1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rom manager questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by uncle_Felty, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. uncle_Felty

    uncle_Felty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    ok, I took the plunge and used the one click root, everything is fine and I am rooted. I downloaded rom manager from the market I think I am missing something. when I try to back up, install a them or rom I get an error message signature failed, operation aborted. Anyone got any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    did you install clockwork recovery after root?

    if you did, then in rom manager you have to click flash clockwork recovery, pick fascinate. (do it twice)
     
  3. uncle_Felty

    uncle_Felty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    it appears that I do not have clockwork recovery installed, in the recovery screen it still shows android system recovery and samsung recovery util at the top of the screen. I am getting the signature verification failed message. I am rooted, It shows super user and I installed root explorer and I can view all the files on the phone,
     
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    did you scroll down to apply update.zip to launch into clockwork? either way i dont think you have it installed, its an extra step after rooting, and has to be done through odin
     
    uncle_Felty likes this.
  5. sreymj

    sreymj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    166
    18
    38
    Follow these instructions. Clockworkmod installation how to for windows / *nix - xda-developers
     
    uncle_Felty likes this.
  6. uncle_Felty

    uncle_Felty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    ok, I need to do the odin part, will update shortly, thanks peoples!
     
  7. uncle_Felty

    uncle_Felty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    that did the trick guys, thank you very much, time to load a ROM, any suggestions? there are a couple on ROM Manager
     
  8. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    the standard-bearer atm is jts super clean 0.4, but zinc is good as well.

    really theres no "need" to run a rom at this point as they are roms in the sense of the ones we ll see later with improvement/enhancements. but its a tad better than stock still
     
  9. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    jt's clean .4 absolutely awesome, I think most of us are using it
     
  10. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Mighty quick there ;):p
    Just to add, I went back to stock last night and the first thing I did after I re-rooted and added ROM Manager was to reflash jt's rom. That took care of de-bloating, updating the build, deodexing all at once
     
    nitsuj17 likes this.
  11. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    yeah jts rom does a lot of the work ud have to do yourself manually :D
     
  12. uncle_Felty

    uncle_Felty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    as a test I uploaded a new theme and it worked perfect, If I load a new ROM will I have to reload apps and loose data?
     
  13. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    jts rom dont require that you wipe data. zinc does i believe. really until we see roms with huge changes wiping isnt neccessary, but it never hurts to run fix permssions in rom manager or clockwork recovery.
     
  14. s44

    s44 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    313
    37
    43
    Next step: one of jt's kernels. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...