1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] MTDEV-CM9 build 20130120 [BETA]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by djboi2011, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. Inc0gnit0

    Inc0gnit0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    78
    29
    23
    I vote that the devs keep it as close to stock as possible. Pre-installing apps is, IMO, as bad as the manufacturer forcing apps on you. Everyone has their own preference for apps (I, for one, hate Real Player) so by leaving everything stock every user can choose what apps to install.
     

    Advertisement

    piper_, apexcell, jimg3081 and 2 others like this.
  2. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    I also prefer the Roms to be pretty stock, usually the only app I like to see included sometimes is a file explorer, but since I've pulled as many of my apks off my phone I don't actually need it, also hate hate real player lol
     
    Inc0gnit0 and thangfish like this.
  3. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yes you can count on MTDEV to always leave all our ROMS as stock as possible and remove as many of the useless apps that are included which you do not need. Way back when I started g60 style I opened a poll for all the users on what you all wanted and minimalist was the majority of vote. You are the user and you know what you prefer, last thing I will ever do is release a ROM that forces you into having the choices made for you. Always expect that from Team MTDEV.
     
    Bill Clay, sqwerl, Inc0gnit0 and 12 others like this.
  4. Cataulin

    Cataulin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    80
    3
    16
    GPS is broken? why does it work on mine then?
     
    thangfish likes this.
  5. ProjectMayhem

    ProjectMayhem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    22
    3
    16
    Was wondering the same thing. I haven't had a problem one with the gps. Not as fast a lock as sharp but a close second.
     
    thangfish likes this.
  6. thangfish

    thangfish Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    1,311
    352
    163
    Maybe I need to try another wipe and flash, when I get time, then. Thanks.
     
  7. mdoggie

    mdoggie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    I've done that a few times, and still can't get GPS going. Again, this rom (the version from 09/09) was the first custom ROM on this particular phone I received, so it can't be old custom ROMs muddying up anything.

    By the way, the "update #2" on this edition has made this phone a lot smoother, and its nice that Chrome is working.
     
    g60madman likes this.
  8. zsunsun

    zsunsun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hello guys, I'm having touchscreen issue here. When I touch screen, the slightest movement registers as a drag when what I intended was to tap.

    Is there a file where I can adjust touchscreen settings?

    Thanks
     
  9. Lepy

    Lepy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012

    Jun 7, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Loving this rom! Great all around but sorely missing the camera/torch.

    I also have a non-functional GPS. In addition, wifi does not automatically connect to known APs, and I have experienced a few hard-locks and reboots as well as a "touchy" touch screen as mentioned above.

    Keep up the great work! Been loving owning the triumph recently.
     
  10. havikx

    havikx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    45
    12
    18
    I too also wanted to point out the touch screen being slightly jumpy.
     
  11. Cataulin

    Cataulin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    80
    3
    16
    only problem I have is the touch screen not being sensitive enough. and some games I have to pause the game or restart it to play it correctly.
     
  12. mikel81

    mikel81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    26
    6
    16
    My touchscreen has been jumpy like that on every rom with this phone. And to the guy with the unresponsive touch. Have you removed the stock protector? Did you maybe add one on top of that?
     
  13. dumbfounded

    dumbfounded Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Has anyone got Google Now working on the most recent build? I tried flashing this in Clockwork, but it doesn't seem to be working
     
  14. Cataulin

    Cataulin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    80
    3
    16
    I removed that POS day one. I have no screen protector at all. It just seems I have to press harder to get apps to start and select things.
     
  15. apexcell

    apexcell Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    35
    0
    15
  16. jarjar124

    jarjar124 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    391
    45
    63
    NYC
    read my post acouple pages back :)
     
  17. jfinnigan

    jfinnigan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012

    Jun 19, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    I really hope the GPS problem is just an issue with this rom, as I just had my first one replace by VM for GPS problems (out of the box even with stock rom, it had it, but I just waited to have it replaced) and I installed this rom first thing, and the GPS on this one isn't working either..
     
  18. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It looks to be this ROM. We are working on the issue.
     
  19. Lepy

    Lepy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012

    Jun 7, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    GPS is 100% development related. On my MT, stock GPS was pretty bad, but it has gotten better and better, rom after rom. Latest CM7 has great GPS functionality for me, but CM9 does not work at all. The devs are working hard! Either wait for stable version or help out.
     
  20. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    I have had issues when I wash my hands. I think the washing process makes my hands less "capassitive" and the screen can act kinda wonky. Swype will have missed spots, Angry Birds will shoot backward. If I breath on my finger it works fine for a while.
     
  21. santer77

    santer77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    When I flashed this rom I also flashed the GPS fix from the starship experiment thread and haven't had any problems at all getting a lock.
     
  22. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Fixed multiple permissions - g60
    Fixed clock speed - dsmryder
    Updated gps.conf - Chairshot
    Added SuplRootCert - Chairshot

    Outcome - Permissions fixed gps and also touch screen being more responsive (those not having issues did not do a full wipe). Clock speeds helped with major stability in ROM. Also GPS is now increased in lock speed. NOTE: GPS will lock but unlike CM7 the gps icon does not blink in the center. The only time the center will show up is when it locks. It took me about 30 seconds to lock indoors, and I was not near a window.
     
  23. treysmith

    treysmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    86
    10
    18
    Male
    N.J
    Removing Apollo off ics custom Rom is a big mistake, and replacing Apollo with a regular android mp3 player is ridiculous.
    Apollo keeps music in Calgary
    Apollo keeps you update with artiest album cover and art.
    Please keep Apollo on, and keep it one hundred!!!!
    Thanks again devs, for ya all hard work.
     
  24. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Apollo was removed cause it causes some functions to become un responsive or unusable, I forget exactly what it was tho

    If you wanna keep the Apollo, you can just pull the APK from an older versions zip
     
  25. Kadochi

    Kadochi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012

    Jul 5, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I've been wondering, every time that I do a wipe and install the updated rom, my touch sounds and keyboard sounds play but as soon as I sign in it to google it mutes and I can't get it to come unmute. Has this been an issue at all with anyone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...