1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [ROM] Dirty Unicorns 5.1.1 {HAMMERHEAD} (4/26/15)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NYCHitman1, Dec 16, 2013.

?

Which mobile technology does your carrier use?

  1. GSM

    76.1%
  2. CDMA

    23.9%
  1. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    Awesome.... That means that it is time for you to Flash away!! ;)
    I'm still on L, but I think I'll be switching back to DU today... I really miss my DU ROM on my N5!! :thumbup:
     

    Advertisement

    Hook likes this.
  2. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    Quick question............

    Does anyone know what the latest test build uses for a kernel?

    Thanks
    Lenny
     
  3. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Weeklies for Hammerhead have been rolling out.

    download.dirtyunicorns.com

    See?

    Stock Google kernel with a bunch of tweaks.

    https://github.com/DirtyUnicorns-KitKat/android_kernel_lge_hammerhead/commits/du44
     
    xdrc45, Hook, Brian706 and 1 other person like this.
  4. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Brothers, do any of you use tasker? I installed it the other day and so far I have it set up to turn wifi off when I leave the house, set my phone to vibrate when I get to work, turn the phone to silent when it's night time and I've got some NFC tags coming in the mail to hopefully set up to turn blue tooth on when I get in the car.

    I thought it would be awesome and handy to be able to set it to toggle between normal and extended desktop mode for certain apps, mainly chrome, so I did some googling, found this thread [REQUEST] [TASKER TASK] Expanded desktop/LMT… | Galaxy Nexus | XDA Forum downloaded the plug in but when I got into enable extended desktop as a custom rom option it tells me the rom doesn't support it, which is weird because extended desktop is totally an option on DU.

    Anyone got any ideas or even any cool stuff you use tasker for? Thanks :) 
     
  5. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    So exactly what ,if anything, is the difference between a weekly (of which there are two one day apart ;)) and a test build?

    I have the 7/23 test build right now and will probably flash future weeklies (which I've been doing on my psuedo-grouper), but I'm just curious what the distinctions are.
     
  6. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    I don't use Tasker, but you might get more answers if you gave this it's own thread. Also, check the Tasker thread in the Android Appplications forum.
     
    thisISjoel likes this.
  7. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Weeklies = anything that has been merged recently.

    Test builds = anything that has been merged + some things that haven't.
     
    xdrc45 and Hook like this.
  8. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    Personally I have never used it but it does sound interesting. :)
     
  9. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,432
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,432
    8,788
    1,053
    Drafter
    Oops. I guess I missed the website link. :eek:
     
  10. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I think I just stupidly forgot to post it in the OP.

    EDIT: Fixed that.
     
    Brian706 and Hook like this.
  11. Topshottayut

    Topshottayut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014

    Jul 24, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Can I use this Rom on the Note 2 sprint version SPH-L900
     
  12. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    No you definitely cannot use this ROM version (N5) on your Note 2, unless your looking to turn it into a Paper Weight! ;)

    You might want to look here for an appropriate DU ROM for you Note 2 - [ROM] [Team D.I.R.T.] Dirty Unicorns 4.4.4 {… | Sprint Galaxy Note II | XDA Forum

    and in the correct device forum - http://androidforums.com/sprint-galaxy-note-2-all-things-root/633205-sprint-galaxy-note-2-all-things-root-guide.html
     
  13. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    xdrc45 likes this.
  14. Topshottayut

    Topshottayut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014

    Jul 24, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    thanks for the reply I have the rom that was made for the sph-l900 but I just wanted the updates man I love this rom!!!!1
     
  15. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Our maintainer of that device is active duty in the USAF (stationed in Germany), so he doesn't have much time these days. However, I'll pass along the message to him.
     
  16. gale65

    gale65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    597
    62
    78
    Female
    indiana
    edit-never mind. I decided to wait until I get back from vacation. :p
     
  17. Incakola

    Incakola Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012

    Nov 1, 2012
    537
    183
    103
    Student
    Lake Worth, FL
    You might wanna contact the dev of "secure settings" to extend support beyond stock. The option did work for me obviously because I'm still on stock.
     
    thisISjoel likes this.
  18. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Cheers, I sent the dev and email, we'll see where that gets me :)
     
  19. Incakola

    Incakola Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012

    Nov 1, 2012
    537
    183
    103
    Student
    Lake Worth, FL
    Is there a way to set different tones for system notifications and notifications for text messaging?
     
  20. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Everything feels really small on this ROM. Is there an option to change font/app size? I did a quick flash earlier but had to restore nandroid before going out.
     
  21. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,432
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,432
    8,788
    1,053
    Drafter
    Dirty tweaks>build.prop mods>lcd density
    Stock is 480.



    Sure. In settings>sounds set your default notification sound. Then change that per app.

    Open your hangouts app and go into the app settings. Within there you can choose a notification sound. Same with email.
     
    Incakola, oOMavrikOo and xdrc45 like this.
  22. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    The DPI setting on DU is 420, the default DPI setting on the N5 is 480. So compared to the stock DPI setting everything on DU will look smaller.
    You can either use a different Launcher like, Nova or Apex launcher to change the size of dock icons, app drawer icons and the home screen icons and folders.
    If you prefer to use the Google Now launcher, by defualt you cant adjuat the any of the icon sizes... You would need to download and install xposed framework and the Xposed GEL Settings module and then you can adjust the icon sizes.

    The other solution is to go into and edit the build prop, using a program like "Root Toolbox" or a build prop editor app. Then go into the build prop, scroll down to and change the "ro.sf.LCD_density" and change the DPI value from 420 to 480, save and exit and then everything will be back to the same size it was on stock ROM.
     
    oOMavrikOo likes this.
  23. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    DU has a built in DPI editor, it's under dirty tweaks. You can use it to set the DPI to whatever you want.

    Personally, I think 420 is PERFECT for the N5, at 480 everything looks too big.
     
  24. xdrc45

    xdrc45 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    739
    586
    183
    Male
    Great White, MI
    Yes Indeed... DU, Dirty Tweaks settings does have a built in build prop editor as well!
    I personally like the 420 DPI also.
     
  25. Incakola

    Incakola Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012

    Nov 1, 2012
    537
    183
    103
    Student
    Lake Worth, FL
    I'm using evolvesms and the notification setting won't stick. I guess it's an issue with the app.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...