1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

[ROM] Punisher 0.1 | BIG RELEASE | LG ALLY | VZC | SUPER FAST | STABLE | ANDROID 2.1 | THEMED

Discussion in 'Archived Threads' started by death2all110, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. DoctorZaius68

    DoctorZaius68 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    108
    12
    58
    New Jersey
    Death2all110 - Congrats on the release of your Rom and thanks for letting me test!

    This is one fast rom!
     

    Advertisement

  2. d0nd0n

    d0nd0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    55
    7
    16
    N/A
    Ohio
    Dude... all I can say is.. AMAZING.

    Switched from Velocity .03 where I was getting 376 on Quadrant and now I'm getting 486, all while at 600 mhz.
     
  3. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina
    First I have to say is superb job! Fast, and responsive at stock 600Mhz, and alot of internal memory open to have so many apps in the stock installl.


    My only problem is It crashes to the custom LG | Ally boot screen randomly and quite often, and its just starting to bug me, but bugging me it is. I'll reinstall later to see if it resolves, but it feels more like a ROM problem than a bad flash. Any idea to the culprit?

    Also - you offer the Baseband Update in your release post, however when looking at the about phone before ever installing it, it says it already has the new radio.img!
     
  4. flyinjoe13

    flyinjoe13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    463
    70
    53
    If it's a ROM problem, it must not be something that happens on every phone because I have been using this version of the ROM since Sunday without any stability issues what-so-ever. I know that we had a problem with kernel panics and random shutoffs on initial startup after flashing the ROM during one of the early beta versions, but I have flashed this current release version at least 10 times to test it and never once had the KP\shut off problem.

    Very odd because the ROM seems so stable to me and I have really tried to push it during testing.
     
  5. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina
    It boots back up within like 3 seconds, doesnt't make much sense. It hasn't happened since I flashed the phone though.

    I have noticed a severe lag from my typing on the keyboard to it appearing on the screen.
    Otherwise I love this rom, its highly polished and responsive!
     
  6. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    308
    55
    53
    Hampton, NH
    Are you overclocking?
     
  7. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Well.... Personally This Rom offends me.
    You know why?
    Because I wasnt asked to beta this Bad Boy.

    Hey Brother Your holdin out on me. Your Next one Better include ole swc2001 for beta. LOL

    nah I Kiiiiiddd
    Man this is Awesome!! Congrats Bro!! You Deserve Mad Props for this.

    Trident The guantlet has been squarely thown at your feet man.

    LETS GET IT ON!!!
     
  8. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina
    No overclock at all. Completely stock Punisher...
     
  9. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Ah yes but you do have this in Stock Punisher
    "Overclock kernel 2.6.29.6 and JIT by drellisdee"
    Which does not mean your overclocked it just means your over clock ready.
    But the Jit does speed you up, even without OC.
    all you need is some SetCPU and youve just turned the corner into the Darkside Baby.

    Sooo Come on Over to the Dark side.... We have Cookies. :D
     
  10. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    308
    55
    53
    Hampton, NH
    And you remembered to wipe data, cache and dalvik cache?

    If not, boot into recovery, wipe both caches and reboot.
     
  11. draky

    draky Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    This seems very fast and stable. I love it!
     
  12. Robo1007

    Robo1007 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    63
    4
    16
    Sales Agent
    Pocatello, Idaho
    Props to Death I have been on V3 and I am going to take the time tonight and flash this and see how it rolls hoping for good things!!
     
  13. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Oh No!!

    You left out one of my Favorite apps from Velocity .3

    Flash Light. Its the only decent flash light I have ever used.

    need the apk Bro. LOL

    it wont load with TI backup
     
  14. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina
    Yea I wipe dalvik, data and cache every time. I haven't seen a boot screen crash since after the 5th one last night - I think that was the kernel getting used to my particular CPU.

