1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Starship Triumph - The Final Voyage - (7.31.2012)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chairshot215, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    The kick in the pants is that I have been sitting on the GPS tweak for a few months as part of a yet untested 108 Triumph script. Had tested a few servers outside the US but had not made much difference so had not tested the few remaining server settings I had found. Was one day doing a logcat on Sharp with the USB out of the window trying to find something when I remembered I had not tested the Asian server settings and that most likely Sharp was still set up using Asian servers so took a look and sure enough it was not set for north American GPS servers. What I had put out previously was the same server settings from the Sharp Rom. After a few days doing 20 or 30 Navigation tests each with other Asian server settings found that although the Sharp server could connect the fastest was not always the most consistent over 20 or 30 tests and would have 2 or 3 instances of taking a minute or 2. Decided on using one of the others I had that although could sometimes take a few seconds longer then the Sharp value worked out with a better average over a higher number of tests.

    Give thanks to BSydz as if not for his Sharp port would not have thought to look.
     

    Advertisement

  2. baudie

    baudie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    38
    8
    16
    California
    GPS locked on 8 seconds on 3G

    smexy
     
  3. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    I tried rebooting while ticking those and not leaving the screen last night already. Still didn't work. Don't worry, I always always always do a full wipe (wipe data/factory reset, format /system, wipe dalvik cache) even when just updating to a newer version of the same ROM. It's a personal rule of mine. Which lines are the 3g tweaks? Maybe I'll try commenting them out to see if it works after. Yes I don't use locking messaging or locking home as I know these can be problematic in unison of certain tweaks (experience with v6 supercharger before).
     
  4. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    Best bet would be to comment out the lines. Will be doing the same in future builds.

    #ro.telephony.call_ring.multiple=false

    #ro.telephony.ril.v3=icccardstatus,skipbrokendatacall,datacall,signalstrength,facilitylock

    The lines are commented out in the above example. For those who are not sure what this means, basically by adding a # sign in the beginning of a line the line will be ignored as if its not there. Generally is used by programers to leave comments in the code for either themselves or for other programers. Nice thing about using it is that later if you decide you would like to put the lines back you would just remove the # sign.

    If you are not comfortable editing the build.prop I would wait it out as I'm sure it will soon be worked into any Rom it can be.
     
    exProphecy likes this.
  5. namartlu

    namartlu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011

    Nov 7, 2011
    87
    6
    16
    I tried the fix and did some experiments (reported in the other thread), and see no noticeable differences, at least at my current location... Would like to see what others have...
     
    g60madman likes this.
  6. Bill Clay

    Bill Clay Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    91
    24
    18
    I've seen no consistent improvement, either. But like the PRL Swap debate, people on both sides are arguing very passionately. :p
     
  7. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    Also make sure you are on the 1.5.6 as the full tweak was added for the first time less then 24 hours ago.
     
    namartlu likes this.
  8. exProphecy

    exProphecy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    276
    42
    43
    Made these edits and all of it sticks now (changes in the notification power widgets, changes in performance settings, etc.) ^_^

    Thankies!

    EDIT: Wait sorry. Spoke too soon. The problem is still there. -_-
    The most problematic things with this specific issue are: when you have the brightness on 100% then change it to 25% then turn off the screen, it goes back to 100% and the next one is if you turn off the Wi-Fi, it turns back on (rendering deep sleep impossible) >_<

    EDIT 2: I was reading a few posts back and I saw you guise had already brought the issue up. I have never had this issue in any other CM7 ROM. I am assuming in the build.prop, all the tweaks you made are under Hollyname tweaks? I'll see if I can pinpoint the exact tweak which is causing this issue. I have a good feeling it's a tweak causing this because I've only seen it happen after applying 3g tweaks from zeppelinrox on xda on my Optimus V (as I've stated before)
     
  9. SyberTiger

    SyberTiger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    ASIC Designer
    Orlando
    Okay, so I've loaded [ROM] Starship Triumph v1.5 (7.07.2012).

    Of course when I load a new ROM I need to re-install all my apps. Oddly, I can not sync to my Google account.

    SETTINGS > ACCOUNTS & SYNC > ADD ACCOUNT

    I provide my Gmail account and password then hit NEXT then it says "Retrieving Account Info". Then I see a screen that has Domain\Username, Password, and Server set to gmail.com. I hit NEXT then I get the following error popup:

    Setup could not finish. Unable to open connection to server.

    I haven't had this problem with other ROMs. I hate the blame the ROM but this is new on me. Any ideas? Maybe I'm having a brain fart....
     
  10. santer77

    santer77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    did you also flash gapps?
     
    SyberTiger likes this.
  11. SyberTiger

    SyberTiger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    ASIC Designer
    Orlando
    No, I didn't see any instructions to flash gapps. Do you have the link/instruction for flashing gapps? Thanks in advance.

