1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Stock VM OTA 2.95.652.5 Rooted | Deodexed | Everything Should Work Now!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by negamann303, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    okk i want to restore completely to stock no root access non of that

    and sorry if im rude but i gotta get this phone working or ill be dead
     

    Advertisement

  2. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Unfortunately, there's currently no way to do that if you are S-ON and rooted with the 1.58 hboot. As I said in a previous post, the closest you can come without getting S-OFF is to flash the stock unrooted ROM, then the stock recovery and if you want relock the bootloader but I wouldn't worry about the bootloader at this point since leaving it unlocked won't hurt anything.

    ramjet73
     
  3. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    What are you on now and if you don't mind me asking, why do you need to be completely stock? Depending on the answer you could be almost/mostly stock with maybe less work for you.
    OB
     
  4. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    im in jmzstock vm shooter and i just want to be stock do to the fact that ive can t afford bricking the phone are that it get unrecoverably damaged
     
  5. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    The jmz stock ROM's are all rooted but if you just want to be on a stock unrooted ROM I suggest flashing the unrooted version from the OP of this thread and don't work about flashing the stock recovery.

    ramjet73
     
  6. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    if do that will i be able to install ota updates
     
  7. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    But are you s-on/off, if so what hboot are you on, have you taken the 2 ota's? If you're not sure, just go into about phone and write down what it says under software. Your hboot is shown on the bootloader screen. Just trying to figure out the easiest and best way. :D
    OB
     
  8. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    ok im s on with hboot 1.58 and before rooting the the phone i had intalled all the new ota updates
     
  9. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    The OTA software updates are already incorporated into the ROM's in the OP and you won't lose the firmware updates by flashing a ROM.

    So yes, you will be up-to-date with the March OTA if you just flash the stock unrooted ROM except for the recovery and that doesn't matter for what you want.

    ramjet73
     
    Brian706 likes this.
  10. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    I'm pretty sure you will be able to. You would need the stock recovery to take the OTA though.
     
    ramjet73 likes this.
  11. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    what would the stock recovery be used for ? and also if a new ota is released would i be able to install it


    and really thank you and ramjet73
     
  12. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    The ota doesn't know how to use your custom recovery that's why you need stock, as far as future ota's, depending on what's being updated you would probably require full stock again.
    OB
     
    Brian706 and ramjet73 like this.
  13. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    ok ok thanks and please when the ruu for the hboot 1.58 is available please notified me a soon as possible
     
  14. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    You would need the stock recovery installed to take a new OTA but that can always be flashed later. If you stay unlocked with your custom recovery it's very easy to flash a custom ROM if you change your mind. That will also allow you to do a nandroid backup of the stock ROM after you set it up so you can always go back to that if you decide to try other ROM's.

    If you are really sure you don't want to use any custom ROM's the stock recovery from the March OTA is here and can be flashed the same way you flashed your custom recovery.

    ramjet73
     
    badboytoast likes this.
  15. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    OK, so here's my situation. I (blindly) took the updates, im S-ON, and at hboot 1.58.

    I tried to flash the unrooted stock rom zip file (using 4ext) and before I did that I cleared the cache and whatnot, then I flashed it.

    It booted, but I think there may be something broke with the wifi modules. I can't seem to connect to the wifi as its stuck on "obtaining ip address" and the speed for the router when I tap on the SSID I connected to it says under the link speed "-1 Mbps" :S
     
  16. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    You said clearing the cache and whatnot.. Did you format all partitions before flashing?

    Also you can try flashing the boot.img through fastboot and see if that helps. Just pull it from the rom, put it in your adb/fastboot folder on the pc. Then use fastboot command:
    fastboot flash boot boot.img
     
  17. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Yeah, I had formatted every partition except SD card originally. I had just re-tried that except after doing that and re-flashing, I rebooted to the bootloader to flash the boot.img included in the zip. I rebooted, still same problem D:

    edit: if there's nothing that can be fixed at this point, I will just take my old nandroid (backed up either before or after OTA's, forgot) and restore the original boot animation (that was the ONE reason I rooted XD) and sell it as "stock". And plus I even tweaked some of the settings in the files so that the GPU would run better in it haha

    edit 2: Let's see if I can't splice the old modules in there with some adb pushing and make it work that way ;D

    edit 3: Dang, can't even adb shell. I'll see if I can get something workin with my old nandroid.
     
