1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] ESE81 Completely Stock With Proper Root, SU, & Baseband

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Pete works fast! Posting this on his behalf here. If you like it, please donate :D

    HINT

    If you've already flashed the new 3P baseband, you can go ahead an delete the bp.img, mbm.bin, and rdl.bin files from the update.zip. It'll result in an "installation failure" because the script won't be able to find them, but it works regardless, and it prevents anything from going wrong in a baseband update.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bose301s

    bose301s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    5
    36
    I may try it, I may not. But I am also a poor college student and can't donate.
     
  3. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    341
    18
    38
    is a smokey place.
    Wow.. that was quick.

    So basically it could potentialy be the OTA with the baseband. This isn't a BB revision...... yet. ;)

    So if we've done the baseband update.zip to 3P and we're already running a 2.1 ROM there's really no real need to do this... unless we just want to see what it is.... right?.



    Thanks FAB!.
     
  4. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38
    Oh so tempting...
     
  5. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    I still want to know what the differences are between ESE53 and ESE81. Not that it matters to me, I'm on CyanogenMod which builds straight from AOSP, but I'm still curious as to what the big deal is.
     
  6. markc2

    markc2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    232
    20
    38
    Perrysburg, Oh.
    I was just about to ask this same question :) The 3P update went smooth for me. Saying the ESE81 is optimized for the Droid mostly means updating the radio to 3P correct? I don't want to let go of the FAB Nextbeast ROM I'm running....thanks.


     
  7. tominabox1

    tominabox1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    70
    6
    16
    what state does my phone need to be in to run this? update? 2.0.1 stock? 2.0.1 rooted? Can i install it from an ESE53 ROM?
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Pete said that he couldn't see any major differences between ESE81 and 53. I think if you're happy with your custom ROM (ESE53 or AOSP based), there isn't too much motivation to update to this ROM.

    Still, I'm pretty bored so I might flash this :D
     
  9. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,112
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,112
    13,036
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I'm patient. I am sure that Pete'll use ESE81 as the base for his BB 1.0 when it comes out. Then I'll donate to his cause... AGAIN :)
     
  10. Groid

    Groid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    358
    88
    53
    I rooted through dmupdater and installed the Droidmod 2.01 based rom. Can I install this 2.1 update.zip with the baseband update? Will it replace my Droidmod rom with the stock 2.1 version, additionally including root? Does this mean ESE81 has already been rooted? Please suggest the best way to apply this update in my circumstance.
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    This should work for you, though I suggest doing a factory reset.
     
  12. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Hopefully news like this will stop those still on the fence from trying (and from what I am reading failing) to unroot there phones preparing for the OTA. We have too many extras right now in our current ROMS for me to consider spending time with this ESE81 release but it is cool to see how fast Pete threw it together :rolleyes:
     
  13. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Yeah, he literally Gtalk'ed me right as I woke up this morning with this file. The man's a beast!!
     
  14. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    It would take a collaborative effort of Google, Motorola and Verizon about a year to accomplish the same thing (and they still would not get it right).
     
  15. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    and it would take 4 months to roll it out! lol
     
  16. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Yeah, I won't spend time with it either but I downloaded it just so I have it. Stock ESE53 wasn't any fun...I'm not sure why this would be any different. And to think...people have been waiting a LONG time for this...just doesn't make any sense to me. I hope these people realize that this update...while it may be needed for flash to run...doesn't instantly turn your phone into anything more than it was originally.

    Seriously...how many 2.1 Update threads have there been?
     
  17. spartan141

    spartan141 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    452
    61
    73
    can we use other kernals with this and over clock, just curious
     
  18. aileendq

    aileendq Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    225
    13
    58
    Female
    Boston, MA
    +1
     
  19. slick_old

    slick_old Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    277
    10
    38
    Financial Analyst, Writer
    I unrooted and got the OTA update. I've run plain vanilla ESE53 and now I'm running plain vanilla ESE81 and I can't tell much of a difference at all other than the ESE81 seems to be a tiny tad bit smoother on my phone than the ESE53 was (but this perception might just be in my head).
     
  20. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    pete said any ese53 kernels should work fine
     
  21. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    :(

    Something's different about the framework, and I can't get the clock and notification text to turn white.

    Also, just updated the OP with this:

    HINT

    If you've already flashed the new 3P baseband, you can go ahead an delete the bp.img, mbm.bin, and rdl.bin files from the update.zip. It'll result in an "installation failure" because the script won't be able to find them, but it works regardless, and it prevents anything from going wrong in a baseband update.
     
  22. snake_fist_gung_fu

    snake_fist_gung_fu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    257
    25
    43
    Im gonna wait till the new BB 1.0 rolls out. I see no need to flash IMO.
     
  23. bose301s

    bose301s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    5
    36
    Flashed to ESE81, my lock screen has disappeared. It's odd, I may flash back to BB .9

    Ok, more problems than just that, I couldn't get back to the home screen and other things, probably from my own doing but back to BB .9 for now.
     
  24. Groid

    Groid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    358
    88
    53
    I'm trying hard to understand this.
    1. If I were to go back to stock 2.01 (from droidmod) and installed Pete's update in this thread, would I have a stock ESE81 firmware and apps and still have root?
    2. Would I be able to overclock, install custom roms, kernals, etc.?
     
  25. tominabox1

    tominabox1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    70
    6
    16

    Yes, you can do just that. I'm running ESE81 with Chevy's LV 7 slot 1GHz kernel as we speak. shoudl work with any of the ESE53 kernels from what I've read. Obviously complete custom ROMS will overwrite ESE81 for ESE53 so it'd be pretty pointless to do so. Kernels work though :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...