1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Starship Triumph - The Final Voyage - (7.31.2012)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chairshot215, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. santer77

    santer77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    Ive had this issue since i bought the phone and before i even rooted it. Sometimes my back button just doesn't work. If i close the screen and open it back up it works again. I cant help but think its just an issue with the phone itself.
     

    Advertisement

  2. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It has nothing to do with the CPU. Welcome to owning the Motorola Triumph. Because the soldered wires in Triumph where not done properly you can short them out by holding the phone and pressing the button due to the flex on the shell of the Triumph. The fix that usually works is rotating the Triumph to landscape and rotating back to portrait. This is why Whyzor left the Triumph and moved back to the Optimus V.
     
  3. sqwerl

    sqwerl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #297
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    150
    12
    38
    I had accepted that it was just the phone until I installed one of the earlier Starship ROMs and was shocked that this didn't happen in over a week of use and I use my phone a lot. It would be helpful if we could get a repo with links to old revs to test for my sanity check :)
     
  4. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You simply got lucky. This happens to me all the time including the using the stock Froyo ROM, and even using CWM to reload ROM's. It's just the phone being the phone. I have found if I squeeze the sides while using the hard buttons it doesn't happen as often.
     
  5. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    I use the rotation trick mentioned above and usually does the trick. Dont know if its just my Triumph but this issue is pretty persistant why in CWR. Happens for me at least with one selection whenever I flash a Rom. Had always wondered if this is common or just a Chairshot's Triumph thing. Cant complain though still on my OG pretty much one year old Triumph and have not needed a replacement. Had some close calls, once my Wifi stoped working for a few days. Took the battery out for the night and had planned on calling it in but worked fine the next morning when I put back the battery. Also had a random reboot issue that started occurring why in recovery doing a backup or restore. That lead me to the sd card and have been fine ever since reformatting. Other then that have flashed at least 100 times if not doubled and the thing keeps on ticking.
     
  6. Lanman1978

    Lanman1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    380
    23
    38
    I just flashed this ROM after the disaster I had with the new MIUI ROM. I was getting force closes up the ying yang. Overall I have to say that this ROM is very nice.
     
  7. dunni88

    dunni88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    29
    2
    16
    I've noticed a problem that I used to have on TG and G60's versions. I thought G60 fixed it at some point, but it seems to be back. When listening to pandora if I get an email or an alarm goes off the sound goes down and the notification plays. However it won't go back to the sound it was until I pause it for a few seconds and play it again.

    Is anyone else having this problem?
     
  8. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    hai hai! Quick questions: how do I disable boot animation through manual editing? The disable boot animation in the settings won't work (tried ticking the box then restarting, etc) no matter how hard I try >_<. Also, where are the wallpapers located that come with the ROM?

    TY jelly. not KY ;)
     
  9. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    SyberTiger likes this.
  10. Davegrow

    Davegrow Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    90
    71
    53
    burgerking
    cali
    Delete the bootanimation.zip that's in system/media/ with es file explorer or root explorer. Make sure you give the file explorer of you're choice root permission and mount system r/w(read and write).
     
  11. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male

    This will give you the Stock Google Android Bootanimation, still faster then normal animation though. Could try wiping the caches again in recovery. Flashed over and checked it out last night, disabled and enabled the bootanimation in the performance settings 4 or 5 times and each time the settings stuck.
     
  12. dstar

    dstar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Construction and Technology
    Greenwood, Indiana
    I believe best build yet... I have tried all... ;) Have a beautiful day... I will try 2 enjoy my view from my starship...
     
  13. redoscar3

    redoscar3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    16
    7
    36
    Long ago retired
    Kentucky backwoods
    I have downloaded the Final Voyage version of the Starship ROM twice and am having difficulty getting the MD5SUM for the file to match what is shown in the first post. The checksum I am getting is: fa946782fa50bfbe5ea7d389f2d9ea81 and it is showing the same for each download. Is someone messing with the ROM file or do we need to update the checksum on the OP? I am really looking forward to trying out this Gingerbread ROM since I have been on Froyo since December.

