1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Simply Stunning v 5.4 - 2.3.4 (5/31/11)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by carassius, May 31, 2011.

  1. carassius

    carassius Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    184
    40
    43

    Advertisement

    Quinolin likes this.
  2. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Updated from 2.3.3 and it's running great with Chevy's latest uLV 1.1Ghz kernel.
     
  3. Quinolin

    Quinolin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    62
    21
    18
    Pennsylvania
    Installed yesterday, running smooth with stock kernel, no problems so far.
     
  4. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #202
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    255
    25
    63
    cad monkey
    Texas
    Anyone know if release will fix the "dropped 3g after call" issue that most gingerbread ROMS seem to have?

    Edit - clicking the link to the other board - ChevyNo.1 says it is fixed... YEH!!!
     
  5. Sportster

    Sportster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    450
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    450
    25
    43
    Male
    Steelworker
    Indiana, US
    How about multitasking? Does Pandora,wifi tethering and navigation all work at the same time or do they close in the background?
     
  6. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    434
    36
    63
    Male
    Driver
    Ohio
    As usual, Chevy makes my phone work. I had pretty much given up on the GB roms out the as my Droid just didn't run well with any of them. Installed the latest SS and it's been running great for the past few days. Noticed none of the 3g dropouts like every other rom I tried has, and it's been really smooth with decent battery life. Looks like I might make the full 2 years on this phone, if not longer. Still does everything I need a phone to do.
     
  7. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #202
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    255
    25
    63
    cad monkey
    Texas
    Update: As usual, SS does not like my phone... 5.4 won't load, stuck at the M. 5.3 is the only SS rom that my phone has ever liked, but the dropping 3g issue is killing me...
     
  8. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    I almost gave up on GB until SS. I tried Liquid's and CM's... nothing. Just doesn't work.

    SS is the only one that has worked so far. It's not perfect, but a lot better than the others for my phone.
     
  9. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    434
    36
    63
    Male
    Driver
    Ohio
    Guess I spoke too soon. Phone has started to really slow down and annoy me just as much as the other GB roms did. I hardly use it for anything anymore other than calls and texts, so it's annoying when those lag so bad it takes forever to open either app.
     
  10. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    Yea, my phone started slowing down too a bit lately. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  11. coonster

    coonster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    I don't know if it's the ROM, or maybe the widgets I've always had running on the other ROMs as well, but it seems that my cache is building up big time. After about seven or eight hours, I'll clear 15MB of cache. Usually the Browser is a big culprit, but I don't even use it. I just have Weatherbug, Xbox Live Statistics, and TV Show Favs as my widgets. On CM7, the most cache I would get running the same widgets at the same frequencies was 7Mb, and that was at the end of the day and if it was really bad.

    So I recommend geting Cachemate and just seeing if your cache is holding you back. It usually is the case, but even in my case with 15+MB of cache, my phone runs flawlessly.

    I'm using the ULV 1.25 Ghz kernel, at 800 Mhz Performance. No lie, no lagging, whatsoever.
     
  12. gwwjpd

    gwwjpd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    You can go into Recovery and wipe the cache, and the Dalvik cache, then reboot. The first time rebooting will take a bit longer as it rebuilds what it needs, but it should speed things up.
     
  13. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    Thanks for the cache suggestions-- I'll try that.

    Coonster, I have TV Show Favs widget too. I wonder if that could be it.
     
  14. Dsanders77

    Dsanders77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    196
    52
    53
    Freelance writer and Tech Blogger
    Georgetown, TX
    Name says it all. Fantastic.
     
  15. benwalburn

    benwalburn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    435
    68
    53
    Computer Repair
    I love this rom. It has CM features that I like, but is much more stable. The 3g fix is great too.
     
  16. benwalburn

    benwalburn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    435
    68
    53
    Computer Repair
    I can't seem to be able to make the wifi tether (supplied with rom) to work. It says it's tethering, but none of my devices can find the wifi/bluetooth signal. Can someone tell me what to do?
     
  17. sharkerbaby

    sharkerbaby Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    82
    15
    18
    For those of you w/ concerns re: multitasking you should try a script called Supercharger!!! HTK & Bulletproof Launcher. do a google search and you should find it.

    I ran the script for the first time almost 2 months ago while running CM7 - it solved all my multitasking issues. Also ran great under PE, and now with SS 5.4!!
     
  18. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    434
    36
    63
    Male
    Driver
    Ohio
    Ran the supercharger script and most of my complaints with the rom have gone away. Not only did it fix any kind of launcher redraw it used to have, everything else seems to load faster. My phone used to really get slow trying to do everything and was considering going back to froyo yet again, but the supercharger script left me satisfied for now.
     
  19. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    Which setting did you use in the script? I tried the multitasking option (7, I think) and it didn't work so well for me. Kept randomly rebooting my phone and being slow. So I chose balanced 3 (option 6, I think) and it'd been decent so far. I haven't had any redraws that I remember, but some background apps still close a lot. Esp. if I'm navigating while I do anything, that seems to be the biggest test for the Droid since it's such a resource hog.
     
