1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM STABLE] Bugless Beast V0.5 Android 2.2 FRG22D

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peteralfonso, Sep 22, 2010.

?

RRS Poll - Please Rate this ROM only if you have flashed it.

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    64 vote(s)
    60.4%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    20 vote(s)
    18.9%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    16 vote(s)
    15.1%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    5 vote(s)
    4.7%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    1 vote(s)
    0.9%
  1. tsouthern

    tsouthern Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    ok, market is working better now, it still doesn't bring up everything i had, and moved the apps like pete said to. I'm going to let it sit rest of the night and see what it does (hopefully by morning it will do what it is supposed to) then in the morning if nothing i think i will have to say no to it for now, hopefully it turns out good!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    Had the same problem as well. I had to go to TBu official website and download the app from there and install it that way. Then i restored my rom manager and went back to a previous nandroid of UD8;)

    Thinking about making a safety folder with TBu and Rom Manager apks so i will have them in case of emergency;)
     
  3. Eckyx

    Eckyx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    62
    2
    16
    I have nothing but good things to say about this ROM. For me it has been nothing but fast and stable.
     
  4. bigdroiddog

    bigdroiddog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    173
    4
    36
    Does this basically eliminate the use of set cpu? I guess set cpu it simply for looks now with this addition.I am getting slow quadrant and linpack scores, running with chevy 1gig ulv, i guess i should stick with this for better battery life or go with something faster for better speed.
     
  5. Eckyx

    Eckyx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    62
    2
    16

    Skull One seems to think SetCPU is still essential, but it would take me a while to dig up the post about it. It's somewhere in this thread:

    OverClocking 101 - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    Might not be relevant anymore, if Pete has changed how it works in this release.
     
  6. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    My question is....his much are you having to clear your cache to get your market working properly? I have tried both methods and it doesn't work for me. Any other ideas? This seems like a pretty widespread problem. I am willing to help with the troubleshoot process to help find a cause and an ultimate fix for this problem.

    Ben
     
  7. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    I hear ya. Different problem though... UD8 ran fine on my Droid, but rebooting the thing would cause it to hang... not really a boot-loop, it would just seem to stop mid-stream and hang. Flashed it twice, had the same problem twice. Gave up, went back to CyanogenMod 6.0.... and now Pete's truly amazing Bugless Beast v.05!
     
  8. Droidmaniac

    Droidmaniac Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    I'm still stuck with DroidMod, first version. Can I try BB by using ROM Manager? Other than having a different ROM for the sake of having a different ROM, am I missing a lot? Is Flash worth having -- or the new Google Search? I haven't seen much chatter about them.

    DroidMod is old and I've given up on them for any future relevant updates, but it's still solid, zippy, and very stable. Should I leave well enough alone?
     
  9. empyreandance

    empyreandance Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    DroidMod is definitely solid, zippy and stable as you said, but it's also quite old. I would recommend doing a nandroid backup and trying out BB v0.5 and UD 8 just to see if you like them and if not, just restore the backup.
     
    Droidmaniac likes this.
  10. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    Hold R (on the physical keyboard)+Power button to reboot the phone (you'll know it worked if you don't get the shutdown menu.

    Hold X+Power button to reboot into recovery.

    This is why there's a changelog, people.
     
    klwheat likes this.
  11. publicanimal

    publicanimal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    545
    88
    98
    Santa Cruz, CA
    There are the following hardware keyboard shortcuts enabled:

    X + Power = Reboot into recovery
    R + Power = Reboot phone
    S + Power = Shutdown phone


    EDIT: I'm not sure why I didn't notice that the person above already answered this question. Doh!
     
  12. k00ey

    k00ey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    80
    5
    16
    Awesome battery life with light usage. Few text messages, emails, about ~30mins of web browsing, ~5-10mins on youtube

    Imageshack - snap20100924184147.png


    This is all on the stock kernel that came with the rom. I have not had time to flash a new kernel yet
    [​IMG]
     
  13. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    I really love this rom but am not able to use because of the market problem. Has anyone got any ideas on how to correct this. I have tried clearing cache through settings and recovery and am getting the same problems.

    Anyone else having the same problems?
     
  14. muab

    muab Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    337
    42
    63
    I am not sure I understand.

    Did you clear data AND cache in the market app under settings>> applications>>>market?
     
  15. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    Yea, I should have clarified. I am having the issue where nothing in my marketplace is showing up. I have cleared cache and data under settings - applications - all - market. Same problem. I have even cleared cache through Clockwork Recovery and am still having the same problem.

    Anyone else experiencing these issues after a clear cache?
     
