1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [ROM] Dirty Unicorns 5.1.1 {HAMMERHEAD} (4/26/15)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NYCHitman1, Dec 16, 2013.

?

Which mobile technology does your carrier use?

  1. GSM

    76.1%
  2. CDMA

    23.9%
  1. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Trust me, been there done that and musta skipped the T-Shirt because I'm pretty sure I'll end up doing it again. :rolleyes:;)
     

    Advertisement

    lennydude likes this.
  2. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    Does anyone have this rom working with SwiftKey? About 3/4 of the time the Swiftkey keyboard is invisible for me. I wait.. i press the invisible keys but nothing.
     
  3. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,432
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,432
    8,788
    1,053
    Drafter
    It's an issue with SwiftKey that they refuse to fix. Just wanted to be clear that it's not a rom issue.

    For the record though, DU is kind enough to try to fix the issue with SwiftKey. Check this post for more information.

    Expect a fix soon ;)


    In the meantime, when you get a blank keyboard, try rotating to landscape and back to portrait.
     
    Twiz likes this.
  4. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
     
  5. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Another thing you can do (what I have done) is uninstall SwiftKey and download an apk for an older version (I'm using 5.0.0.72), making sure auto updates are disabled, to use until the next Hammerhead build of DU which should hopefully include the fix :)
     
    Twiz likes this.
  6. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    The issue has been fixed. Will be included in next DU test build. Maybe tonight or tomorrow AM.
     
    xdrc45, Hook and Twiz like this.
  7. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    By the way, I dood it (won't dwell on it here as a little OT)... My Tilapia is now a Grouper with 3G capability gone and running DU.

    Talk about fanboi... :rolleyes: :D
     
    xdrc45 likes this.
  8. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Unfortunately, none of us owns a Tilapia. :(
     
  9. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    I never used the 3G. I was happy to turn it into a Grouper Tablet which simply required (as confirmed by helpful folks in the DU G+ community) flashing the Grouper version of TWRP. Well worth getting rid of 3G. I love having DU on my tablet.
     
  10. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    I have issues with my phone losing signal since I rooted and installed DU. About 10% loss at home and when I was out today about 75% loss!!! I had no issues till I did the root and DU. Anyone else have problems like this? Also random reboots and freezes.
     
  11. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    Did you ever get this solved? This is the same thing that is happening to me.
     
  12. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    There's a newer version of DU posted at the google+ community page. Does it address the swiftkey issue?
     
  13. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,432
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,432
    8,788
    1,053
    Drafter
    It's supposed to, yes
     
    gale65 and xdrc45 like this.
  14. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    Hey Twiz!
    With the random reboots, freezing and battery issues, it sounds like Furnace kernel isn't playing nice on your N5! I was having the same issue as you. I switched to using Franco kernel and haven't experienced any problems since. For some reason Furnace kernel causes issues for some N5 users, while others it works just fine.
    I would recommend trying something like either Franco or ElementalX kernel and the problems should go away.
     
    lennydude, Twiz and Brian706 like this.
  15. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    Thanks! I was actually thinking of trying the ElementalX kernel to increase battery life. I am a heavy user and sometimes have to charge my phone 2x a day. Since the SwiftKey fix is out, I have some work to do tomorrow!
     
  16. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    This might be a stupid question, but do I install the AOSP or the Cyanongenmod version of ElementalX with DU?
     
  17. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    Hey your welcome!
    I do like ElementalX a lot and it really ran great on DU! :thumbup:
    Just keep in mind (since your a heavy user) that if you enable S2W or DT2W it's a battery hog and it will definitely drain the battery.
     
    Twiz likes this.
  18. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    AOSP.

    Also, if anyone hadn't read my post in the test build I posted yesterday - no more Furnace. Went back to stock with some tweaks.
     
    xdrc45, Hook, Twiz and 2 others like this.
  19. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,432
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,432
    8,788
    1,053
    Drafter
    Looks like we got a sweet new boot animation too?!
     
    lennydude and xdrc45 like this.
  20. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    Updated DU and installed ElementalX kernel. SwiftKey works!!!! I love you guys!
     
    xdrc45 and Brian706 like this.
  21. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,432
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,432
    8,788
    1,053
    Drafter
    :knuddel:
     
    xdrc45 likes this.
  22. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Yup! Some random guy made it and presented it to us. Most of us liked it, so we brought it on board. I kinda wish it was constant instead of fade out.
     
  23. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    We love you too Twiz! :dancing2:

    Lol :laugh:
     
    Twiz, Hook and Brian706 like this.
  24. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    How do I change the lock screen so I drag down to unlock it? I can't find unlock in the options for that. I am used to dragging it down rather than right.
     
  25. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Settings > Dirty Tweaks > General UI (Lockscreen) > Shortcuts
     
    Brian706 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...