1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rom ignorant person looking for advice

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ewebb42, Oct 11, 2011.

1. ewebb42

ewebb42 Lurker
    None

Oct 11, 2011
    Im completely new to the whole rooting and rom thing but i wanted to try on my thunderbolt because im not happy with it now. im getting it rooted today and i was wondering which of the roms are good for some one who just kinda wants something cool and better then the original one. i also dont like the sense thing very much as i never use it and it gets annoying. increased battery life would be a giant plus too i have the extended battery but would love to go back to a regular one if thats at all possible.

If anyone could help me out at all i would greatly appreciate it because i pretty much have no clue whats going on with roms.

Advertisement

2. Danny_Boy82

Danny_Boy82 Well-Known Member
    None

Sep 14, 2011
    ATX
    ewebb42 likes this.
  3. Turdbogls

Turdbogls Android Expert
    None

Jul 22, 2010
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    yup, your best bet is to try out a few different ones, and give them a few days to see if you like them.

as for battery life, you are going to see a mixed bag. for some AOSP is great for battery. not so much for me. i am lucky to get 10 hours out of a stock battery on any of the AOSP (sense-less) ROMs.
    where as i get at LEAST 10 hours out of most Sense ROM's.

the general concensus is Bamf Roms for sense, and CM7 for AOSP. but like i said, some may work better or have better features for you outside of those 2.

my only suggestion is this: get titanium backup Pro, and Set CPU. those are MUST haves with a rooted phone.
    also make sure you have all your contact backed up with your google account.