1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM STABLE] Android 2.2 FRG01 (Clean, Untouched, Virgin)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peteralfonso, Jul 20, 2010.

?

RRS Poll - Please Rate this ROM only if you have flashed it.

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    8 vote(s)
    61.5%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    4 vote(s)
    30.8%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    1 vote(s)
    7.7%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. peteralfonso

    peteralfonso Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    21
    209
    48
    I present to you a completely untouched Android 2.2 FRG01B ROM. The ONLY changes that have been made are the replacement of some build keys in the build.prop to protect the source and the fact that I have rooted it for you. This also INCLUDES the official 600mhz boot.img for FRG01B.

    Download Links:
    Odexed ROM

    F.A.Q.

    Q) Where did you get these files?
    A) That is none of your business, just enjoy them.

    Q) How is this "UNTOUCHED"?
    A) I used unyaffs to extract the sbf....Google it.

    Q) How can I donate to Pete?
    A) I'm so glad you asked, here's the link: [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    Jedii, Gunner, loooney2ns and 8 others like this.
  2. cruud

    cruud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    10
    38
    Thanks!
     
  3. superdorf

    superdorf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Can I upgrade from BB v.4 to this without clearing cache?
     
  4. mykd99

    mykd99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    67
    6
    16
    Bravura Live, Owner
    wow, Pete you are the man!
     
  5. Droid_Hacking_Newbee

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    quicker than most of the other froyo 2.2's ive used however call me a newbie...but I cant run most of my after-market apps on it. i.e dmupdater, eoeappinstaller. Any ideas???
     
  6. htowngtr

    htowngtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    168
    1
    36
    Planning to make a BB out of this for the original droid?
     
  7. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    Between the guy from AllDroid getting Pete a DInc, and everyone voting for Pete to get a DX (which now consumes the entirety of his free time based on his tweets), I'd say Bugless Beast on Droid 1 is all-but-dead.

    RIP BB - it was a good run while it lasted.
     
  8. dt_

    dt_ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    132
    0
    35
    Thanks Pete! Just a few questions though (for anyone to answer if possible)

    - What is the difference between an "untouched" ROM like this and Bugless Beast? Will BB give me better battery life?

    - Will BB 0.5 (and/or future BB's) be based on this Froyo build instead of FRF84?

    - What does "odexed" / "deodexed" mean?

    - Does this Froyo build fix the "crappy Pandora / AAC+ decoding / audio quality" bug? ( see here: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/119289-any-rom-compatible-pandora.html )

    I'd also like to echo superdorf's question:


    Thanks in advance, everyone :)
     
  9. wadsface

    wadsface Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    61
    19
    18
    Seattle
    1. Untouched means he has not modded anything about it, added any scripts, features or anything that ROM makers normally do. It is a clean ROM straight from google*

    *with root added and build.prob edit as mentioned.

    2. Pete will have to answer that.

    3. http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/104855-what-exactly-deodexed.html

    4. Unknown at this time, I have flashed this and will test it out.
     
  10. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Nah. He's gonna release another one. I don't think Bugless Beast will ever die. Pete loves developing to much to quit now. Droid X is still on lockdown, not much you can do til it gets the proper root and so on. He's far from done....
     
  11. wadsface

    wadsface Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    61
    19
    18
    Seattle
    Flashed this today and for some reason felt the need to test out those super fast kernels (1280, 1330, 1350, 1400). 1280 was the only one that did anything, others crashed immediately or quickly after setting it to max.

    Scores for the stock kernel are the slower ones. It is 800mhz. Still very good scores for a stock ROM, I <3 Froyo.

    Faster one is 1280. Best scores I have gotten so far.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. superdorf

    superdorf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Did you have to clear cache when you flashed this?
     
  13. wadsface

    wadsface Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    61
    19
    18
    Seattle
    I did, totally wiped in fact, system, boot, data and cache.

    Did I have to? I don't know, I always just do it, personal policy.

    I will link this only to say that some one else with this build says that



    But I cannot confirm nor deny this.

    New Leak: How about the Most Recent Froyo build for the Droid - FRG01B
     
  14. mykd99

    mykd99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    67
    6
    16
    Bravura Live, Owner
    Was running JRummy's Kangerade 5.0.9. I only wiped cache, then installed this update. Everything seems to work so far.
     
  15. holmgren

    holmgren Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    213
    10
    38
    Male
    MN
    chances are you need the market fix. I needed to do it when I installed CM6. Download MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service. Name it update.zip and install with SPR or CW.
     
  16. dt_

    dt_ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    132
    0
    35
    I keep seeing mentions of people doing wipes. How exactly do you wipe certain things and what effect does it have? can it be done thru clockworkmod or rom manager?

    Thanks :)
     
  17. randallman

    randallman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    dt_, it does not seem to fix the pandora 'thin sound' issue... FWIW...


     
  18. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    Yes, you can do it through both (only in ROM manager if you're using it to change ROMs, it gives you the option to wipe when it downloads). In CW, on the main menu, there's an option to do a factory wipe and cache wipe. I recommend doing this before every ROM change and use Titanium backup or Chevys bkapps/rstapps scripts to restore data (this method has worked best for me).

    So are there any themes I can apply with CW over top of this vanilla ROM? I would switch if there was. More specifically NexTheme or Smoked glass.
     
  19. dt_

    dt_ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    132
    0
    35
    Thanks.. . :(

    Thanks! :)
     
  20. umikun

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    72
    23
    18
    Software Engineer
    Kashmir, India
  21. randallman

    randallman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    FYI, it seems as though the builtin mail client (Verizon app?) is more stringent about using IMAP with SSL or TLS.

    My personal imap server has always allowed for TLS and SSL, but I had never updated the certificate. On this build, it seems that it cares about the expiration date and the CN (common name) on the certificate. The certificate actually expired Sep 8 2009, so it has been expired for quite some time :)

    Regenerating a new key/csr and signing the cert (with my own internal Cert Authority) seems to have solved the problem.
     
  22. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    266
    35
    43
     
  23. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    I installed this ROM and it works very well. I had to wipe data and cache and reinsall before I was able to send email though.

    My battery took much longer to charge and so far is keeping a charge much longer. Anyone else have this result?
     
  24. dfine06

    dfine06 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    179
    2
    36
    well i just loaded this and i can tell you right off the bat my battery definately takes longer to charge. which im really hoping will lead to better life throughout the day because since i rooted its been terrible. so ill see tommorow.

    hey wadsface. what kernal did you run?
     
  25. overcaffein8d

    overcaffein8d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    9
    56
    What were you upgrading from?
     

Share This Page

Loading...