1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rom Information

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Antwnis, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Antwnis

    Antwnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Hello, my htc magic has firmware 1.5 and as i browsed this forum i realised that there are several types of rom such as cayogen. I was wondering where i could see the type of my rom. Are some roms better than the others?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Antwnis

    Antwnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    plz help me!
     
  3. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    134
    9
    36
    Scientist
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Go into settings -> about phone, to see what ROM you have. Assuming you got the phone new and haven't rooted it to install a new ROM you'll have either 1.5 or 1.6.

    Installing a different ROM can add new features or just let you runa newer version of android. I run cyanogenmod ROM on my Magic my brother runs a android version 2.0 ROM on his Magic.

    The benefits?

    Newer software/features
    Features not available on normal ROM, e.g. USB tether to a computer running any OS (windoze, Mac, Linux)

    Risks?

    If you balls up the process you can brick your phone and void your warranty
     
  4. Antwnis

    Antwnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    yes i have 1.5 firmware. I read from htc.com that they have an update for rom 3.05.401.3 which is already instaled. You see i thought that firmware was refering not to rom, but to the version of my platform and those numbers were about the version of my rom. I kinda mixed them up huh? I want to upgrade the firmware from 1.5 to 2.0 and i was wondering if there is any expert to do that for me. Thanks for the help anyway:)
     
  5. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    134
    9
    36
    Scientist
    Newcastle upon Tyne
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...