1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rom problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dashawnw, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    ok so i have the transform ultra and im rooted but every time i try to put a rom on my phone it says aborted and wont do anything please help:thinking::thinking::thinking::thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Loota

    Loota Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    739
    487
    123
    Male
    Unemployed Medical Field Service Engineer
    Rockland, NY
    More info please.. what are you using to put a rom on the phone... if you are using cwm did you get it from this area of this forum or elsewhere (please provide link). What message is it giving you besides aborted?

    If the error is md5 mismatch please make sure you are unzipping the zipped file on your computer before transferring it to your phone. Some people have experienced issues by unzipping the file on their phones. Also if the md5 error persists keep trying and perhaps try with a different cable... md5 means the files are not what they are supposed to be and it is protecting you from a bad flash (ie: files may have become corrupted during transfer..)
     
  3. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
  4. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    If you're rooted already then you have cmw. First unzip the backup to a folder. Then boot into cmw (hold down power button + volume down). Next go to restore. Then select the folder you just unzipped to. Select yes. Wait for everything to install. Select reboot. Done. Hope that helps. :)
     
  5. BLuFeNiX

    BLuFeNiX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    209
    103
    68
    Root != CWM

    Rooting your phone is just pushing a su binary and Superuser.apk. Installing CWM is a separate process.
     
    smith058 likes this.
  6. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
  7. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    ChoznJuan thanks bro...so what is the best rom to put on the transform ultra links would be cool
     
  8. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    I've used everyone's rom at one time or another but the one I've stayed with is Chev's. It seems to flow a bit better for me.
     
  9. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    where can i download it? and does it support over/under clocking
     
  10. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    That's the Rom you dl'ed. I think it has the oc kernel...
     
  11. BLuFeNiX

    BLuFeNiX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    209
    103
    68
    The posted root method may install CWM, but I wanted to make sure no one got confused if they used another method. For example, I used the original zergRush exploit the manual (ADB) way and had to install CWM myself :)
     
  12. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    ok i feel like i cant put roms on my phone b/c it NEVER works :mad::mad::mad::mad:
     
  13. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    We need details in order to help you. What are the steps you are doing? What rom? What error message? Help us help you.:)
     
  14. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    ok i downloaded a rom from rom manager from toadlife(CleanGB 1.1.2) and when thats done i reboot into recovery then i go down into install zip from sdcard then i choose zip from sdcard then i scroll down into clockworkmod/ folder then i click download choose the rom the it restarts and nothing happens
     
  15. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    You can't use any of the rom's from rom manager on our phones. You're on the right track, but you'll want to stick with the rom's in this forum. I don't know of any other forums with people dev'ing for our phone.
     
  16. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    i tried the same with a rom from here and it didnt work for me
     
  17. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    I think each rom installs differently, but I think with most of them you have to unzip the rom to the backup folder first, then select restore, then select the desired rom. If that is what you are doing, then you would get some error message. I don't think that "nothing" would happen. Are you getting an error message?
     
  18. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    my dude i freakin love u lmao i did what u said and it worked :D:D:D:D:D...i still have some questions what is the best rom for our phone and where can i get it 2. can i get all my texts back 3.how do i get all my apps back
     
  19. ChoznJuan

    ChoznJuan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    139
    53
    53
    NC
    Glad it worked for you. Now for the bad news. Your texts are gone. The rom you choose is up to you. Everyone likes their rom of choice for different reasons. Best suggestion is to just comb through the threads for each rom & try them out. Now more bad news...unless you already backed them up, your apps are gone to. You'll have to re-dl them. Remember read through the forums. The guys here are great and they are all willing to help if you get stuck, but you gotta do your part first (read the forums) :)
     
  20. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    ok thats cool how do i delete the all the apps that came with the rom
     
  21. Loota

    Loota Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    739
    487
    123
    Male
    Unemployed Medical Field Service Engineer
    Rockland, NY
    I'd recommend Titanium Backup for that... not only will it allow you to uninstall system apps (be careful doing that... and read about what you are uninstalling before you do it... ask questions before doing it if you are unsure) but it will also let you back up your apps and settings and even your messages.
     
  22. dashawnw

    dashawnw Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    16
    3
    16
    ok thanks...is there a way i can flash my phone to a different network for free because my service sucks!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...