ranking as follows:

    Stock CPU Clock (Stock Android): 3022
    Overclocked CPU Clock (CTMod): 894

    I have tried running it with a normal CPU clock, using the default values, and the score is even worse. Is there any chance that we could see a fix to this?

    3. I am also experiencing the issue already reported where using a PIN for the unlock screen makes the process force close.

    4. For some reason a lot of apps are not installing, as in they are not compatible within the Play Store. Some include: the Monopoly game, the Discover Mobile app, Google Earth, Into the Dead game, Fast Racing 3D game, CSR Racing game, World of Goo game, and the Cars.com app.They all work under stock as well as on MegaTron.

    5. I am not able to actually toggle data on and off in the quickpanel. The indicator always shows that it is on, but I have to go to the actual setting in order to toggle it successfully.

    Either way, great looking ROM. I'm just dabbling for the first time in the whole root access and custom ROMs area, but I love the minimalist approach.

    Thanks for your hard work and time! :)
     
  4. cwgraf71

    cwgraf71 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    141
    22
    58
    Male
    Microsoft/Networking
    Westlake, Los Angeles, CA


    I installed this on a friends TU and is having the same problems, did you get any responses? The not compatable is the bigger issue that would be nice to have fixed.
     
  5. titanz91

    titanz91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Thought I'd post this in another thread as well.

    I quote myself,

    "I want to install a custom ROM on my Boost Mobile Transform Ultra. Got it rooted, updated Clockworkmod is installed (the 2 minute reboot fix), busybox updated. I know the bootloader has to be unlocked so you can install a custom ROM. I see all sots of wonderful tutorials for root, CWM and other mods, but nothing on how to either unlock a bootloader or to tell whether or not it's already unlocked. I regretfully tried installing Megatron on a Sprint version of the phone and ended up bricking it. I believe because of the locked bootloader. Anyway, any idea on how I'd go about checking bootloader status and if need be, unlock the bootloader for a Samsung Transform Ultra (Boost Mobile)?

    I preferably want Megatron, Clockworkmod or CTMod (incase that makes a difference as far as instructions go), but any custom ROM really will do. Any ideas?

    PS: I tried checking 'bootloader' through a dial code, but all it gave me was a choice of using UART or USB (whatever that is and means) and su fails to update (downloading manifest fails).". So, anyone :B?
     
  6. niteNarmor

    niteNarmor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012

    Jun 28, 2012
    804
    242
    93
    Male
    Jacksonville, NC
    For the Samsung Transform Ultra, there is no unlocking bootloader.
    Megatron should not have bricked your device. I have used Megatron and even helped (extremely small part) develop the ROM.
    What version of MegaTron did you use?
    I will try and help you the best way I know how as I no longer am on that device. But I do have the device in the drawer.
    One thing I did notice was installing a Sprint version ROM on a Boost phone. Not a big deal as Boost uses Sprint towers. Just have to watch what you are loading.
     
    titanz91 likes this.
  7. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,437
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,437
    679
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    The only way you could brick a phone installing Megatron or CTMod is if you flashed the intall zip with the old recovery. That would definitely do it. Both roms will work on both Boost and Sprint phones just fine.
     
    titanz91 likes this.
  8. titanz91

    titanz91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Not exactly a 'true fix', but it works for me. For the flashlight toggle and camera issue, I moved a 2nd/3rd party camera app (in my case, Camera ICS) to the system partition, uninstalled the built in camera app, renamed the Camera ICS apk to 'Camera.apk' and rebooted with the widget active in quick panel. The camera will NOT run if the light is already on when trying to open the app (really, why would it be on beforehand anyway), but you just turn it off. As long as the light is off before trying to use the camera in any app, the flashlight widget can remain there always and the camera remains 100% functional from what I can tell. The camera also still opens up just fine in other apps as well. QR Droid still works and I did a Skype test call to be sure. Worked great. I've only tested this with Camera ICS, so, results with other camera apps may vary. Sorry if someone already made a post like this.

    EDIT: Also can use apps that use the camera, like Facebook, to upload a pic by taking a picture without issue.
     
  9. titanz91

    titanz91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Thank you both for your answer. I also got replies in another thread. Decided to go with CTMod to save resources and a few apps wouldn't run on Megatron. Both ROMS are great though.
     
    mydian likes this.
  10. titanz91

    titanz91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    I do, but I still get hangups and freezes. Works sometimes, other times, not. Any idea what's causing it, even with voice search installed? This feature works fine on other phones and devices I have that run android, but only seems to be a problem on this one.

    EDIT: I was running Hackers Keyboard and switched back to the included ICS Keyboard. Maybe that'll fix it. Anyway, sorry for the bother.
     
  11. trenten brown

    trenten brown Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015

    Jun 15, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Female
    Hey, Look, Listen! Goo.IM is no longer running, can you help out with UPDATING THE LINK thank you.
     
  12. cwgraf71

    cwgraf71 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    141
    22
    58
    Male
    Microsoft/Networking
    Westlake, Los Angeles, CA

    Did you get a link? I'm a data hoarder and could create a link to pretty much anything for the TU.
     

Share This Page

Loading...