  18. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    Hmm. There may be something you can do but that's all I've got. I've not had problems like that before so I'm a little limited on this one.
     
  19. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Personally I would sell it on Craigslist, ebay has changed a lot of their terms and conditions for sellers, besides taking a sizeable chunk of your money they allow buyers 45 days to demand a refund, especially for the catchall SNAD claims, significantly not as described, very difficult to defend. :rolleyes::mad:
    OB
     
  20. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Lol, I had a ZTE warp and this thing to sell, and only at the moment $118 until I can afford the Nexus 4, so selling both at a minimum at $59 (since 118 for both phones / 2 phones = $59 a pop) after everything's taken out would be extremely plausible in my case since I actually sold my warp at $57.5 @ free shipping (supprised it was worth that much), I'm 95% sure I'll be able to sell this thing at a low enough price so that even after the crap fee's that I'll still have enough :D

    Oh, about the wifi modules, if the creator is able to target the necessary files to replace with the older one's before the OTA, I took a full backup before doing any of this junk so I'm able to provide them if he wants to update it.

    edit: contacted the guy about it, awaiting a list of the necessary files to send'em :)

    edit 2: I checked the md5sum's against his stock odex'd rom vs my nandroid backup and the only 2 differences are WifiRouter.apk and WifiRouter.odex.

    I pm'd him about the revision and the necessary files but if anyone wants to give it a stab, place these in /system/app http://www.mediafire.com/?t2iou96wthkp3cw and make sure the md5sum's are as follows:

    26fec218ecad7424c0b58dc4c8ca0462 WifiRouter.apk
    f3ffe4de97b1a1d92ddfa8a039103966 WifiRouter.odex

    I can't seem to unzip, modify, and re-zip the rom to make it work, it boot loops for me xD (but I was able to restore it thankfully)
     
  21. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    okk but will this fix my wifi 3g 4g and sms issues ?
     
  22. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Not sure. It may fix the wifi, im going to test a modified rom that the creator is uploading. I can't test it yet till i get home and get the rom. I doubt it'll fix the 3g and SMS.
     
  23. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    ok i need phone working properly , also can yall give me a romfor s on based of march ota
     
  24. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Check the first post of this thread or just go here for odexed and unrooted http://negamann303.hotrocksinya.com/Stock VM/VM_ICS_2.95.652.5710RD_ODEX_NOROOT_3-16.zip


    edit: Ok i got the revised rom, aand it bootloops. I'll see what I can do with es file explorer (a flashable version) and root to fix the issue in the android itself.

    ..ok :thinking: wtf, superuser won't even work on ES file explorer.. That's messed up D:


    Ok, one last thing. I cannot seem to find any flashable zip file for the march OTA update that will work for me. Whenever I try to do this with the stock recovery (I took recovery_signed.img from the RUU's PG86IMG.zip and flashed it) it gives me a phone icon with a red triangle. I'm not sure if its because I've already updated to Hboot 1.58 or what..

    edit 2: has nega found a fix for the wifi not working in the stock odex rom or is that still an on-going process at this point? Also I just thought of something... If the users that are s-off can flash the RUU with the latest OTA, then would it be possible to run the RUU, take the 2 OTA's, flash 4ext (before it boots for the first time after the OTA updates), make a backup, and use the backup to convert the nandroid to a stock rom for the 2 OTA updates that would work?
     
  25. negamann303

    negamann303 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013

    Mar 4, 2013
    265
    172
    68
    Male
    Site Manager
    Everything should be working now! Lemme know guys!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...