1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROM Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Neslot35, Jun 30, 2011.

1. Neslot35

Neslot35 Member
    None

May 25, 2011
    Male
    IT Service Desk tech.
    Idaho
    Hey guys!

First off, i'm new to this rooting and ROM's and whatnot. I'm currently using a Droid X I have recently rooted and installed Liberty 2.0 on it but I am really not happy with the Liberty ROM. Some of the items I need to use on a regular basis are not working, some were removed as bloat, and I have tried to reinstall them and enabling them, etc. etc. and to make this long story short I'm either doing it wrong or whatnot and it's not working. I'm more frustrated now than enjoying my phone.

So what I need to know is how do I remove Liberty 2.0 and try another ROM. I've heard alot of good about Apex but the latest release says I have to have version .596 and before installing Liberty I had .340.

Do i have to SBF back to .340 stock and then add the update for .596 before rooting it again to install Apex? Or what do I need to do to get rid of Liberty and install .596 and another ROM?

Advertisement

2. mac16

mac16 Well-Known Member
    None

Aug 25, 2010
    To get up to Gingerbread .596 you first have to be on froyo 2.3.340. So yes in your case you will need to SBF back to just stock .340 unless you have a nandroid of that as well, then you can just use the nandroid (droid bootstrapper backup).

I just SBF'd couple days ago and made the jump to .596 and grabbed apex rc2, everything went great.

I used this process to SBF. http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ootable-linux-cd-soley-sbf-headache-free.html
    That will bring you to stock .340

Then after you are on .340 you need to get z4root and root it once again. Then grab droid 2 bootstrapper as droid x boostrapper no longer works for GB.