1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ROM Manager won't make backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jasonofx, May 24, 2011.

  1. jasonofx

    jasonofx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    28
    4
    16
    Wilmington, NC
    After alot of messing around, I reloaded a Sprint RUU, used SuperOneClick1.7 (1.9 would not work), removed bloatware, setup phone, etc.
    Now I am ready to make a backup of this stock rooted image, and try the AOSP froyo and GB again. However, in ROM Manager, I tell it to backup current rom, rename it, allow it superuser, and it reboots to a screen with a picture of a phone with an exclamation point on it. Do I need to be using an older version of Rom manager because I am using an older RUU?
    ROM Manager= v4.2.1.0
    Software/Build#= 2.27.651.6
     

    Advertisement

  2. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    You need to flash a recovery image first. Its the top option when you open rom manager just touch it and it will tell you it flashed succesfully when its done.

    Also, it is recommended to reboot to recovery and create your back up from the recovery menu rather than use rom manager to create the back up of the rom.
     
    jasonofx likes this.
  3. jasonofx

    jasonofx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    28
    4
    16
    Wilmington, NC
    Looks like the problem was flashing cwmod recovery. I thought it was completing, but it wasn't. I finally got it to complete, rebooted into recovery, and am backing up now.
     
  4. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    Good to hear. Yea i've had a few problems before getting the recovery to flash completely even when it said it had flashed successfully.
     
  5. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    In the beginning, ROM Manager would not flash ClockworkMod Recovery at all. I tried dozens of times and it just did not want to do it.

    I eventually had to flash the alternate recovery, which was Amon RA Recovery, and then flash ClockworkMod Recovery again over top of that. That finally did the trick.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...