  16. gallandof

    gallandof Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    I had these issues at first, i just wiped and redownloaded the rom and reinstalled it, that fixed it for me. obviously not ideal but it worked
     
  17. webeougher

    webeougher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    133
    10
    58
    Site Safety and Health Officer
    Stoneboro, PA
    I would second what gallandof said - redownload the ROM, wipe data and cache twice (Pete's recommendation for as long as there's been a Bugless Beast), re-install Bugless Beast 0.5, and then make sure you don't touch the phone again until it reboots the second time.
     
  18. Jetster220

    Jetster220 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    57
    5
    16
    Finally updated from BB.4 and that was one of the easiest ROM updates I have ever done, thanks to Petes backup scripts, Froyo's ability to redownload and keep all your apps, and also Launcher Pro's ability to backup your homescreen settings, I had my phone back up and exactly like it was in like 10mins. And as usual, BB is fast, smooth, and working perfect, keep up the awesome work Pete.
     
  19. Darkwarrior006

    Darkwarrior006 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    211
    10
    38
    Louisiana
    Updating from a few days ago, i had problems loading BB 0.5. to fix it i deleted all my apps that were backed up in astro file manager and rebacked them up. When i tried reinstalling BB, it worked fine.
     
  20. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58

    I have already tried redownloading and reinstalling. I have always wipe data/cache at least 3 times every install. I am going to give it another try and hope that it works out. The ROM is absolutely amazing in all aspects except for my problems with the marketplace. I hope I can get this worked out.

    Thanks for all the info.

    Ben
     
  21. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    768
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    768
    48
    68
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I can't get any of the fixes to work for this ROM!! I can't wait for UD9, that or for Pete to fix this.
     
  22. ShuttleXpC

    ShuttleXpC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    11
    18
    Thing is you did mean it to be a jerk. Your entire purpose of posting it was to irk people who use UD. Either way, This RoM is nice, but there are some things that I needed to fix to make them work (which were very simple, once I read how to do it) but albeit annoying. Chrome to Phone being one of the most annoying because I use it daily...and it took 1 hour to figure out how to fix (thanks to this topic).
     
  23. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    768
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    768
    48
    68
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Now I can't get busy box installed. I've officially given up. I REALLY wanted to like this ROM, but there's just WAY too many things wrong with it.
     
  24. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Initial Setup:
    Ok, that's diff. Have to let it restart itself? Ok, we'll do that. New Droid 2 boot ani, it's pretty neat. That sync-up was pretty interesting. Especially since it wasn't a sync. Majority of my apps did reload, but of course, I couldn't get anything from the Market, due to that known issue. Clearing cache and such will get around this.

    Appearance:
    Just a stock theme, and the added wallpapers are just the standard Droid X wallpapers that just about every ROM has incorporated. At the time of this post, there's only a few themes available. I chose the Bugless Evolution.

    Performance:
    Ok, now this should be the BBeast we all know and love, and is pretty much what you come to expect. Screen transitions are fluid, apps open, perform, and close with no issue and no FCs or lag. All this was with the stock 800MHz kernel. My issue was I could only flash one other kernel, slayher's v.1.6 1100MHz.

    App and System Function:
    That Market issue was quite annoying, but again, could be worked around. Not being able to flash a diff kernel got on my nerves, but did get one to work finally. The only problem I never found a solution for was the Weather Widget Donate, which only gave me a "Not Available" message. Otherwise, all other apps seemed to work, including WiFi and GPS.

    Battery life seemed ok. Never got hot or had an issue. Seemed that smart automatic overclocking did a fairly decent job of allocating the use of power to conserve battery.

    Goodies:
    I absolutely loved the hot keys when Pete first came out with them in late spring/early summer. But by now, just about every ROM out there has those same options from the Power button. The BBeast app makes it very easy to apply scripts, which most ROMs do not have. And the aforementioned smart automatic overclocking makes SetCPU obsolete, but be careful with it. If you use a kernel that you is too high for your Droid, but you scale back, you will NOT be able to use it with this ROM. Most kernel devs offer multiple MHz versions, however.

    Overview:
    The masses have been waiting for Pete to make his triumphant return with a promised epic new version of BBeast, and fans will be elated. I was very excited to hear v.5 was out, but after testing it out, I'm rather dissappointed. The speed that BBeast once touted has been equalled and surpassed by just about every ROM out there. Except most of those ROMs offer more in the way in terms of customization.

    The hot keys are already in our past. The smart automatic O/Cing really limit what kernels you can use. And the whole let the Droid reboot without touching it plus the Market issue, combined with the automatic brightness issue feel like probs that were never properly addressed before release. I do realize that people here have stated they've been testing this ROM for quite some time, but this whole release feels like it was thrown out there, with very little diff between builds.

    Rating:
    2 out of 5 stars. Average at best, but issues detract.
     
    sbursik, UBRocked and kujayhawks77 like this.
  25. bigdroiddog

    bigdroiddog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    173
    4
    36
    HOw exactly do i wipe the boot and system partitions , i always wipe data and cache.
     

Share This Page

Loading...