1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM]{MS840} Number_Two v1.8 ~ ZVA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LDrifta, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. lilonex3

    lilonex3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    118
    20
    38

    Advertisement

  2. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Looks like its just you and I again lol! :) I'm outside cutting the grass (on break) but I will be done in a few mins so give me about 30 mins and I will get it all setup since I went back to stock so I could take it in to help everyone figure out what that update was for lol!
     
  3. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Hey geuss what buying the s4 on metro Will not key you keep your plan you must upgrade to a 40,50,60 plans to use gsm
    /T-Mobiles service which SUCKS Cuz i have $55 well and any luck on #2 guys :D (sorry was off task for a bit
     
  4. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    well i always assumed you NEEDED the 40,50 or 60 with any device that requires/uses a 4g signal..? but we dont know whats up yet lol need testers :D
     
  5. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Rooting and installing CWM right now so I can start testing

    UPDATE:
    Test-6 doesnt cause any bootloops but now it gets stuck on the second LG logo
     
  6. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    ok do you still have that test that was just the kernel only?? i think T4?? flash that over it :D dont ask why lol just trust me ;)
     
  7. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    I just erased them this morning lmao!! But its koo Im downloading them again :D Im downloading T-3,4 and 5 just to be safe, wait... you said test-4 are you sure, or did you mean test-5 (the last test)?

    UPDATE:
    I just tried flashing Test-3, 4 and 5 over test#6 but all were no goes :'( they went back to the bootloop, I gtta get some sleep for work at 4:30am but I have a computer in my office so if you post anything I will download and test while at work for ya :D
     
    zandersig likes this.
  8. stcarlso

    stcarlso Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013

    Feb 26, 2013
    222
    90
    53
    Maybe try 6 then 4 without doing 3 in between?
     
  9. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Yeah I did a full wipe in between each test just to be safe and still no luck, but im going to pull a logcat with Test-6/4 right now since Im home from work now :D woohoo!!
     
  10. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    @Ldrifta_ check you PM I just sent you 2 logcats, one with Test-6 w/Test-4 and the other with Test-6 w/Test-5. I did a full wipe in between each just to make sure it was a clean install, let me know if they help at all
     
    LDrifta likes this.
  11. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
  12. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    I'll get right on it man! :D downloading now

    Edit1: idk why my phone takes forever to backup everything, but it didnt used to take this long with other roms that werent vv5 :| or maybe its this version of cwm.

    Edit2: Bootloops after lg logo, it wants to boot up though, at the third bootloop for a mili second you see the metro bootup start then it shuts off.
     
  13. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
  14. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    ok lol i jus looked at the logcat, thanks again!! seems like something i have no control over.. keeps saying kickstart error.. thats the only thing that errors out except for bootanimation.. seems i need to provide one? lol

    just out of curiosity.. how long did you let it sit before pulling batter? i assume for a while? :D if not than you mind testing 1 more time and jus let it sit for like 5 minutes.. if nothing than im just stumped.. gonna need PG for this one LOL
     
  15. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Yeah I let it sit for awhile but I will test it again and let that boy burnout for 15 mins lmao!! give me a few and I will report back

    UPDATE:
    OK I let it sit rebooting for 32mins and still nothing :( but here is the logcat for all to see and maybe someone will know how to help us, Ldrifta I just realized that the last few I sent you werent in .txt format, sorry bro lol!! This time I had the logcat pull only the errors instead of everything, so Ill be doing it this way from now on :) http://db.tt/AlkiqN7f
     
  16. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    Hopefully someone will look it over and know what it is. I let it sit there for fifteen min as well before finally doing a pull. I noticed it did get slightly further into the boot animation after 5 min of bootlooping but it stopped going further after that.
     
  17. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Ok craziest shit!!! Whenever I ran the tests for #2 ROM on vv5 it would bootloop as everyone knws that's on this thread, well once it failed I restored my backup vv5, and then I would run more tests and so on.... Well here's the crazy part, I was losing battery pretty fast and I mean fast lol! So I looked at my firmware just for the hell of it and somehow I've been knocked back to zva???? wtf!!!! Its nuts because I still have all my data/apps settings and everything, nothing has changed except I'm on zva and not vv5 anymore, I wonder if I was running test 7 and others on the wrg firmware and Thts why it don't work ?? I'm about to shut down and get rest for work but if someone can run test 7 but make sure ur phone says vv5 just to check tht would help, if its not done by morning I will test it myself around 6am at work lol! Well I hope I'm right and I see it works when I awaken :)

    UPDATE:
    I just tried flashing test 7 making sure my phone was running vv5 and it still bootlooped :(
     
  18. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    Hey sp quick question.. I assume yu get the basics of extracting and re zipping a rom etc.. and possibly how to edit an updater-script? :) all I ask is if you or someone can unzip test7, remove boot.img and boot.img install text on script.. than rezip and test :)??
     
  19. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    I don't know how to do it or I would :p
     
  20. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    Im not really that familiar with it but im pretty sure I can get done :) I would just need you to confirm which line(s) to remove from the updater-script? that is what you were referring to right? If not then im farther off than I thought lol!
     
  21. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    its ok ill whip it up quick im home now :D this is jus a last resort thing lol but good news guys!! my gf has her old connect and is gonna let me use it get the rom booting.. but i wont be able to test 4g and other features cause her whole screen is f'd to the "A" and there no service going to it because she a tretcherous traitor who went to the i-diots!! :D haha
     
    zandersig likes this.
  22. droidlos

    droidlos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    35
    3
    26
    student .. ASE master mechanic
    Fort Worth, TX
    I can do it
     
  23. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    yup lol basically you just unzip it, then remove boot.img.. jus pull it right out :D then open updater-script in a program like notepad++ (best reccomended) and delete the 3 lines of text nearest the bottom the reffer to boot.img, it's kinda obvious which ones they are if you read them.. then just rezip.. thats all bro!! no need to sign or anything lol basically i just want to see if my system is good yet.. :/
     
  24. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    lol! Thats exactly what I did :D I just needed you to confirm it, i second guess myself with shit like that too much hahaha!! but I guess since a couple others are willing to take that task I'll just wait for the next :)
     
  25. droidlos

    droidlos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    35
    3
    26
    student .. ASE master mechanic
    Fort Worth, TX
    im downloading t7 right now .. already have notepad++..
     

Share This Page

Loading...