1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM][UNOFFICIAL]AOSP-CAF 7.1.2 Moto E4 Plus Owens

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amarc78, May 9, 2018.

  1. amarc78

    amarc78 Android Enthusiast
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014

    Jan 14, 2014
    501
    268
    108
    Male
    Operating Engineer
    New York, USA
    ***AOSP-CAF 7.1.2***

    This is pure AOSP-CAF for the Motorola Moto E4 Plus Owens.

    ROM source:
    https://github.com/AOSP-CAF?tab=repositories

    Device sources:
    https://github.com/amarc78/android_device_motorola_owens

    https://github.com/amarc78/android_device_motorola_qcom318-32

    https://github.com/amarc78/android_device_motorola_msm8937-common

    https://github.com/amarc78/proprietary_vendor_motorola

    Kernel source:
    https://github.com/amarc78/android_kernel_motorola_msm8937

    Credits:
    - @SeanStar (@ XDA))
    - @squid2 (@ XDA)
    - AOSP
    - CAF
    - LineageOS

    Working:
    - Everything as far as I've found.
    - LTE working on Boost/Sprint (should work for all carriers.)

    Not Working:
    - You tell me.

    Downloads:
    ROM:
    https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=890278863836283413

    GAPPS: Use arm 7.1
    http://opengapps.org/

    I'll post screenshots asap

    Enjoy!

    Appreciate my work? Buy me a coffee or a pizza:
    https://www.paypal.me/amarch78
     

    Advertisement

    #1 amarc78, May 9, 2018
    Last edited: May 30, 2018
    ΔTTΔСΚ and bcrichster like this.
  2. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,679
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,679
    3,956
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Nice job, Mang! Didn't you have two versions of these caf ROMs..??
     
  3. amarc78

    amarc78 Android Enthusiast
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014

    Jan 14, 2014
    501
    268
    108
    Male
    Operating Engineer
    New York, USA
    There wasn't much difference. The one posted here was built with sdclang3.8 and all the optimizations flags, the other one wasn't.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  4. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,679
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,679
    3,956
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Oh dang, I thought ya meant system options.. Oops, Lol. My bad :cool:
     
  5. jdmarinv

    jdmarinv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 15, 2018

    May 15, 2018
    5
    3
    16
    Male
    Flashed the ROM and the full gapps package. This seemed to cause a soft-brick and the phone didn't passed from the splash logo.
    [​IMG]
    I installed another ROM (Vanir) and then reinstalled AOSP-CAF. This is the first bug I had upon booting.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    The window kept showing up even when I pressed on Close app. Then I went back to TWRP and wiped data. This solved the issue.

    This is working:
    1. Fingerprint Scanner
    2. WiFi Antenna
    3. Bluetooth Antenna
    4. Phone calls
    5. Data connection
    6. Rear/Frontal Camera
    7. Microphone
    8. WiFi Hotspot/USB Tethering
    Everything seems to be working just fine as for 5/25/2018. Will try this ROM (which I love because it kept some of the stock ringtones, like Insert Coin, my favourite). If I were to stumble upon bugs I will definitely add a new post regarding to those.


    Thank you for your dedication and hard work. Here are some screenshots so you can add them.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]

    :p
     
    amarc78 likes this.
  6. amarc78

    amarc78 Android Enthusiast
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014

    Jan 14, 2014
    501
    268
    108
    Male
    Operating Engineer
    New York, USA
    It sounds like you didn't wipe everything (data and system) before flashing. I didn't have any problems when I tested it.
     
  7. jdmarinv

    jdmarinv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 15, 2018

    May 15, 2018
    5
    3
    16
    Male
    Yes, that screenshot is before I performed the data wipe from TWRP. I thought it wasn't going to cause big issues but well, I'll know better for the next time.
    I had installed RR but I had issues with TurboPower. And besides, it seems like the ROM's processes were draining the battery (after 6 hours I had the battery at 50%).
    This ROM is perfect because it's lightweight, and I have my TurboPower back, and it seems like the battery life is going to be better than RR.

    I'm looking forward to see if you're interested to work in an Android Oreo ROM for this Qualcomm variant.
    I'd be super grateful, and I'm 100% that many others would be grateful as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...