1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROM manager problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rsjet, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. rsjet

    rsjet Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    69
    11
    18
    Medical Student
    Boston, MA
    So I was gonna use ROM manager for the first time to install CM6 and after selecting my ROM it says "will reboot into clockwork recovery and install rom".

    But when it reboots it came to a screen showing a triangle with an exclamation point and a little green android robot next to it. Been like that for 5 minutes.

    Is it doing something? I'm afraid to reboot lest I brick it. Some help is appreciated.


    Edit: I figured out it went to that screen since ROM manager failed at installing the file. When I hit power, it brought me to clockworkmod recovery. I had to manually select the file using clockwork.
     

    Advertisement

  2. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    240
    46
    43
    Student / Systems Analysis Assistant
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Do you have clockworkmod installed? That sounds like you don't, and it's just booting to the default recovery.
     
  3. rsjet

    rsjet Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    69
    11
    18
    Medical Student
    Boston, MA
    I do, and that's why I was worried, but as I found out, as soon as I hit power it brought me to clockworkmod. It was just waiting for me to press power I guess.
     
  4. ArmlessRifleman

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    61
    8
    16
    Network Engineer
    New Jersey
    Thats strange....
     
  5. Crabby Patti

    Crabby Patti Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    help help help! i downloaded cm6 and none of my old apps are on the market. says they can't be found. ?????
     
  6. rsjet

    rsjet Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    69
    11
    18
    Medical Student
    Boston, MA
    You should probably do a search. I believe there is a fix that you download from ROM manager. Not sure though. If you can't find it by searching, try your question in the CM6 thread.
     
  7. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    that is really strange. it shouldn't do that.
     
  8. rsjet

    rsjet Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    69
    11
    18
    Medical Student
    Boston, MA
    Yes, it was strange. I'm guessing it failed at installing the file so for some reason showed the default recovery screen. I have no idea, i'm just guessing here.

    But as soon as I hit power, it went to clockwork... so go figure lol.
     
  9. sgttsmitty

    sgttsmitty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Im new to rooting and ROMs, but my Nexus One is doing the same thing, but pressing the power button doesn't do anything. Any advice?
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    What's it doing exactly? Can you even load Rom Manager from the market? If so, try reflashing Clockwork (top option in Rom Manager). If that doesn't cut it, you might try the Nexus One root forum since we are Incredible users and aren't likely to know the quirks of the N1.
     
  11. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Iowa (by the way, where in Iowa? - I lived in towns around DM for 20 years).
    Is there anything to be gained by using Rom Manager, other than perhaps it's a bit simplified (nicer UI) as compared to doing things in Recovery?
    I came from the Eris which normally has the Amon Ra recovery when rooted, therefore RM wasn't an option. I'm quite comfortable doing what needs to be done in Recovery - and I see various threads where ROM Manager seems to be the cause of a problem. Because of that I've never even tried to use RM - am I missing anything of note?
     
  12. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    In a word, no. ROM Manager is, like you said, a simplified version. I've never used RM personally. My feeling is, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. If you're comfortable booting into recovery I wouldn't bother with RM.

    Side note-have you tried any ROM's yet, Hoto?
     
  13. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Thanks WD.
    Nope, I'm waiting for 2.3 of Incredibly Re-engineered, figure that'll be the first one I flash (a couple of days after release to see what the early adopters say about it). Unlike the Eris, the DInc doesn't really NEED a new ROM to be usable - so I'm not in a huge hurry to get rid of the stock ROM.
     
  14. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah I don't use RM for flashing Roms. I prefer flashing directly in Clockwork. Seems to be the most surefire method for me.
     
  15. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Completely agree. I always wait a couple days after a release to see what, if any, issues pop up. I'll say this, Re-Engineered 2.3 better be unbelievable the way it's getting hyped up. I almost wish the "testers" would stop coming into that thread adding their tidbits like "it's great", "you're all gone love it", etc because it's just adding to the hype machine. I know it will be a solid build and I'll more than likely flash it, but it's getting out of hand in that thread lately.
     

Share This Page

Loading...