1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rom manager

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skittlesV1, Jul 10, 2010.

  1. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    Im fully rooted using DC rom. If I use rom manager and click backup current rom what does it backup? Will it backup all my apps and settings I have selected to this rom or what? :thinking:

    P.S. Is this the same thing as a "nandroid backup" ? I see the option whenever I boot into the clockwork recovery
     

    Advertisement

  2. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    Also If I flash to a new rom and decide to go back to my backup can i just go to the nandroid restore option or do i need to reflash the DC rom first?
     
  3. chrismmm

    chrismmm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    66
    5
    36
    IT
    North Georgia
    if you have it working and you are switching between fresh and dc like i am. it seems to be doing a full backup for appls and data..just remember ur naming convention on the backup..
     
  4. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    so i would just do a wipe and then flash over the new rom?
     
  5. chrismmm

    chrismmm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    66
    5
    36
    IT
    North Georgia
    yes but back up the existing rom first so u dont have to rebuild it everytime u flash back and forth
     
  6. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    so your saying just do what I just did? so if i come from fresh and I want to go back to DC I can just restore my backup instead of reflashing the original DC rom correct?
     
  7. Velocd

    Velocd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    That's my understanding of it but I have only ran fresh. Would like to try out dc but I have the same question you have.
     
  8. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    How do you like fresh? It seems like everyone runs fresh but I like DC because it supports flash. I dont really know much about the 2 roms besides that.
     
  9. 4g4me

    4g4me Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    I am running DC and am about to flash to Fresh now. I am downloading the rom as we speak. I really like DC... U guys know of a site that has the different roms (included on rom manager) and the different features of each?
     
  10. autorail1

    autorail1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009

    Sep 26, 2009
    399
    15
    48
    THE Boss
    Delaware
    When you ran damage control, How were you rooted prior to this if you were rooted prior to DC. Im asking cause I was unrevoked3 rooted. Used Rom Manager to load Fresh, then wanted to try DC, but when it Loaded DC. It kept going into loop. (never past the White HTC evo4g Screen)

     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...