    Red
     
  14. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Red,

    Since a few people have downloaded this and said it working it's possible Chairshot just forgot to updated the checksum. I am sure it's fine :D
     
  15. baudie

    baudie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    38
    8
    16
    California
    yeah I updated to the final. it's running perfectly fine on my end
     
  16. redoscar3

    redoscar3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    16
    7
    36
    Long ago retired
    Kentucky backwoods
    The thing that bothers me with the mismatched MD5SUMs is that I also have the ROM file on the sdcard of my phone which DOES match the post. I had downloaded that file very early this morning. I hope we hear from Chairshot verifying that he did indeed submit an updated Final version.

    I'm not trying to cause trouble, but the whole idea of these checksums is to make sure others aren't buggering with our files.
     
  17. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    The correct code for what is posted is md5=fa946782fa50bfbe5ea7d389f2d9ea81. Recompiled after noticing a typo in the settings menu I thought had been corrected in the previous build. Was running late this morning when I posted and forgot to update the MD5, my bad.

    Otherwise glad to see people are checking. Don't know if anyone remembers a while back when I had posted about the importance of checking the MD5 but the reason I posted that was because I also forgot to change it on my second or third build and noticed over 200 downloads without anyone complaining the number did not match up. Perfect example is that after reading the above posts and not having the file available because I formatted my SD this morning decided to download on my Triumph to see if it matched the number redoscar3 had posted and sure enough after hashing the file got a completely different number. Downloaded again and came up with yet another completely different number. Was not till I got home and downloaded on my PC did I get the correct MD5. Would definitely recommend doing an MD5 check whenever flashing a Rom downloaded on the phone. There are a bunch of ways to do this including apps on the Market for those who are not Terminal friendly. Only takes a minute and could save lots of time and grief down the road.


    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hobbyone.HashDroid&hl=en
     
    redoscar3 likes this.
  18. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
  19. SyberTiger

    SyberTiger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    ASIC Designer
    Orlando
    Can you please list the major points on what differences one would expect to see in Starship-FinalVoyage and the CM7.2.0 y'all are working on now for the MT?

    Is it performance? Features? The look and feel?
     
  20. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    Basically what we are doing is starting all over from scratch focusing on the device specific files. We are not officially supported so a decent amount of hacking needed to be done to get things working and the code everyone is using has been passed down by 4 or 5 developers if counting mantera & Isaak. So before I got involved G60 decided that since CM7 is not changing as much and is in more of a final state it would be better to just start the entire thing over again as apposed to sorting out the hacks upon hacks left in the code by each developer down the line. A good example would be the build.prop lines G60 posted about removing for better data. Those lines had been added in a long time ago by a developer no longer around and no one really knows why. We also know a lot more about the device with more resources available including those from other developers working on other devices from the same family tree with the same hardware. So in short the idea is to try and produce a more stable, simple, less hacked and updated version of CM7. Running late and sure I missed something but think I got the basics.
     
    redoscar3 and SyberTiger like this.
  21. skearton

    skearton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    133
    26
    43
    Mediafire is downloading super slow today. 2 hrs left of download.

    47.42mbps download speed on speedtest. :D (with PC)

    Worked fine on try #3
     
  22. is_mah_yell

    is_mah_yell Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    69
    5
    16
    Inland Empire, CA
    Runs excellent, tested on Dead Trigger and had no lag whatsover..

    Thanks! ChairShot!
     
  23. thisguyy

    thisguyy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    student
    boston, ma
    this is the first rom im using other than the stock rom. Ive gotta say im very impressed with it, great work! :D

    Just one thing. I noticed theres a little bit of lag on the home screen when swiping from side to side, as well as opening/closing the app drawer and scrolling through the apps. Am I the only one thats seeing these effects? Otherwise the rom is very quick.

    Also was wondering if it is possible to increase the softkey light levels to reduce the flicker. I tried this but the values always remained as default, even after saving and applying the new values.
     
  24. droopies

    droopies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    84
    10
    18
    Male
    Memphis
    So far so good...except last night I did my usual routine and google backup didn't restore everything for me. I guess I had gotten spoiled about wiping, installing a new ROM, booting, signing into gmail and then all my apps would be installed. Oh well. Not a big deal, just kept me up late getting my apps reinstalled. Actually the hard part was trying to remember what all I had installed and why.
     
  25. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    I would suggest using titanium backup, as it restores apps and data. So no hassle putting in your login information again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...