1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] {Cyanogenmod 10.0}

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by curbthepain, May 13, 2014.

  1. curbthepain

    curbthepain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014

    Mar 31, 2014
    101
    24
    38
    Male
    Grill Cook at Mc Donald's
    [DISCLAIMER]

    I am not responsible for any problems this ROM causes with your phone, love life, friends or pet rock. :D

    [DISCLAIMER]

    Link: Here

    This ROM is based off stock 4.1.2 from our manufacturer and has nearly everything ported over from CM10.0. Basically I'm in need of some help. It boots to the boot-animation and hangs but i cannot get a log-cat. Any help on the development would be great.
     

    Advertisement

  2. edodson84

    edodson84 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,218
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    1,218
    510
    223
    Male
    Master Powersports Technician
    Bellwood, pa
    What all did u change if u tried using cm framework u will need to change the boot class path, i have personally done this and got cm10 to boot but everything was broken, once phenom gets working with his dev device i believe we will have a working cm very soon :)
     
  3. curbthepain

    curbthepain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014

    Mar 31, 2014
    101
    24
    38
    Male
    Grill Cook at Mc Donald's
    Well its CM10 from the old warp. the old warp has the same radio and very similar specs concerning ram, cpu and other stuff like that so most stuff should work completely if not ill copy the ril files from awesome rom and those are almost guaranteed compatible with this rom since their both 4.1.2.

    could you provide me with anything i need to get it to boot?
     
  4. edodson84

    edodson84 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,218
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    1,218
    510
    223
    Male
    Master Powersports Technician
    Bellwood, pa
    U need to change the boot class in the kernel so it knows what classes to load and in what order as stock is different, i believe its in init.rc

    Edit: although stuff will still be broken due to hardware differences if it boots as u need to use a rom with the same resolution, and cpu eg: radio, camera, wifi. I used the rom from the samsung relay
     
  5. curbthepain

    curbthepain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014

    Mar 31, 2014
    101
    24
    38
    Male
    Grill Cook at Mc Donald's
    Heres the updated link (above) and it has the correct radio and resolution
     
  6. cell2011

    cell2011 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    479
    38
    43
    Male
    caregiver/laborer
    charleston WV
    Anyone try this is it working?
     
  7. curbthepain

    curbthepain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014

    Mar 31, 2014
    101
    24
    38
    Male
    Grill Cook at Mc Donald's
    It doesnt boot but if someone can get it to boot that would be wonderful.
     
  8. edodson84

    edodson84 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,218
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    1,218
    510
    223
    Male
    Master Powersports Technician
    Bellwood, pa
    Did u change bootclass like i suggested??
     
  9. cell2011

    cell2011 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    479
    38
    43
    Male
    caregiver/laborer
    charleston WV
    Anyone try this yet? Is it further along than CM 11. Because i used CM 11 for awhile on wifi it was awesome
     
  10. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Doesn't boot. Likely bootclass issues like Earl had mentioned and or ramdisk.
     
  11. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    yes wont boot gets to the circle mod screen and spins is all:(
     
  12. curbthepain

    curbthepain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014

    Mar 31, 2014
    101
    24
    38
    Male
    Grill Cook at Mc Donald's
    how do you edit the boot class and to what do i change it?

    EDIT: Just looked into it and it has no path for the boot class it just says

    export BOOTCLASSPATH

    theres nothing after it. but is there anything else you guys can think of?

    EDIT: There is no need for a bootclasspath change. there was no change of the bootclasspath till CM10.1
     
  13. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    I can look at it tonight, if you haven't found a solution.

    Anyway, here is what I do to get a logcat: (especially if you get to the boot animation!)
    In the init.rc, you need to create a service that starts the logcat binary, and saves the output to disk. You need to set the service up so it calls itself repeatedly, or you wont get any input except from the first call. Make sure the the service is in the same group as the bootani service.

    If it sounds confusing, don't worry it is. This is what I did to get CM10.1 to boot on the Awe. :D I'll get a working service later, as I have one (somewhere) from my previous ventures into getting 10.1/11 to boot. (I just don't have time to do OS development AND kernel development lol.) I have work in 5 hours, and need sleep. After work is truck-hunting time, then onto school.

    edit: This is where I got the original idea in the first place. However, while I used the service verbatim originally, I have made my own edits to make it work better.
    https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/android-porting/aSB-L7yr2TM
    Remember, you need to have a valid location to save to, but also easy to access from, say, recovery. I used the location in the link for awhile, but changed it to something like /data/logger.txt. Also, the service in that link doesn't restart itself. You may not need it, if you can get the logcat output to keep generating, but I could not. Read up on the logcat command-line options too, so you get better output from that service.

    subedit: I'm really putting this here so I can remember this tidbit, and can just link to it later XD
     
    edodson84 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...