  20. NUNNYA

    NUNNYA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    47
    0
    15
    OK so I'm gonna give ss 5.4 a try......
    I'm following" How to install a custom rom w/ clockwork mod recovery" and step 6 recommends that you do a factory reset, will this wipe my root, rom manager, titanium backup?
    Thanks

    Also I deleted some bloat ware using titanium backup, should I restore those apps before factory resetting?


    EDIT: ok I've beed reading more and I might use the rom manager to install this rom.Do I need to use tibu to restore everything? Or will this method backup everything I need with out it? Sorry if I'm asking stupid questions, I've been reading alot but don't think i come across what I need.
    Thanks again
     
  21. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    A factory reset will not wipe out your root, it will wipe tiutanium backup (TiBu) and in most cases the custom roms will have rom manager included.

    I would never bother with what some people call 'bloat ware', hence don't bother with restoring it with TiBu.

    In all honesty, I tried TiBu but when using it to restore, I have read (and experienced) about more problems than not. Personally I use MyBackupPro, my you can use MyBackupRoot (MBR) for free. Do not use it (nor TiBu) to backup/restore application settings. It will backup apps and data. For your apps, just backup all without data, then for your data use it to backup call log, sms, mms, and bookmarks.

    Finally, sometimes when flashing a new rom after a factory data reset the market will automatically restore alot of your apps anyways. Then you would use MBR to restore the data mentioned above and the apps not restored via the market.

    There's still alot of variables to be considered but I hope this gives you more to chew on before you proceed.

    p.s. I am running SS 5.6

    good luck
     
  22. NUNNYA

    NUNNYA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    47
    0
    15
    Thanks for your response Teddy. Yeah I have read to about tibu not always working correctly so ill take your advice and try mybackuppro.
    I came across your guide for installing rom's with rom manager on the Droid forums, yours right? ( very nice by the way ) I think ill use that. So when I backup with RM that will backup everything except apps? I also read that in step 4 it also has a option to wipe dalvik ( that is not mentioned in the guide due to updates) so I wipe that also?
    I decided to use 5.4, seemed like it had less problems that the other versions. I know your using 5.6,what do you think of 5.4? I also read somewhere that when switching to gingerbread from froyo that you may encounter problems, should I stick to froyo?
    Thanks

    I am having problems recovering apps on tibu because I have to buy the paid version but I don't want tibu I was gonna get mybackuppro. Will I be able to restore them with mbup?
     
  23. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    Well this is kind of nice because I think (hope) I can answer most of your questions here instead of having to reply to the pm as well.

    Yes, the guide on droidforums was a collaboration between me and guidot, I taught him all he knows, lol. However I am working on a like guide at my site and will include more updated info for rom manager since it has been updated quite a bit since then.

    For you I would suggest using MyBackupRoot (MBR) as it does everything I use MyBackupPro to do; how do I say the difference? MyBackupPro allows you to backup/restore app settings, something I never do anyways. My bad luck, it's a history lesson now. So yes, first use MBR to backup your apps and then the data sections I recommended if they are important to you and then flash your rom as in the guide you found. Sometimes after signing back into your google account, your apps will be re-installed, otherwise you can use a combination of MBR and/or the list of your apps in MBR to re-install them from the market (usually the best way).

    When you backup with rom manager/ClockworkMod recovery (CWRecovery) it will make a complete snap shot of your phone at the time you create it. Everything. Apps, call logs, texts, settings, everything.

    Now to the question of which rom. Well that question is in the eye of the asker. Early on, I used to tell people to look beyond those that posted about how 'cool' their rom was and to look deeper (at droidforums rescue squad) to those that had problems. Later I started being very 'to the point' and would reply in said thread, "If only I had a dollar for every time this was asked", he he, didn't make me many friends. In essence for me, the roms that the least noise was made about worked best for me, but YMMV (your mileage may vary). Froyo roms seems to be the most stable and trouble free for the A855, but as I already posted I am running SS5.6 just fine.

    Meh, I got too windy.

    p.s. For the readers, the thread that NUNNYA was referring to is this one:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/95227-flashing-rom-droid-1-best-practices.html

    but IMHO, my info needs a tiny bit of updating in reference to using Rom Manager/CWRecovery. I did start a guide, need to now finish it up and post it, someday soon.
     
  24. NUNNYA

    NUNNYA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    47
    0
    15
    Ok I got mbr and uninstalled tibu. I wasn't able to restore voice dialer 2.2.3 or sound recorder 2.2.3 before deleting, is there a way to reinstall them somehow or are they lost forever?I wanted to keep them around in case I brought my phone back to stock.
     
  25. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    I believe that both are available in the market. Definately Voice Dialing, and sound recording or something similar.

    good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...