1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Jmz VM Shooter 2012-05-30

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmz, May 30, 2012.

  1. i2c

    i2c Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    52
    1
    16
    Yeah that's what I ended up doing. So jmz, I have noticed something weird. I don't use the stock keyboard. I installed SlideIT and SwiftKey X. Whenever I go to type something and the keyboard pops up, up in the notifications bar comes up a notification that says select input method. When I send my text, and I back out of the keyboard, the notification goes away. So nothing crippling, just something silly.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Thats an ics thing. There might be a setting somewhere for that but I don't think so.
     
  3. armeN0317

    armeN0317 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    135
    60
    53
    I might give this a try. Do you mind elaborating more on exactly which apps were removed (bloatware) and what type of speed, memory, and data tweaks were done or can be expected? Thank you for all your effort with this new phone! You are the man!
     
  4. kenosuke117

    kenosuke117 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012

    Jun 2, 2012
    83
    8
    16
    ok for people asking there is only technically 2 blootwere apps myaccount adn virgin live this rom doesnt have virgin live rest of the apps are the same im on this rom after rooting my phone took me like 10 mins to root lol (easy) anyways nice work on rom love the few changes and love the keyboard
     
  5. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Can the kernel be used with stock ROM and is it OC'able?
     
  6. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
  7. dcannoli

    dcannoli Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    Railroad
    Jacksonville, FL
    Thanks for the hard work and expediency of this ROM. I fried two sd cards in the s-off process. I was able to format both, but lost half the capacity. My question is, once I have solved the sd card issue, what steps do I take to get to get full backups on the new card? I spent many hours yesterday staring at the 'arrow screen' and want to ensure I'm doing everything correctly.
     
  8. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    xda-developers - View Single Post - discussion of s-off

    there is the procedure to fix those...i posted a pure stock rom in this forum. only rooted nothing more done to it. or you can just do a backup in recovery.
     
    dcannoli likes this.
  9. dcannoli

    dcannoli Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    Railroad
    Jacksonville, FL
    What does those commands do exactly?
     
  10. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    repartitions your sdcard at the lowest level possible...so you can use your sdcard again
     
  11. dcannoli

    dcannoli Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    Railroad
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ok. Sorry about the dumb question, I thought so, but wanted to be sure. So install busybox and go from there.
     
  12. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Can this be flashed as is through 4ext or does the kernel still have to be done separately? Also I can't seem to get the download to work.

    Edit: Got it downloaded finally.
     
  13. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I've been looking into resources for my rebooting. I don't want to return this phone honestly. I positively abhor doing that.

    I've noticed It's reboots are only occurring when my data is fluctuating between 4G and 3G or between 3G and 1x. Though it's more recurrent when 4G is on.

    Do you think this would help me? I'm almost 100% sure my issue is only software related.

    I've noticed how people are saying the power options have been removed and power saver is now default. Data and WiFi are disabled during sleep right?

    Could this be affecting it and are any modifications going to solve this issue?
     
  14. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    This is an awesome stock replacement, my only thing is the multi tasking is choppy only on the previews everything else is amazing
     
  15. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    I bet its radio related and nothing will most likely be able to be done unless vm updates their radios





    Yeah its because they wrote the code for those from scratch. Future realeases will improve performance on that
     
  16. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    Also how can I change the notification wake on the lockscreen when I receive a text message
     
  17. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    It should be in the leedroid tweaks app
     
  18. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    I can't seen to find it
     
  19. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Farthest tab on the right, misc. 4th option down
     
  20. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    Thank you and thanks for an awesome ROM
     
  21. Admack

    Admack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    94
    29
    23
    I have the fluctuating signal, like everyone I guess. But I'm also dropping signal totally several times a day and have to restart to fix it. Do you think it's possible to flash the radio from evo 3d? I'd be willing to use my phone as the guinea pig if you think it would work. I would need some instruction though.
     
  22. DAN040790

    DAN040790 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    74
    15
    18
    No offense to you or anything jmz, but this is an exact copy of .. [SENSE/SENSELESS][SVN]_d3rpICS_[R245/R25][DRAMA/BAREBACK][6/11/12] - xda-developers In fact, it looks and runs exactly like it. The keyboard is themed the same along with arrow keys, the notification bar. A lot more stuff. I recognized everything in there because I've had "D3rpICS" on mine and my friends phone since I found it last week. The only real way to tell if it's the xda ROM is to test if MMS works,unless you patched it.(That'd be awesome) But if you actually did all this work and put it together, great job. This ROM is really nice.
     
  23. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    First off, a PM would have sufficed to give the reason for what you pointed out. Leedroid tweaks is the reason. Flash the stock deodexed Rom I posted then flash leedroid tweaks. Then you will have the same keyboard and notification bar. Check my profile on xda, I am a developer and have absolutely no reason at all to use someone else's Rom. My Rom is 100% based off RUU that I posted, that I dumped, and that I modded. And since this is based off the HTC Evo V 4G RUU no MMS patching is required.
     
    septembersrain likes this.
  24. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    and just in case there is anymore doubt, here is beyond compare's diff.
     
  25. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    Hey jmz, love your rom btw... really smooth and fast. One question though.... Why do I get "SMS Error Radio Interface Resource Shortage" alot of time when I send a text message with WI-FI turned on? It doesn't happen with just 3G.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...