1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM]{MS840} Number_Two v1.8 ~ ZVA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LDrifta, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Ask the oracle? What version of ROM#2 are you running? I'm on v2.0 and am not getting those notifications, nor have I on any previous build. Start by getting titanium backup. The free version should work fine. Freeze anything that looks like its from metro one at a time and see if that helps.
     

    Advertisement

  2. armirol

    armirol Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    106
    8
    36
    Male
    real estate
    Miami, FL
    yup, i'm running #2 v2.0... i have titanium doing a backup every night. i installed it over rooted VV5, i still get those annoying ads.
     
  3. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    use titanium backup up to "Freeze" the carrier apps
     
  4. jpizle

    jpizle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    975
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012

    Mar 15, 2012
    975
    105
    93
    Male
    self employed
    Dalton, GA
    Free version or titanium backup does not allow freezing just fyi;)
     
  5. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    No? My bad, its actually not in my app arsenal so i guess I was wrong. I just delete unwanted apps but don't think I should just go around telling people to delete stuff that could make there system unstable. What free alternatives are out there?
     
  6. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    i use root app delete to 'disable' unwanted apps... i've never deleted any but you can do so with this app.
     
  7. armirol

    armirol Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    106
    8
    36
    Male
    real estate
    Miami, FL
    i had pdroid but it doesn't work anymore with vv5
     
  8. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    Ok ill check it out after work.. get that pdroid patchbup for yu guys too ;)
     
  9. boriqua187

    boriqua187 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    7
    2
    6


    So i am having the same problem is there going to be a fix for bluetooth for vv5 2.0? Also where did all the custom top bar notifications go like the numerical battery life and data icons?
     
  10. SegamanXero

    SegamanXero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    He hasn't themed it yet... As themeing can break things in the OS. I do not think Idrifta is interested in themeing it at the moment due to it being a time consuming process.
     
  11. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    Yeah sorry guys havent had time. Theming is going to be on hokd untill i can find a way to properly deodex the rom.. as for bluetooth i promise ill look into it when given the opportunity
     
    SegamanXero, zandersig and lilonex3 like this.
  12. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    352
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    new york
    i have a question is there a way to take of the ad block built in
     
  13. wh1teout

    wh1teout Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    75
    8
    16
    hey guys, I rooted and installed this rom (latest one) on my gf's connect 4g and it went without a hitch for the past 2 weeks, however today she turned it on to find that it stuck on a boot loop. Now I've searched around and found shabbys delooper (which incidentally, no longer exists as he removed the files). Is there a recovery method without wiping the whole thing or going through the unroot then reroot process again? thanks!
     
  14. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Did you try a battery pull? Or you could flash just the boot img if you have a cwm backup.
     
  15. wh1teout

    wh1teout Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    75
    8
    16
    wouldnt flashing the boot image just wipe everything? that's exactly what i'm trying to avoid
     
  16. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    No, it would simply reflash the boot partition. None of your data is involved there
     
  17. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Like spec said. Do you have a backup? If you do, in recovery select "backup and restore" then "advanced restore" and you can restore just the part that's corrupt. If you do not, I'd be happy to upload the boot.img
     
    wh1teout likes this.
  18. wh1teout

    wh1teout Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    75
    8
    16
    Ah too late but I'd still love the image just in case this happens again thanks
     
  19. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Too late how? You did a fresh install? Just make a backup now and you wont have to worry about it again.
     
  20. viceless

    viceless Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    47
    9
    16
    Need a link to the de-odexed versions of Rom #2. v1.8 and below? Don't care which one, as long as it's above 1.4, the one that fixed bluetooth.

    Please?

    Thanks!!!
     
  21. skrapmetal

    skrapmetal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    377
    44
    43
    Geek, Musician, Electronic Technician, and all aro
    Texarkana, TX
    I too would like v1.8 or or an earlier version where the Bluetooth works if anyone has it
     
  22. droidlos

    droidlos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    35
    3
    26
    student .. ASE master mechanic
    Fort Worth, TX
    I found 1.7 buried on my HD
     
  23. skrapmetal

    skrapmetal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    377
    44
    43
    Geek, Musician, Electronic Technician, and all aro
    Texarkana, TX
    Is there a way you could post it?
     
  24. countalmaviva

    countalmaviva Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012

    Dec 22, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Michigan, US
    Just flashed this ROM, and all seems well except ES File Explorer won't let me write to the device. I'm trying to copy KrazeeCracker's scripts for turning on and off the soft-key leds to the init.d folder, but it fails every time. "Root explorer" function is checked in ES File Explorer, and Superuser access is granted. Won't let me create an empty folder even.

    What am I missing?
     
  25. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    remount rw?
     

Share This Page

Loading...