1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] OMJ's HTC ELTE Custom ROM | 1.13.651.1 | ICS 4.0.3 | v1.0 | Updated *6/15/12*

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Granite1, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA

    Advertisement

    takirb and Rxpert83 like this.
  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  3. takirb

    takirb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    641
    181
    93
    Systems Analyst/Network Admin
    S. Carolina
    Think i might give this one a flash today. I'm not into the Pokemon themed stuff of Charmelon nor the drama that seems to be associated with it. I'll post some feedback if i can get it downloaded here at work without having to use SSH to do it. Any feedback on Freeza's kernel at all, or is there a download (link?) for the stock HTC kernel if i run into issues with it?

    Nevermind - He included a link to the stock kernel in the Themes/Mods page :eek:
     
  4. CYNICALifornia

    CYNICALifornia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    299
    156
    68
    Male
    Special Ed
    Palmdale, Ca
    I can't vouch for this particular ROM, but I used OMJ's ROM on my OG Evo for the past 18 months. He does good work.
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I ran this ROM for the past 3 days and while I LOVE all the mods he has baked in the battery life just isnt as good as stock. I could probably remove the scripts he baked in.

    I just want a "stock" ROM with quicksettings, and the recent apps key remapped to menu (with menu bar hidden). If there was a landscape rosie as well that wouldn't be too bad either. ;)


    I'm stock unrooted now and working on just making my own personal ROM with the things listed, but I can't get mik's quick settings to stick. It always removes the menu bar entirely. :mad:
     
    takirb likes this.
  6. takirb

    takirb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    641
    181
    93
    Systems Analyst/Network Admin
    S. Carolina
    I'm on this ROM also, and am noticing slightly less battery life as well. I thought it came with freeza's kernel, but according to the kernel info on the phone, its showing the stock HTC kernel version number. When I flashed the HTC kernel zip, nothing changed in kernel specs, so I guess the latest build has the stock HTC kernel baked in? Bummer too, I was hoping freeza's kernel was the reason for a slightly less battery life than stock. I love the quicksettings and home/app screen rotation though. I kinda miss the stock recent apps button, didn't know I was so used to it already. Great ROM though, but I do believe the LTEvo custom ROMs do still show signs of early development. Will definitely keep my eye on OMJ's work in the future, looking forward to seeing more tweaks and optimizations. Restoring back to my stock rooted setup for now...
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I believe freezas kernel doesnt change anyhting in the about screen. The ROM OP says its baked in.

    Also, I think recent apps was mapped to long press of the home button, so you can still get to it that way
     
  8. takirb

    takirb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    641
    181
    93
    Systems Analyst/Network Admin
    S. Carolina
    I think i'm the only person who's just adapted to the recent apps menu button and never looked back. I was bothered by it for about a day, but then realized how useful it was.I picked up the original Evo today and it actually felt weird having 4 buttons on the bottom. I do understand everyone's fuss about the onscreen menu button taking up space, guess it's just never bothered me that much. I'd be happy with a stock ROM with home/app screen rotation and modified quicksettings.
     
    OstrichSaK likes this.
  9. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,448
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    You're not alone. I thought I would hate it but actually prefer it. I never used the search button and the only time it got used was when I accidentally bumped it which seemed like all the time. With only three the touchable area seems a little bit further from the edge and in the few weeks I've owned it I haven't once bumped it. I also switched my launcher to ADW which gives me a soft menu button at the bottom and I love this setup. I wouldn't go back if you paid me. The way everyone seems to complain about it I think it must just be you and me though. I know most people fear change but every once in a while it's for the better and I think this is one of those cases. Good luck convincing the masses though.
     
