1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [ROM] Dirty Unicorns 5.1.1 {HAMMERHEAD} (4/26/15)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NYCHitman1, Dec 16, 2013.

?

Which mobile technology does your carrier use?

  1. GSM

    76.1%
  2. CDMA

    23.9%
  1. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    well I think I figured it out. I sent a mms this afternoon and it was trying to send it all that time. Now 8sms is trying to send it. I wonder why it didn't send (and still isn't).

    edit-I changed to a different apn and it worked. I guess I selected the wrong one before (I could still call out and get sms texts though).

    so it was my own fault all along. Thanks for talking me down from the ledge.
     

    Advertisement

  2. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    Something is still going on. It was at around 48% and GSAM said 6 hours until full. Now it is at 60% and it says over 10 hours until full. It's charging even more slowly than before. And it's really hot. 107 degrees just from charging. I'm a little frustrated since I don't really always have 10 or 12 hours (or more if it's going to take 10 hours to get from 60% to full) to charge it every day.
     
  3. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    650
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Try reflashing DU and leaving it on the DU stock kernel. Does it charge correctly? If it seems to charge okay, try ElementalX again if you want. If the charging problem returns, maybe it's a Kernel setting. Are you making any modifications on the settings? I'm not familiar with ElementalX, but if there is a way to dump your settings and return to default, try that.

    Upshot is, I don't think it''s the ROM.
     
  4. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    Got a dumb issue with the new phone setup. I have clean flashed the latest DU (7-13) and am running the stock kernel.
    Only when I reboot or start the phone do I get the message...........

    unfortunately the process com.android.systemmi has stopped.

    I just cancel the message and the phone seems fine..............everything I need seems to work fine.

    I am pretty sure it is not the rom but was wondering if anyone has any ideas?

    Thanks........

    Lenny
     
  5. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Is it meant to say systemui?

    I have that issue too, after it happens the notification and navigation bars disappear, phone locks and then everything goes back to normal.
     
  6. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    Yeah I think it did say that...........

    It is like the doctors visit..................the issue goes away! For some reason I can not get the darn phone to replicate the issue......LOL

    If it happens again I will post it.

    Sorry.............

    Lenny
     
  7. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    650
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    This has been happening to me too, not often enough to really annoy me. If it keeps up, might see if anyone has reported it in the bug tracker.
     
  8. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    BTW.............

    I use either Textra or Hangouts but cannot send or receive a picture to someone. Anyone else have that issue?


    EDIT: Hmmmmmmmmm seems to work using hangouts. I really am not into hangouts but it seems to be the only one working right now. Will get used to it I suppose........LOL
    EDIT: It happened again, no sending of a picture. It says I can not do it. Flashed my phone back to stock and all seems OK for now???
     
  9. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    I have it on whatever kernel is in the DU rom. I only flashed the rom and a gapps package. It did charge by around 10 am. I unplugged it then and an hour later it was still at 100% so I don't think anything is going on at the moment. Hopefully it'll stay that way.

    eta: it may have been fully charged before 10 am. That's just when I checked it.
     
  10. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Sounds like a farce isolated issue. Some have experienced a random SystemUI FC, but it hasn't been targeted to a specific cause meaning that it isn't a bug. However, if it does happen to you - grab a log of it. It hasn't happened to me, so I can't do anything about it without that.
     
    Hook likes this.
  11. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    650
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    It seems to have stopped here. Also, Franco r57 seems to be fine again. If I see it again, I'll try and get a log, but I don't think it's the ROM.
     
  12. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    I was about to say I think the "old" radio fixed the dropping signal issue but it just dropped again. Very odd that I had no issues before rooting or modding. This all just doesn't make sense unless there is some setting that is wrong for ATT.
     
  13. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,786
    1,053
    Drafter
    What apn are you using? I'm on at&t as well and using the ATT LTE (pta) apn setting with no issues. Been using this rom for a long time now (many versions) and not had any signal issues.
     
    xdrc45 and Twiz like this.
  14. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    78
    Steeler country
    When I dug into the settings NOTHING was checked. :-/ Hmmm that may have been the problem! I selected ATT LTE and rebooted. Thanks and I'll let you know how that works out! :)
     
  15. Hunter5

    Hunter5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    373
    95
    53
    Male
    Lowe's Store Mgr
    Orlando, FL
    For those MetroPCS users, what APN are you on? Nothing on mine was checked as well.
     
  16. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    I have mine selected for the "MetroPCS - fast.metropcs.com"
    These are my Metro APN settings -
     

    Attached Files:

    Hunter5 likes this.
  17. Hunter5

    Hunter5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    373
    95
    53
    Male
    Lowe's Store Mgr
    Orlando, FL
    I have T-Moble US LTE (fast.t-moble.com) and T-Moble US LTE IPv6 (fast.t-moble.com) Not sure what the difference is if any.
     
  18. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    IPv6 can't be used yet anyway, so doesn't matter.
     
    Hunter5 likes this.
  19. Schex13

    Schex13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    134
    27
    43
    VA
    I totally dig this ROM, but I'm still running the 6/21 version of it. Any word on if there will be an update beyond the 7/6 one soon? I usually full wipe and don't want to do so if a new update is about to head down the pike. I'm totally patient on this, but was curious.
     
  20. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    650
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Certainly there will be. When is not set. It usually takes me about an hour to re-set-up things after a clean wipe, thanks to Nova backup and Titanium Backup. Up to you, of course. ;)
     
    xdrc45 likes this.
  21. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,786
    1,053
    Drafter
    I've been on the 7/13 test build for awhile. They announced weeklies on July 9 but I haven't seen any roll out yet. I'd imagine one will be out soon...
    :don't know:
     
  22. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    I'm using a 7-13 one too. Only I had no idea it was a test build. :p
     
  23. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    The latest official build is v7.7 - 07/06/14. These are posted on DU Google+ Under the Official Build category, but really it's posted in the OP of the DU thread. Although this official build 7.7 still has Furnace kernel, which did cause issues for some N5 users. So I'd recommend a different kernel if you were to use this version.

    They just added a new Test Build category recently to the DU Google+ also. Latest DU test build is the version that your running... 7/13/14 without Furnace kernel.

    The test builds are just that.... They usually have new fearures and tweaks being tested before they are implemented into an official build. Test builds are generally very stable, but you may experience a bug or two along the way.
     
    Brian706, Schex13 and gale65 like this.
  24. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    New DU test build 07/23 up on Google+ :thumbup:
     
    Hook and Brian706 like this.
  25. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    650
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Yeah, saw that earlier, but I was at work.

    I'm not now. ;)
     
    xdrc45 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...