1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[ROM] The Casio C771 RedPill ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Willster419, Jul 1, 2013.

  1. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter

    #These posts are currently revision 17 as of 10/17/14#
    if you have this rom and want to update to m150, follow this guide by monkeytools
    Hello Commando C771 users,

    "What if I told you-
    that there was a new (updated) ROM for your device?"

    Well, if the above meme does not give it away already, then the following will. I have been working on a ROM for the Commando, and it is ready for release. This "RedPill ROM" is unlike any other. It is packed with features, including:
    • Pre-installed BusyBox and SuperUser.
    • de-bloated - no trace of Verizon or any other 'less than useful' apps
    • Pre-installed "Tools Update"
    • A new slightly larger red battery icon that shows battery capacity in increments of 1, unlike the stock ROM, which shows in increments of 5.
    • An awesome red theme to all functioning first-party system apps
    • A cool pre-installed matrix background
    • A boot animation with binaries to support the "bootanimation.zip" type file
    • A friendly install script with a system space checker to make sure that it installed properly.
    • A boot image that not only is "unlocked", but has adb enabled by default. From when you first start the phone to when or if you turn it off, adb will be there with you!*
    • (Updated) A more direct shutdown menu with options to go into either reboot, hot boot, bootloader(NEW), recovery, or shutdown.
    • Much faster due to the removal of system apps.
    • (NEW) COMPLETE GPS Support
    • (NEW) Removed the top "shutdown method" text
    • (Updated) The boot animation is now in sync more with the video and audio.

    Instructions to install:
    1. Use TB to backup your user apps and data and system data
    2. Download the ROM and put it on your SD card
    3. Reboot into GNM recovery
    4. Make a Nandroid backup if you have not already
    5. Perform a data wipe (factory reset option). It is necessary now. Sorry ladies and Gents :(
    6. Go back to the main menu and then select flash zip menu->install from SD card
    7. Navigate to the zip file
    8. Install and make sure that it installed**
    9. Reboot and enjoy the ROM!

    If your GPS does not work, a way to get it to work is to install a stock version of your ROM, and then install the RedPill ROM on top of the original ROM.

    "Remember. I'm only offering you the [ROM], nothing more." I am not responsible for what may happen on your phone due to your actions. However, I can offer support and answer questions.

    And press thanks/like/donate? if you like it! :)

    Enjoy the ROM!

    Thanks to:
    -----
    Monkeytools for letting me base this ROM off of his, allowing me to use his android policy file, allowing me to modify his boot.img file, allowing me to use parts of his updater-script file, and alpha/beta testing the ROM. THANK YOU GOOD SIR!
    Link to his work: http://androidforums.com/commando-a...asio-blues-themed-rom-updated-5-5-2013-a.html
    ---
    Also thank you to Ruyen for his/her feedback.
    ---
    Whoever made that generic bootanimation binary
    ---
    Whoever made GIMP/BIMP. Those programs are SO HELPFUL!
    -----
    *I can not guarantee that the adb service will be active if you are running a kernel below M130 and tried to boot with nothing in the system partition. Be very careful! You can turn it off in settings
    **To make sure that it installed, just read the text that tells you how much space was used. If it is a small number (I.E. 4, 5, 1 MB) then it did NOT install and you should restore your Nandroid backup.

    -------------------------------------------
    DOWNLOAD: Click Here. Commando->Roms
    -------------------------------------------

    If you have any problems, please let me know by replying or sending me a pm or replying.

    Please understand that although this is all free, some donation for my time would be greatly appreciated as I am going to Wentworth Institute of Technology and already know that I will be having a lot of student loans...

    PayPal Donation to Willster419

    Thanks and enjoy!!!1!
     


    #1 Willster419, Jul 1, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2017
    chrisLEJ, deples, jmorozco and 6 others like this.

    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  2. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter

    If you want just the theme, I have made that as well. It is still red, but does not have the tools update, boot animation, etc.
    -----
    Flash these at your own risk
    -----
    No need to do a factory reset with both of these files, so just flash and install!
    The theme only is about 26 MB in space, but size difference may very depending on what is currently on your device. The ROM without the ROM can take up as little as the theme only, or as much as (about) 54 MB. It depends on how much space you have. It makes more since when you download and install it. If, and most likely when, you don't have the required space it will reboot before it can "false-install" and boot-loop your device.
    -------------------
    DOWNLOAD (OLD THEME): All files are here on my google drive.
    -------------------
    I am also including all the png files that I made red. If you want to make a custom rom, here are all the png files you need to change. See download link above
     
    deples likes this.
  3. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter

    The Shutdown menu options (V1)
    [​IMG]
    The browser has a red voice search box
    [​IMG]
    A red Power Control. YES that is fox news and NO I am not fox news reader. :)
    [​IMG]
    Red Dialer
    [​IMG]
    Some red home screen widgets
    [​IMG]
    The red XT9 keyboard
    [​IMG]
    A red notification bar
    [​IMG]
    Some custom system apps from the pre-installed tools update. also shows the red settings icon
    [​IMG]
    There be pictures
     
    Ruyen and monkeytools like this.
  4. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member

    Thanks to willster for this. Glad I could help.
     
