1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rom / Kernal Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Seven Dogs, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Seven Dogs

    Seven Dogs Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    50
    0
    35
    Software implementation
    Missouri
    I downloaded and got Bugless Beast 0.5 up and running, decided to install a Chevy01 low voltage 1.25 kernal. I got it installed and working and noticed that the apps that came with Bugless Beast are no longer there. What did I do wrong and can I ge them back?

    Thanks in advance for all your help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    im not sure what happened exactly but you can get them back. just reflash your rom without wiping cache or data. your kernal will also go back to the stock bb v0.5 kernal.
     
    Seven Dogs likes this.
  3. Seven Dogs

    Seven Dogs Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    50
    0
    35
    Software implementation
    Missouri


    Thanks for your help I really appreciate it.
     
  4. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Did you wipe data before installing the Chevy kernel? Installing the kernel shouldn't have any effect at all on apps, but wiping data surely will. Once you've implemented digdug's advice, you should make a nandroid backup, then try installing the kernel again, without wiping. If you experience the same issue (although I can't conceive of a reason you would), you can just restore your backup.
     
  5. Seven Dogs

    Seven Dogs Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    50
    0
    35
    Software implementation
    Missouri


    I installed the kernal using ROM Manager and can't remember if I cllicked the wipe data check box. I created a back up using ROM Manager is this the nandroid backup you mean. I don't know how to create a nandroid back up.
     
  6. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Yes, the backup you make from ROM Manager is a nandroid backup. When you want to restore a backup, you would navigate to "nandroid" in the ClockworkMod recovery menu.
     
    Seven Dogs likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...