    I installed Punisher, Boot, crash, boot, had to play to get data to work - was disabled on default like an app had disabled it by default. Had to connect to WI-FI, download SwitchPro, and enable data that way before I could get 3G. Then it crashed again (back to Android boot animation). Went back and forth a few times. Then installed Gingerbread for ZVC because theres a few graphical anomalies in the theme for Punisher, and I am a perfectionist and couldn't bare them, but you guys will probably never notice any of them - lol. Had one more crash and thats it so far.

    I have NOT installed the baseband because the ROM reports that it already has it, and my signal is amazing here (4-5 bars), and usually my signal is 1-2 bars here. So I am a happy camper.

    However the input lag is still unbearable on anything other than text messages - where it is fine.

    I'm not over-clocked at this time, and I honestly don't see a need to with this ROM, the Jit is doing a pretty good job on its own.

    I am an Engineering Electronics College Graduate, so I'm not new to any of this - and I was tickled when android came out - Computer, PSP, and now my Android can be hacked - like a homebrew dream if you ask me!
     
  15. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Afteraffekt, im sorry about the keyboard an boot issues. i haven't had this problem. Biggest problem i had was FC cuz of framework-res but i rebuilt that and its fine now. and KP on first boot but those are gone now. never noticed a keyboard lag. or any lag except on boot where everything is set to be optimized but even that takes less than 15-30 seconds. I know there are a few graphic issues. Those will be fixed in the next release. Flashlight app will also be included. But i'm taking a break for a few days. As for the radio, it was originally included in the rom. But i pulled it just in case someone needed to reflash and the radio should only be flashed once.
     
    swc2001 likes this.
  16. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    Hey swc...if you download and extract the velocity rom from trident, go into data/app, and the flashlight apk is in there
     
    swc2001 likes this.
  17. dvanlinton

    dvanlinton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    94
    7
    16
    north carolina
    yea i had the same random ally boot screen.. i thought it was stuck for awhile.. so i just waited to see if it bypasses. after awhile it finally booted.. the question i have is my sw version is still v8.. take a look...[​IMG]
     
  18. innate024

    innate024 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    52
    11
    18
    OREGON
    Socobandit already beat me to it, lol.
     
    swc2001 likes this.
  19. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Thanks to both of you.
    I should have thought of that.

    I will go away feeling stupid now. :(

    **edit**
    Hmmm so this got me thinking... If I modify the punisher zip and put the flash light.apk in that directory.... will That make the modified version load the flash light app automatically when flashed? Or is it alot more complicated than that?

    Death??**
     
  20. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    Now I'm curious about the SW version being reported as zv8 instead of zvc....reporting issue?
     
  21. k.c.cole

    k.c.cole Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    363
    71
    73
    Technical Support Trainer
    Colorado
    gonna try this when i get home!
     
  22. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Thats because you didnt take the OTA

    It only reports correctly if you take the OTA.

    Mine is reporting ZVC.

    Really its nothing to worry about.

    Your good man. :cool:

    **EDIT** If it really bothers you
    Make a Nandroid of punisher where you are at.
    Then Go to my Thread:
    http://androidforums.com/ally-all-t...nteer-who-wants-go-back-completely-stock.html
    and make your phone stock.
    Take the OTA updates. Then your phone will report ZVC
    After all that then Wipe everything in AmonRa dalvik, cache Data factory reset, Wipe ext
    Now reload the Nandroid from punisher and Voila
    you have Punisher with a corectly reporting ZVC.

    But honestly... it wont make a hill of beans difference. It just might make you feel better about life is all.**
     
    socobandit likes this.
  23. barf

    barf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    thanks for this! love the theme, love the speed!
     
  24. shane_is_the_man

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    12
    1
    36
    IT
    Tennessee
    Got it all installed..only problem I see is when you try to set up an email the manual setup is greyed out.


    as we used to say in the military.....delay my last
     
  25. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Are you sure??? I could be wrong but when i was in the military it was "belay my last"

    SWC2001: you would place it in /data/app but you would also have to re-sign it. or you could turn verification off in recovery
     

Share This Page

Loading...