1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[ROM][GPL][STABLE] aospMod v0.9.9.2 | AOSP 2.2.1 (Froyo) [12/10/2010]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DonB, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    Advertisement

    lyndroid, xcelor8 and JarffVC like this.
  2. stang248

    stang248 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Can I flash this directly over aosp 0.9.7 or do I have to start from scratch (again)
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Read what I wrote on the top of the thread, full wipe is needed, including flashing the new Gapps


     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Full Wipe Means

    CWM Recovery
    Wipe data/Factory Reset
    Wipe cache partition
    Advance/Wipe Davlik cache
    Partitions Menu/Format Boot
    Partition Menu/Format System

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    MrZuitSuit likes this.
  5. SupraEA

    SupraEA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    90
    13
    18
    thanks...I didn't know it meant the partition part. I flashed it just clearing cash, davilic, and data....its working fine right now.
     
  6. davekaye

    davekaye Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    42
    4
    16
    Retired
    Palo Alto, CA
    I just spent 2 days trying to get 9.8 to work only to revert to 9.7 which works fine. Just finished adding all my logons to the various apps and restoring widgets (LaucherPro can't restore widgets). I think I'll wait a bit to make sure 9.9 is working fine before upgrading. I use MyBackupPro and it works fine when restoring the apk's, but seems to get a little buggy when I try to backup the apks + data. Please keep me posted on 9.9's stability. Thanks.
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try Titanium Backup, works great for me, and yes wait, I set the whole phone up and all was working great, then made a backup, then rebooted and stuck on the damn Android Boot Screen. going to back to 9.7 for now, thank gos for Nandroids, LOL


     
  8. viperlocc

    viperlocc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    So just making sure, download the first one (for the rom) and the second one for gapps?
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Correct

     
    viperlocc likes this.
  10. viperlocc

    viperlocc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    Thank you
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    New release posted v9.9.1 main posted edited to reflect the new file
     
  12. viperlocc

    viperlocc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    lol, i just downloaded this just over an hour ago, installed, and working great...now to do the update haha

    I must say, going from cm6.1 to this, i like. its just so responsive. their were a lot of times that i'd run into lag issues and now, with this aosp, no lag. it just seems so simple to use.
    think i'll run this for a while and see how it is at the end of the week.

    Thanks
     
  13. viperlocc

    viperlocc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    oh yea, forgot to ask, is this apps2sd ready or do i have to do something?
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    It should be ready as which in all Froyo Roms

     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you want to flash the .9.9.1 release, flash from recovery and wipe only davlik cache and cache;)
     
  16. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    so if currently running the 9.8, flashing this over the current one is fine (ie the same way as flashing a cm6 nightly)?
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I had no troubles wiping only davlik cache and cache then flashing the rom;)
     
  18. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Full wipe is recommended, not needed;)
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I agree, as this was the only way I was able to flash this ROM was without doing a full wipe, but talking with AOSP in IRC, he highly recommends doing a full wipe, so thus the reason why I wrote it down. ;) As mentioned over @ XDA I think it is worth exploring why some can do a full wipe and flash a new version ROM and why others can't. I believe there should be a standard way of doing so and if you talk to 10 peeps they give you 10 different ways they do it with and without success, I tried all day yesterday installing 9.9.1 version with a full wipe and could not do so, once I flashed it was fine, then I would do a Nandroid and then reboot and get stuck on the Android Splash screen and Bootloop to no end, so I decided to Nandroid back to 9.7, then wipe Cache and Davlik and then flash 9.9.1, and it worked for now, go figure and it makes no sense. :cool:


     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    NO phone is the same, that's the strange part. Why can some overclock to 768 and others reboot and freeze at 710....
     
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I agree but still weird, they have the same hardware !! :thinking:


     
  22. hakujin

    hakujin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    454
    36
    43
    well, call me a convert, just switched over from nfx because I got tired of the sense lag when i needed my phone the most. so far so good, lightening quick by comparison! feels probably at least as fast as a 3rd gen iPhone running iOS 3.

    Onward to the questions and observations:

    1. what is meant by wipe cache? it leads me to believe i am running an older version of recovery. truthfully not sure exactly how to upgrade recovery. but all i ever see is data wipe/factory reset and davlic, which I do, and did, before this update and all is well. just wanna know what I'm missing in that dept... cache cleaner within android perhaps?

    2. AOSP keyboard, to put it bluntly, stinks. Gone is long press for numbers symbols and voice button. Is it OK to run HTC IME keyboard on this one? If so, can someone point me to the latest and greatest? or similar keyboard? i'm surprised that froyo doesn't natively incorporate voice input via the keyboard.

    3. I am also suprised that installing gapps apk didn't install voice or gmail, but found those separately in the market so no worries. this really is a bare bones rom!

    4. nfx's battery mod indicator rocks as it would show the percentage of battery left in the status bar? can I do that on aosp?

    5.stock contact manager ostensibly still sucks in froyo. any recommendations on one similar to the sense UI one whereby one can simply input digits and names pop up?

    6. lastly, any way to get HTC Sync running or anything like it? I prefer to sync outlook as my primary contacts to this phone, not gmail, for many reasons. one of those reasons is I hate the way gmail always likes to add every tom/dick/harry that I contact via email to my contact manager but there are others.

    7. now that i have native app support on SD in froyo, how do I install apps to sd card?

    8. i presume wifi tether must be downloaded, but isn't there supposed to be a native usb tether now that is functional? wifi tether always heats up the phone big time and if i could just usb connect, that would be more ideal (both in terms of heat,and battery life).

    incidentally, is this rom already over clocked? if not, don't really see a need too, it's so fast as is.

    a big holiday thanks to anyone who replies!


    EDIT: #2, check. I have read HTC IME keyboard is flaky, but installed gingerbread keboard and voice search, and all is well. keys still seemed bigger w/ HTC one but willing to live.

    #4 - check, found something similar over on xda.

    #5, I remember hearing about a useful 3rd party app on lifhacker, but ignored this because sense did this wonderfully by default. i will try and find the name of that contact manager app, but if anyone knows it, would be appreciated.
     
  23. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    What is MTD 67 2? I assume that is a custom kernel of some sort?

    I am thinking about trying the Firerat Mod myself. The space increase looks to be enormous.
     
  24. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    *
     
  25. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Are you running short on space....if not...I wouldn't do it.
    It frees up a ton...but makes flashing anything wasy more difficult....
    IMHO
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...