1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM][DROIDX] ApeX 2.0.0 Release Candidate (RC4) (10/9/2011)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I downloaded the 3.3.11 version from the droidlife.com link and installed it manually; it's been working fine for me on this Rom..........were people having issues???

    Are you running RC4 right now???
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dabrador

    Dabrador Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    328
    24
    38
    What exactly does the new market version provide?

    btw...loving Apex...again!
     
  3. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    im not actually, i have been in a rom rut here as of late, i dont want to be on cm7 anymore, its boring, im getting alot of data errors, screen freezes, im thinking about going back to apex, hell i may sbf back to stock, and take the official ota... no telling what i will do next
     
  4. Dabrador

    Dabrador Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    328
    24
    38
    I'll chime in...I was on CM7 until yesterday. I got tired of all the data issues...wifi constantly starting & stopping, 3G switching on and off. I got tired of putting the phone into and out of airplane mode just to get a proper signal.

    Yesterday, I came back to Apex and am so happy I did. None of the above and MUCH better battery life. Believe me when I say this is not a placebo effect, Apex does provide better battery life. At the end of the day, I was at 20-30% on CM7 and yesterday was at 50% on Apex and this was after using the phone all day to get things setup again.

    There are 2 things I miss from CM7: toggles in the notification bar (wifi, bluetooth, etc) and disabling slide to unlock when you have a pin or pattern lock enabled.

    In the end, I can live without these 2 things to get the stability, speed and battery life of Apex.
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    yeah i tried downloading apex last night but the download speed was so slow and sluggish i gave up, and thought i will just stay on cm7 for a little while longer. but i think i may go to apex tonight... not real sure yet, kinda tired of setting everything back up, once i get my nexus i will be running stock for a while, and once i get rooted, i will use root to save my backups, i dont think i will care to have a rom on the phone for the first couple of months lol
     
  6. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I have both of those things you are missing with ApeX :D

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  7. Dabrador

    Dabrador Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    328
    24
    38
    What??? Really??? Please...do share how I can get that!
     
  8. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Check your pm.
     
    Dabrador likes this.
  9. RubberDucker

    RubberDucker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    136
    12
    38
    Living the dream.
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Can you share with me as well? I really miss the toggles in the notification bar.
     
  10. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
    Ditto
     
  11. dweezle

    dweezle Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    45
    8
    36
    I looked for a solution for weeks. I gave up and am just living with it. Here is a description of my situation. I'm on RC4.
     
  12. rehpyc

    rehpyc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    622
    53
    78
    Hopefully widgetsoid gets updated to work properly with GB?.. looks better than that ugliness you have, bouchigo, haha
     
  13. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    widgetsoid does work for me. Unless you are trying something different than i am, but i have a widget for airplane, gps, wifi, temp, and reboot and they work fine.
     
  14. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    dweezle that sounds like a problem with your windows driver updating software, run a virus scan to verify everything is ok.

    restart the pc, and your phone, once the pc is booted fully, plug your phone in usb mass storage mode and see if it recognizes, you have to install the moto helper drivers from motorola itself.

    and i believe that once you install a rom on your phone, you will no longer get the phone recognized as droid x, or the droid screen to see pictures/missed calls/text messages. that will go away. the rom itself removes most traces of blur, and that was a blur feature.

    i hope that clarifies something for you
     
    dweezle likes this.
  15. dweezle

    dweezle Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    45
    8
    36
    Thanks. Knowing that the phone will no longer be recognized in Windows Device Manger as "Droid", once it has been de-blurred, was something I didn't know. It seems that I was trying for something that was not possible in Apex.
     
  16. rehpyc

    rehpyc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    622
    53
    78
    Did they finally fix it so that it'd toggle properly in the notification dropdown? Last I used it, a while ago, some toggles wouldn't work in the notification dropdown.. pressing a toggle would require it to pop up a little window where you'd have to press the toggles again.
     
  17. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
    How did you get it to work in your notification drop down?
     
  18. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA

    Check your pm.
     
    Rick2179 likes this.
  19. rehpyc

    rehpyc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    622
    53
    78
    Do you mean show up in your notification drop down, or the toggles themselves work? If the former, there's options to add it to the notification drop down and make the widget you create invisible on the screen. If the latter, things like wifi could't be toggled directly from the notification drop down; hitting the toggle from the drop down would bring up a tiny popup window with all the toggles that'd then work.. THAT'S what I'm wondering if it was fixed.
     
    Rick2179 likes this.
  20. rj69

    rj69 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    California
    I gave up due to the stability issues. Actually tried a lot of other ROMs and decided to go back to rooted stock. Everything has been flawless until today when my phone started acting funky. Looks like I'm back on the Apex wagon - missed it too much! :)
     
  21. mezdup

    mezdup Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    165
    17
    38
    installed RC3 via AIO. one thing that i really liked from the screenshots is the white icons in the notification bar, but for some reason they aren't white on my phone. when the phone boots they're white, but after it's done loading entirely, it just turns green. i don't understand it. is there a fix?
     
  22. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163

    They change color when you achieve a data connection to the Google servers...Fab's stay white because his DX is not activated...

    This is a gingerbread thing...on the DX they are white and then turn blue
     
  23. mezdup

    mezdup Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    165
    17
    38
    ah i see, thanks.
     
  24. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    Never had this issue until just installing ApeX....but delivery reports on my SMS messages are not working at all....

    I just get a red triangle with Ana exclamation point and it says "unsuccessful" in the report...

    Anything ApeX related?...or is VZW having issues right now?
     
  25. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163

    My issue seems to be ApeX related...and its QUITE annoying...

    Update: if I install a third party SMS app (GoSMS for example)...delivery reports work fine...the stock messaging app for ApeX seems to be causing the issue
     

Share This Page

Loading...