    EDIT: Never mind...I went back and read the instructions about coming from another ROM to flash the gapps. Thanks for the headsup!
     
  12. SyberTiger

    SyberTiger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    ASIC Designer
    Orlando
    Installing gapps obviously fixed my problem. Thanks again for the headsup! :)

    See, there was a good reason for me to ask if I was having a brain fart. :smokingsomb:

    So far this ROM looks great! Thanks for all your hard work.
     
  13. rodgman15

    rodgman15 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    111
    22
    58
    Male
    Engineering
    North Dakota
    This ROM HAULS!! Great job!

    Now, a few issues.

    1 - GPS works about as well as it did before I rooted my phone, Sharp 2.2.2 is the ONLY ROM i've had a positive experience with, I never expected speeds like people have been claiming.

    2 - No theming? Bummer :( Any way of installing the theme manager??? I've been looking all night to no avail.

    Otherwise great job on an ultra quick ROM!

    Edit: Also that headset "fix" is totally bogus. Still have to pause, unplug, and so on and so forth to get full volume levels.
     
    baudie likes this.
  14. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    The headset fix was for a reboot issue, not the volume issue.
     
    rodgman15 likes this.
  15. baudie

    baudie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    38
    8
    16
    California
    Trying to attach/record a voice clip within messenger (mms.apk), causes messenger to crash.
     
  16. baudie

    baudie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    38
    8
    16
    California
  17. santer77

    santer77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    I think the front and rear camera issue is present in all cm7 roms....
    I found no other issues with the new version personally.
    thanks again dev!!!
     
    Chairshot215 likes this.
  18. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male

    I run into the Camera issue every once in a while but usually clearing the application settings and wiping the cache before using again will get it back up until the next flash. Otherwise I am still having a hard time reproducing the other issues. Of course some of the complaints like the headphone fix not working had been made before it had been included or listed as included so would understand why it was not working. I checked Mediafire and despite most of the bugs coming from the same couple of users over and over and over to the point I needed to stop reading the thread for a bit I can only assume at this point that the others are also having a negative experience. Will definitely need thicker skin if I am to continue. I am also puzzled by the GPS fix, never claimed it would beat out Sharp every time but don&#8217;t understand how both my sister and I have gone from about a 3-5 minute average to well under a minute if not instantaneous and it has not helped anyone else at all.
     
  19. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
     
    Chairshot215 likes this.
  20. Izzard

    Izzard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    185
    56
    53
    yes, GPS locks faster. As it was mentioned before, not like Sharp Rom, but at least faster. Especially way better outdoors, when you have clear sky and stock rom won't lock in 2 minutes, it just pisses me off.
    Now about camera issues. I don't have same problems with g60's final. Here how reproduce it. Start camera, turn on front camera, back to back. Now switch camcorder, film something for 5 seconds. Close and go back to camera. Try to run camcorder again and here you go ... camera crashes. Clearing settings won't help

    Other than that, I said here and there many time, this is the sexiest ROM out there. Keep up the good work.
     
    Chairshot215 likes this.
  21. baudie

    baudie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    38
    8
    16
    California
    Don't let ppl get to you. You have done an outstanding job, and I know a lot of us are very grateful for it.

    It's a beautiful ROM
     
  22. santer77

    santer77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    20
    7
    16
    I have not experienced any camera issues with the newest update as far as front and rear switching. I haven't run into any third party app issues either. Starship Triumph for life! (of phone anyway) :)
     
  23. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    173
    Male
    I have seen the camera issue but only twice why working on the Rom. Could be totally unrelated issues but on both instances it had been the first time after flashing an update and after wiping the data rebooting into recovery and then wiping both Caches it started working again. The first time it happened I pulled the App but then later why theming the Camera thought it would be easier to keep the Camera in my personal test builds and then later add in the images to the replacement Camera App when I decided I liked it. Anyway after testing and throwing out a few different themes over a few weeks figured if the issue had still been present I would have seen it in all the playing around I had done so put the Camera back a few builds ago. Never actually came up with a theme I liked so the last week or so have been testing ports of the MIUI Camera and have thought about maybe trying to port the ASOP Gingerbread Camera. Found a nice clone of the ICS Camera that works well but it has ad's and I have a moral objection with removing them.


    Also, been using Waze the last few days, Dig that it alerts you when the police are close bye. Would recommend being on Wifi the first time the App is opened. At 15mb most would probably download with wifi but noticed it takes a long time the first time I would open the App and would get the "wait" or "force close" pop-up if on 3g. Just hit "Wait" instead of "Force Close" and it will start, eventually. Is pretty quick once set up but that first time opening is a doozy.
     
  24. baudie

    baudie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    38
    8
    16
    California
    Tracked the camera issue to gapps.
     
    dsmryder likes this.
  25. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    Really, how so? I'd like to know before I get back to work on it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...