1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [rom] miui4dx 1.8.19[updated 8/23/2011]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Raptor912, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Rockaholic

    Rockaholic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    380
    27
    63

    Yes you do, and I heard that it's not that bad.
     

    Advertisement

  2. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Yes and no.

    Method 1: SBF to Froyo > z4 Root > Install MIUI

    Method 2: Flash P3droids all in 1 Cyanogen install > Flash the all in 1 again to get the right radio > install MIUI
     
  3. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    Im gonna flash it now and pray it works with HDMI....:thinking:
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    im just not a fan of the iphone look to it, plan and simple :p
     
  5. md88

    md88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    I kind of like this. It is totally different though. To get back to cm7 do I have to sbf or can I restore a backup?
     
  6. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    md88 likes this.
  7. Rockaholic

    Rockaholic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    380
    27
    63
    Ok I'll just wait till this is confirmed, just in case it doesn't satisfy my needs.
     
  8. md88

    md88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    I'm not sure if I will keep this or not but it is really smooth. I'm not sure I like not having an app drawer
     
  9. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    wayy too iphone like...going back to stock GB.
     
  10. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    you have to download adw or lpp or golauncher from the market to get them
     
    md88 likes this.
  11. zanoodi

    zanoodi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    184
    35
    43

    Exactly how I feel.
     
  12. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    547
    94
    78
    IOWA
    Going to flash in a bit. When I had my evo this rom wasn't bad at all. Yes it is a iPhone style knock off but who cares there are themes. Can wait to see if there is difference between evos and Droid x ports
     
  13. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
    all you have to do is run a launcher like go launcher and then you will have an app drawer
     
    md88 likes this.
  14. zanoodi

    zanoodi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    184
    35
    43

    Then what would the advantage of using this rom be? Wouldn't it just be easier to use another rom with the functionality built in?
     
  15. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    i give credit for this rom, it gives you alot of options, if you were familiar with an iphone you would know what your doing, i have never owned an iphone, i had an ipod touch for about 3 months, lol
     
  16. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    its all the devs choice, this rom, is nice and smooth granted, its difficult to figure out at first, but you can easily go to the market and download a launcher and be set.
     
  17. F3AR

    F3AR Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    44
    9
    16
    CA
    This ROM is pretty nice but definitely not my style. My question is how do I restore my back up of CM7??? I'm guessing I still can't use bootstraper. Any ideas guys???
     
  18. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Hold down power button > Reboot into Recovery > Wipe Data/Cache > Install latest nightly > Reboot into recovery > Restore Data.

    This should work but I haven't tried it...
     
  19. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    let me ask you guys a question....


    how do you expect to install things through cwr?

    if you check and you boot into recovery, your just going to stock recovery
    if you install d2 bootstrapper you will have to sbf to get back

    but i guess if there is no need for it, then there is no need for it...
     
  20. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    it in fact does not work :p
     
  21. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    download rom manager, try to make a backup using rom manager,
    it will fail but take you to clockwork recovery
    from there you can make a back up, just to let you know.

    its the most weird and anal thing but thats how it is
     
  22. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Just downloaded Rom Manager > Flashed 2nd Init recovery > clicked reboot into recovery and bam - sweet, orangey CWM :p

    Edit:
    Damn you beat me to it... :p anyway

    Edit 1:
    How's signal strength for you guys?
     
  23. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Ooh, iPhone-like.......I don't like it already :D
     
  24. zanoodi

    zanoodi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    184
    35
    43

    It only reboots into stock recovery.
     
  25. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Download rom manager and use that. Make sure you install the 2nd init recovery first.
     

Share This Page

Loading...