1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Rom]Drewgarden's Broodcomb for 4.5.588 GB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Steven58, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male

    Advertisement

    jroc, Sheba611 and gmenfan83 like this.
  2. Eris_2.1_2010

    Eris_2.1_2010 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    186
    5
    56
    Truck Driver
    West Plains, MO
    Can we use droid overclock?
     
  3. darkside

    darkside Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    271
    30
    63
    Good Ol' Colorado
    if you are running rubixblurrybread, can you install over or do I need to wipe data/factory reset
     
  4. althepal1984

    althepal1984 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    99
    8
    16
    warehouse manager
    Jacksonville, Nc
    A
    I believe this is for the new .588 gb so make sure you're on that
     
  5. darkside

    darkside Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    271
    30
    63
    Good Ol' Colorado
    Oh, well, not sure If i'm in the mood to SBF to update then flash.lol
     
  6. althepal1984

    althepal1984 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    99
    8
    16
    warehouse manager
    Jacksonville, Nc
    Yeah I hear you on that. If you do make backup and you can restore your data via clockwork. Helps some
     
  7. kicker07cvr12

    kicker07cvr12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    32
    3
    16
    ....
    Conyers, Ga
    loving this rom... been stable and looks awesome..
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    for some reason i prefer the stock look of the .588 leak, if we can get a list of bloats to remove or rename, lets get it :p
     
  9. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    I agree. I'm not giving up blur.
     
  10. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    o i dont like blur, i just dont want the black status bar anymore, im enjoying the new colors to GB its more like gingerblue lol
     
  11. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I don't mind the blue, I just don't like the light backgrounds on everything else like Settings, Dialer, etc.
     
  12. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    +1 I'm sure that this is a nice ROM but I'm gonna wait for Apex which will have elements of blur remaining. I'm even using the stock launcher this time!
     
  13. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    Being a bored rom-aholic, I'm going to flash it, have a look around and then go back to stock rooted deodexed 4.5.588.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Gonna pass on this one.
     
  15. Darkfreak232

    Darkfreak232 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    37
    1
    36
    Grafix Designer
    IYM (In Your Mind)
    i love this rom! sadly i forgot to do a Nandroid Backup when i had clean GB. for future perposes does anyone know a way i can get back to it other than SBF/ reinstalling GB.
     
  16. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    I do not. I don't think it's possible. Sorry.
     
  17. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    psychedelic honeycomb boot animation! sweeeeeeeeet!
     
  18. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    I LOVE the boot animation. I'm having trouble with the rom, though. I'm forced rebooting and can't get the right apps d/l'd to get back to blur. I'm going to do a f/d reset, try again, then sbf. Sigh.

    I wonder, is the boot animation available to flash


    Edit: F/D reset deletes the honeycomb b/a and gives Fab's flashing Android B/A. Hah.apps out

    F/D wipe fixed forced reboots, so I can get the Root apps d/l'd. I need more blur, personally and I feel that whereas this rom is speedy, it's rough. Not ready for prime-time.

    Conclusion: I can't recommend this to newbies or oldbies for that matter.
     
    dhoffman1421 likes this.
  19. Darkfreak232

    Darkfreak232 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    37
    1
    36
    Grafix Designer
    IYM (In Your Mind)
    So i think i found a small bug.

    when i turn on my phone, in my bootup. my boot animation keeps going for a long time but still goes to sleep and i have my SMS notifacation (the LED light) showing up so its acting like my phone is booted up but the boot animation isnt turning off on time. it takes like 10 minutes to boot up for me..
     
  20. jake.hybrid

    jake.hybrid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    52
    2
    36
    Currently looking for a job, lol... Wishing I coul
    Tennessee
    I second that on the boot animation. :)
     
  21. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
  22. KingAroan

    KingAroan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I had the problem where when I try to install some apps off of the market it would look like it was rebooting but not really rebooting, but cancelling the install. I went back and wiped all data again and that fixed it but I lost the boot screen. I was wondering if the Google one from the website you previously linked was the same one used. It doesn't look like it but It was worth a question, if not is there any way that I can get a link to that boot animation?
     
  23. Captain R

    Captain R Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Can't you just get the boot animations using Absolute System Root Tools?
     
  24. trav473

    trav473 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    689
    134
    113
    This is a nice looking rom, but still needs work. I too was having frequent hot boots to the point that I could not even get apps installed. after two SBFs and a couple factory resets, I'm finally back to 2.3.340 so I can get back to stock rooted GB. sure seems like a lot of work to try a rom.....
     
  25. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    I recommended factory resets on Drew's roms but I now think that's unnecessary. Next time (and for those who want to try it now) wiping cache and dalvik cache only seem to fix the issue. I've been able to install apps from market just fine after that and I still have the boot animation and other fun stuff.
     

Share This Page

Loading...