    Rxpert83 and takirb like this.
  10. takirb

    takirb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    641
    181
    93
    Systems Analyst/Network Admin
    S. Carolina
    Nah, i won't try to convince anyone, i'd just prefer the choice to have the modified button layout or not ;) And i was the same way, i could count with no hands how many times i've hit the search button on purpose on my 4G LOL I haven't tried ADW, might have to give that a go soon. I'm surprised how much i'm enjoying stock Sense as a launcher at the moment, guess i spent too much time on GoLauncher before
     
    OstrichSaK likes this.
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    That menu bar being there is the sole reason I won't run a different launcher without the menu button being mapped. I want my screen real estate. :p

    To each their own :)
     
    OstrichSaK likes this.
  12. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,448
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    I liked the new version of Sense too but I prefer the adjust ability that I get with ADW and the biggest is the ability to have 5 rows on the homepage as well as the app tray. I had this on previous Evo 4G baked into the ROMs but with ADW I can have it on this phone too. The screen makes 5 rows perfectly formatted on this device whereas on my OG Evo things were a little squished. It gives some more features that I enjoy too and don't really miss anything about Sense since I can recreate anything I like via ADW Launcher or other apps.

    Actually, I was thinking the same thing but even with the menu bar at the bottom AND 5 rows for the homepage and app tray I still have WAY more real estate top to bottom than my OG Evo. See my note above about that but the screen on this phone has an elongated ratio as compared to other devices and this is the exact reason since the manufacturer intended for the apps to have a soft menu key on the screen which is at the top or bottom for apps. You're really not giving up anything and gaining a lot in the way of customization and features IMO. It's not for everyone but you may be surprised if you take the time to go through all the options to customize it to your liking.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  13. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I've run other launchers before (go launcher being my current preference, but I haven't checked out adw in a while). I like them, but for now I stick with sense.
     
    OstrichSaK likes this.
  14. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,448
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    Yeah, I've ran quite a few as well as stock and I have no allegiance to any of them and care only who meets my personal needs the best. That being said ADW is that for me right now. The 5 rows instead of 4 alone makes it worth it. If you're worried about screen real estate how can you live with only 4 rows?

    Different strokes.
     
  15. Blewis13

    Blewis13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    67
    51
    33
    Need some help. I rooted my old EVO. I learned how to add a rom. I thought all I did was download the folder, put it in a subdirectory on the SD card and then look for it as a zip file.
    I download the OMJ rom. Moved it to a subdirectory but when I go to recovery the file isn't seen.
    Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong.

    Just a little info: I've rooted the EVO LTE using Regaw Mod One Click Root and am using TWRP to try and flash the rom.
     
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Where did you put it? The recovery looks on the internal drive of the phone and not your sd card by default.

    Try mounting it in recovery
     
  17. Blewis13

    Blewis13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    67
    51
    33
    I don't know how to move it to the internal drive. Any suggestions?
     
  18. caborobo

    caborobo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    53
    44
    23
    Telecom
    STL

    In TWRP, select mount and "x" the box next to mount SDCard. Hit the back button and select install. Your sd card will now be visible in the directory when you select install.
     
  19. jackgibbs

    jackgibbs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    277
    148
    68
    long beach
    do any of these roms have the option to replace the sense recent apps with stock ICS? I could've sworn I saw that somewhere before I got my phone, and now I can't find it.
     
  20. Blewis13

    Blewis13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    67
    51
    33

    Tried it like you suggested. The directory is there but it doesn't show the ROM. I'm wondering if I downloaded it properly. I don't have to unzip anything first, right? I just place the 545mb file in the directory just like it was downloaded and the phone is supposed to do the rest.
     
  21. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    703
    580
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    I don't think you want to put the Rom zip into a sub directory. I just drag them onto the SD card and do not put them into a folder on it so that as soon as I open the SD card the .zip files are listed at the bottom.


    Naters
     
  22. caborobo

    caborobo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    53
    44
    23
    Telecom
    STL

    Exactly. Make sure to just drag and drop into the root folder and not a sub folder of the sd card.
     
  23. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You can place the zip files in a folder if you want to keep things organized. You just need to remember where you put it. ;)

    I like to put stuff on the root of the card / partition (not in any folders) for ease of finding it. I forget where I put stuff too often. :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  24. Blewis13

    Blewis13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    67
    51
    33
    I finally got it!!! I changed the check boxes in the mount section of TWRP and the ROM was there. Thanks for everyones help.
     
    dustwun77, Granite1 and Rxpert83 like this.
  25. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Crap, I'm sorry. I didn't even think of needing to mount the external sd. My bad. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...