• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root ROM Manager - Backup Current ROM stops on exclamation point screen

Hey all, I recently installed the OTA FRG83G update and re-rooted my Droid. I'm fairly new to rooting so please bear with me.

After getting 2.2.2 and re-rooting (using rageagainstthecage through SuperOneClick) I wanted to jump into ROM Manager to make a backup (even though I'm not running a custom ROM) and when I do it brings up the screen to name the backup, I click OK, it reboots the phone, I see the Motorola symbol, and then I get a black screen with a yellow exclamation point in a white triangle with a Droid device laying under it. It will sit there forever until I manually restart the phone, at which point it acts fine until I try to make another backup.

What's causing this?

*Edit* Fun. I reflashed ClockworkMod Recovery and tried again and it worked exactly as it should. Any mod can feel free to delete this post if you don't think anyone else will need it.

Reactions: almj1976
The one useful bit of information that I got from this forum on that point is that whenever you reboot, you need to reflash Clockwork since it can go back to stock recovery.
If you are rooted and still running the stock ROM yes, that can happen. Every custom ROM I have tried fixes that problem and it is not necessary to reflash CW every time.

Reactions: outinthesticks
Upvote 0
yes,the stock rom is sneeky and it will replace your custom recovery with its own every time you reboot your phone,making it neccessary to reflash your recovery.

as was said,custom roms fix this prollem. if you want to stay stock there are a couple of files you can rename/delete that will truly make your recovery "stick" without having to reflash every reboot.

Upvote 0