    Ruyen and Willster419 like this.
  5. Ruyen

    Ruyen Newbie

    The Rabbit hole is deep, a thing of beauty.
     
  6. supercad79

    supercad79 Newbie

    Does this make it possible to use any boot animation that you want?
     
  7. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter

  8. anonymous777

    anonymous777 Lurker

    Thank you so much good sir(s)! I have spent hours upon hours trying to root my Commando. Having finally achieved root access my WIFI did not work unless I manually ran the file that we all know of (init.qcom.sdio.sh). I had begun to despair of ever flashing a rom with my GNM recovery that I also installed (I did not have the gumption or time to make a custom rom on my own). Thank you very much it feels like Christmas!
     
  9. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    This is great! But my c771 doesn't work now.
    After I use GNM flash this ROM, The baseband is unknown now. I cant use mobilephone now.
     
  10. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    oh pls help me. I need baseband files to make the signal back
     
  11. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member

    First what build where you on. M80,m100,m120,m130. Need to know. Plus did you make a nandroid back up before you flashed ROM.
     
  12. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    My old build is M50 2.2.1, and I had make a full nandroid back up. When I flashed ROM, the baseband become unknown.
     
  13. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member

    That is why. This is a m130 build rom. We haven't had someone yet that has flash this on a old build yet. So your radio or modem partition will not work with this build. Go to recovery and restore your back up. That should fix your problem.
     
    lpscj1988 likes this.
  14. dougunder

    dougunder Lurker

    Great job, Thanks!

    Just installed on a brand new m130 c771, no problem.
    They are going cheap on ebay btw, picked up 2 for $120 ea. NIB; registered fine w. PagePlus

    One request, I'm planning to flash my wife's c771 as well but both red would be a recipe for mix-up. Any chance of a bluepill rom? or a compatible theme in any other colour? The stock colour scheme repackaged as a theme would be fine.

    Again great work
     
  15. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    THX!But how can I update the old build. I wana use M130 build rom. then flash this custom rom.
     
  16. dougunder

    dougunder Lurker

  17. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member

    you can't update with my rom there is no baseband in my rom. You will need to make sure that you have all apps and apk on your phone unroot. Then update phone. Make sure you have stock recovery to.
     
  18. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    I didn't have stock recovery backup. :(
    and how can I unroot my device? I didn't delete any apps
     
  19. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member

    What method did you use to install recovery. I say this cause one of the ways will back up stock recovery for you. I have the stock recovery for the m130. I don't think it is the same as m50.
     
  20. r_hippy

    r_hippy Well-Known Member

    It's cool to see the great "calculator" c771 still being used. I'm going to give this a shot. Thanks for keeping this phone Alive!
     
  21. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    I use adb method, but it doesn't work. Then I use the GNM method, it back up one recovery. But I'm not sure it is the stock recovery. Pls give me the M130's, let me have a try. 3Q
     
  22. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    I had reflash my stock recovery. and unroot. then I do a factory rest. but I can't activate my phone now. I'm a user on China Telecom. How can I skip the Activation? Thank u so much.
     
  23. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member

    i have not ran into that before. you will need to call telecom and have them activate your phone. just tell them you had a problem and you did a factory reset. know phone will not activate.
     
  24. lpscj1988

    lpscj1988 Newbie

    I active my phone now. But it still tell me No new Software Update Available. :(
     
  25. Ruyen

    Ruyen Newbie

    This has been a huge help for me. Got to say you are AWESOME Willis, Saved me from having to go get a different Phone. Only issues I have faced with the ROM is no GPS (not a big issue as I never turn it on) and when you turn off the 3g internet the battery drops like a rock.

    With the Stock ROM you can turn off the 3g wireless internet and the battery would last for days and days. However with this ROM it drains the battery very quickly. This is not a major issue just something I had noticed
     

Casio G'Zone Commando Forum

The Casio G'Zone Commando release date was April 2011. Features and Specs include a 3.6" inch screen, 5MP camera, 512GB RAM, processor, and 1460mAh battery.

April 2011
Release Date
0
Reviews
Loading...
Similar Threads - ROM Casio C771
  1. TheManWithTheGoldenGun
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    755
  2. cidea
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,198
  3. Random22
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,362
  4. Dennis ingate
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    725
  5. Ravikmr
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,511
  6. SpanDragon18
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,048
  7. krakengz
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    646
  8. N4ty_Kitty
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    6,464
  9. LuckyBit33
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,103
  10. kisame010588
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,214

Share This Page

Loading...