1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROM Manager

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BenDroid, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    I know Koush updated RM a few days ago to possibly work with BIONIC, but I remember seeing a few posts where people were having problems with it. Is this still the case? From my understanding, the way that this is supposed to work is we are going to use the bootstrap app once to flash the custom recovery and then use Rom Manager from then on. Coming from my old device which was unlocked in terms of the bootloader made things so much better. I am just trying to get a better understanding of how things are going to work for me now.

    Thanks for any helpful comments.
     

    Advertisement

  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Yes The updated Rom Manager works on the bionic. You do need to use bootstrap once and then flash the recovery in rom manager and you are good to go.
     
    BenDroid likes this.
  3. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    Okay, thanks for the information.
     
  4. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    Occaisionally I have to flash the recovery in rom manager else when I try to boot into recovery, the phone boots up all the way.
     
  5. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1

    Yeah, I always bootstrap every time just to make sure. Unl3ash3d has something like auto bootstrap, so I wouldn't worry, but I do.
     
  6. painweaver

    painweaver Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    29
    3
    16
    what if we didn't flash bootstrap the first time before flashing a recovery?

    I, uh, have a friend....yeah...a friend that did that....
     
  7. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    What is the point of bootstrap? I'm a previous htc user. Never dealt with bootstrap.
     
  8. Groid

    Groid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    358
    88
    53
    Bootstrap is a method of dealing with the locked bootloader so that a custom recovery and custom roms may be installed. It does not allow installing other kernels.
     
  9. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68

    I guess I knew that but how do I actually use it? What does it actually do? What does it do that room manager doesn't?
     
  10. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    From my understanding, because of the locked bootloader, we need bootstrap to flash a custom recovery which in turn allows ROM Manager's recovery to be flashed over it. Gone are the days like on the OG where you just rooted - installed ROM Manager - flashed the recovery - and then flashed ROMs without ever having to actually mess with the recovery screen.

    Just one more step involved now with the bootstrap, even though I still have not tried installing a ROM from ROM Manager. I still just boot through bootstrap.
     
  11. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Best explanation I could find...

    Android is comprised of 2 main partitions, System and Data. When android is running we cannot safely change any of the files in the System partition, just the Data partition. This becomes a problem whenever we need to update the system, officially or not. To overcome this all Android devices have a
     
  12. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
     
  13. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    You can boot into cwr from rom manager or bootstrap but you cant boot into cwr with the power and volume buttons that will only boot you into stock recovery with no access to flash or restore custom zips.
     
    welbinator likes this.
  14. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68

    ok gotcha. this is because the bootloader is locked, correct? with my droid incredible, I could boot into recovery using the volume and power button and it would boot into clockwork mod recovery. I think anyways. oh well it doesn't really matter the incredible is in the past now, the future is the bionic!

    was the droid 1 bootloader unlocked out of the box or did it just get hacked rather quickly?
     
  15. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    this is because the bootloader is locked. The og droid came unlocked out if the box. That was one of the things that made it great.
     
  16. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    So which bootstrap do I use for the bionic and do I need to be rooted to use it. If so what to root with using my macbook pro?
     
  17. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    There is a bootstrap in the market for the bionic. You need to be rooted to use it. The sticky thread at the top if the bionic root forum has instructions on how to root with a mac.
     
  18. droidotheplains

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    Greetings,

    Ok can somebody answer several questions I haven't been able to get answered due to limited google search string writing abilities:

    1. I installed from the paid version of Bionic Bootstrap Recovery from the Market which seems to function as intended and identifies itself as "ClockworkMod Recovery v5.0.2.5". However upon selection of a number of its options, Rom Manager insists " You don't have ClockworkMod Recovery installed..." It's starting to slowly dawn on me that there must be a component of the "Bionic Bootstrap Recovery" installation, the "bootstrap" element, that will remain in place once a second installation of ClockworkMod Recovery is flashed from Rom Manager and whatever remains other than the "bootstrap" element will be overwritten during the second installation of ClockworkMod Recovery. Is this correct? And necessary?

    2. Under that setup, if a flashed rom fails such that I'm unable to set the installed recovery to boot upon rebooting, is that what is referred to as a "boot loop", and how will I be able to break from it if all I have access to is the oem boot menu? Once I flash the CMR from Rom Manager, will the program that is invoked when I select "Recovery" from the oem boot menu be CMR? If so, then why isn't the version I currently have installed invoked in the same manner?

    Thanks in advance for any and/or all answers.
     
  19. Silvernirvash

    Silvernirvash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Why did someone make roms not for the bionic available on the bionic version of rom manage?
     
  20. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    There is no such thing as a Bionic Version of Rom Manager. Rom manager is a program that run on multiple phones which has a compiled list of roms that are made available to your particular phone. This list is compiled by the author of the program I believe and he/she is not going to know every single rom available for a particular phone unless he/she is notified by the rom designer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...